We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”
Review of Dune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dune Hotel
Ranked #18 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

When I go to Sunny Beach I stay at this hotel. In the last few years I visit this hotel about 15 times. Directly on the beach, and a nice but small pool. Food is excellent, italian style. Rooms boutique style. Nice personnel. Parking in the court, when is full they rent parking in another nearby hotel. Free of charge for the customer.
Wi-fi signal are bad in some rooms but is good on the beach. Free again.
A lot of bulagarian rich people there.
Shure i'll come back

Room Tip: Sea view is worthing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Basarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time here with our 3 year old son. This is the only Hotel one should go in Sunny Beach. The hotel is right on the beach with its own private beach area marked out. The service is exceptional by Bulgarian standards. You can get service lying on your beach chairs. Quality of rooms is not the best. The array of cars in the parking lot was a treat even for car non-experts like me. The restaurant offers limited but good food. We will be going again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Venkatesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Dune Hotel is situated in Sunny Beach directly on the beach. This is the only hotel at sunny beach that is directly on the beach and where you can have your breakfast or drink by watching the sea. The hotel has designer rooms and some suites, all of them equiped very good inkl. free Wi-Fi
The personell is very polite and helpful.
The hotel also has a private beach which secures that you do have your place under the sun and in the water despite of the crouds that arrive especially on the weekends.
This is the only hotel that I can recommend if you want to stay on the beach in Sunny Beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gueoriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is the recepy for the perfect summer , seaside hotel . Not to big not too small !
But the rooms are large with a perfect view to the beach and water . The Location of the hotel is perfect ..right on the beach . It has a private beach and the sun beds and everything are available only for hotel guests . Services are very good and the restaurant is delicious . It worth eating only in the hotel because the food is fresh and very tasty . in 2010 this is the first time but I was 3 times at this hotel in 2009 . It is still my favorite one ! There are not a lot of tourists because it is not a well known hotel but it is just in the center of the pedestrian street . maybe it will be difficult for somebody to find it by car . I can provide GPS coordinates . If you love seaside and the beach you have to try this hotel !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The Hotel is ON THE BEACH! There are questions whether it is allowed to be, but the regular clientele; mostly Bulgarian dodgy businessmen and their trophy wives, make sure their favourite hotel in Sunny Beach is 'protected'! The decor inside is dark, moody, sexy and contemporary. Outside it is white, white, white. Even the staff dress in white linen outside and black inside. The service is questionable, but better than most places in Sunny Beach. If you're looking to mix with other Brits or Europeans, forget Dune. If you can eat breakfast alongside Bulgarian men chain smoking and constantly on their mobiles while wives compare plastic boobs and, well chain smoke, then this is the place for you! There is nothing at all for kids except the beach and a small pool. All families come with Nannies so if you have to look after your own kids, you'll look out of place. The private stretch of beach is fabulous and the private cabanas are the only place to be. The sunbeds are sparingly arranged and just beyond the roped perimeter you can see how everyone else has to pack in like sardines. If you can't get a room with sea view, don't bother. You'll be looking at hotels looking at you across a swathe of shuffling tourists and same hefty bass rifts from music bars. The rear (and in full view of the busy promenade) always has a range of superb cars from Prowlers to Porsche, S class to M version. This place oozes arrogance and elitism. People hastily nip up the drive and have a quick photo next to a pearlised Q7. When you walk out of the hotel into the throng, people stare at you and wonder if you're Mafia, Model or Movie mogul. We loved every minute of it! Call us posers, wannabes, superficial...whatever. We felt special. Sunny Beach is a madhouse so even if this is not your scene, pick a hotel on the promenade- an absolute must. At least 4 stars and try to find out which music bars are within earshot. You may find you have a balcony view but 3 different pumping tracks competing for your sanity. Dune has only a distant invasion. One last thing; all the restaurants are rubbish. Some of the 5 star hotels have an exclusive and expensive restaurant with decent fayre. Dune certainly has. The only place for a good mix of music clubs, beach bars and night club is Cacao Beach. Take a 15 minute Taxi ride there and get away from the Sunny Beach regulars. The locals go here as do the hip tourists. The fact that it's a taxi ride away keeps it decent.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank PeterD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Just spend a long weekend at the height of the season.

We drove from Sofia and the hotel takes real tracker skills to find (as it is illegally built it does not register on any Sunny Beach map). It doesn’t even have a name on top! The long convoy of black Mercedes and the largest collection of black Audi S8 I’ve seen was however parked in front. Bingo! This must be the place!

I will not even begin to comment on Sunny Beach as a resort. Suffice to say that my low expectations were met in full. I will however comment on the hotel that one of our friends aptly called the “BUBBLE”. It’s because the moment you step in you know you’re on a different planet. Planet Cool!. Cool design ( minimalist black & white with a touch of Dalli moustache), cool chill out music everywhere, cool staff dressed in cool white or black robes, cool location – right on a private beach. Rooms facing the sea have wonderful views over the bay (and really comfortable beds, not to mention powerful AC units that could transform the room into a freezer in no time and with no noise). The restaurant is Italian and had the best food in the resort (the highly recommended fish restaurant in Nessebar did not even come close). The staff was most accommodating catering to every whim of our very demanding multinational party of 9 + continuously barking dog. I liked the fact that they served anything you wanted on the beach.

Cool thing to do: late at night order prosecco (18 EUR/bottle) and French nougat (3 EUR/portion) and have it brought to one of the covered large daybeds on the beach (at night they are all lit and very atmospheric).

The guests were a chilled out mix of few foreigners, few ex-pats from Sofia and rich Bulgarians with assorted WAGs; their collection of perfect bodies, tiny dogs and designer wear meant each of us had plenty to gawk at.

On the downside, the breakfast could be a little more inspired and the hotel has no other facilities apart from a really good beauty salon.

Overall, the “BUBBLE” it’s well worth the experience (just make sure your car is black)!!!

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — surroundings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank shueaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2005

This hotel is nothing but luxurious. Rooms are spacious and offer top of the line amenities. It is also the closest hotel to the beach and the only hotel in the resort that has its own beach. Which is a great advantage, as the public beaches are very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BSB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#10 of 220 in Sunny Beach
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 220 in Sunny Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#21 of 220 in Sunny Beach
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
#17 of 220 in Sunny Beach
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#15 of 220 in Sunny Beach
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Hotel

Property: Dune Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8230, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel «Sunny Dune» - is a modern and elegant mini-hotel of European level, on the shore of the Baltic Sea, located just 35 km from Riga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing