We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely staff but very average overall.”
Review of Hotel Marvel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marvel
Ranked #71 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 weeks in July/August and we had a lovely relaxing break.

We chose this hotel as it was a very good deal which included breakfast. After reading several reviews about the poor quality of food, we were delighted by the choice available on our first morning! If you go there expecting 5* food then you will be disappointed, but if you like eggs in the morning - you can have scrambled, fried or boiled. There is a wide selection of bread and pastries and a few cereals to choose from. The biggest disappointment in the food was the meat - but I find that in all European countries - they seem to like pink, thin sausages and streaky bacon!

The hotel itself is quite modern and offers spacious rooms with an en-suite and a balcony. The room was tidied every day and they changed the bed sheets (I think - but have no evidence of this!). The room was air-conditioned and had a fridge, TV and hair dryer. We had room 341 which is to the side of the hotel and we had a view of the sea through the two hotels (Majestic and Victoria Palace - see pictures).

The main complaint we had on our holiday was that the sun beds were 'reserved' and we had to get up at 6am to join in with the crowd to claim a sun bed. On our penultimate night we got back from dinner and saw lots of towels already down at 9:30pm so we went and got ours and managed to save the hassle of getting up at the crack of dawn - but obviously this is a ridiculous way to go about things! The hotel does use the policy that after 10am if the sun bed is not occupied you can remove the towels - but we did witness a few arguments about this when the original occupants arrived!

There is a spa at the hotel too - a friendly lady walks around the pool selling their services. We decided to use the Turkish Bath - BIG MISTAKE! It took 2 hours and was not at all like we had imagined. It comprised of a sauna (with broken slats on the seats), a jacuzzi (in cold, scummy, smelly water), a swim in the indoor pool (cold, shallow and dark as the lights were not on), a foam scrub (verging on violent), a face mask (using a plastic bowl from the windowsill and the same applicator brush they use on everyone) and an aromatherapy massage (where a woman kept answering her mobile phone during my massage). My biggest piece of advice is to avoid this service at all costs!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying at the Marvel again, if we were to ever go back to Sunny Beach (not likely). The reason for this is because it is quite tacky and the beautiful walk along the promenade is spoilt by the hundreds of stalls selling knock-off goods. We would recommend going to Nessebar, which costs 1 Lev (50p) by bus and is beautiful, but tiny so don't expect to spend every day there. The Nessebar water park was only 38 Lev each and had some very exciting rides, however our day was tainted by the long queues and rude clientele. Also, if you have small children, please avoid the shows there as they use extremely rude words and gestures (e.g. "Are you ready to rock and f***ing roll?").

The most enjoyable part of our stay was when we stumbled across a 3* hotel called The Palace on the promenade. We ate in the outside section of the restaurant and ate a 'shashlik' which is basically a kebab on a sword and is delicious - so much so that we ate there 4 times!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elimay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marvel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 851 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Firstly the Hotel - A really good 4 star , our suite was lovely with A/C and really big too !, All the staff were very polite and professional the cleaning team worked 24 /7 to make sure that it always look so good. The management do need to get a check on the sunbed situation though , the way they get reserved really lets the hotel down.
Great location right on the beach and what a beach, clear waters clean soft sand lots of water sports and some really cool beach bars , no bother with any sellers on the beach at all they are not allowed on and the bars and resturants are really great too and well priced with some great local and Fish dishes, try the fresh Mussels and Calimari and Pasta too- We did and loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Booked this 4 star hotel on an all inclusive basis for 2 weeks. Arrived and was very impressed. Looked lovely! Staff at the reception was polite friendly and helpful, were shown to our rooms which were large and very pleasant. We had a pool view which also gave us a view of the beach. 2nd floor. Bathroom has a shower over the bath and again was pleasant.

Went down for dinner and not a great selection and to be honest was warm. Back up to the room and noticed the glasses were dirty, filthy, so called downstairs to reception and was told that we would have to go down for clean ones! Clean ones arrived the next day, poured some cola zero into it, carried it to my husband and the bottom fell out of it!

The plates, dinner and side plates, mugs and cups and all badly chipped. Not one chip (that would have been good) but huge chips all the way around. In fairness I did manage everyday to find an unchipped cup, one day I rejected 19 before finding one. Plates I never did. So to sum up, warm tepid food (Bulgarians think it is unhealthy to eat food hot so said the rep from Bulkan travel when I complained) and badly chipped crockery makes for worrying dining. I did try to explain the whole hygiene issue with chipped dinner wear but was assured we were in one of the better hotels in Sunny Beach.

Each morning I was up at 6.45 dressed and downstairs with my towels to secure a sunbed. I did not reserve it but stayed down there. The one morning I was late 7.15 there were none available. Its quiet and quite pleasant at that time, warm and very quiet. Although they clearly state that reserving sunbeds with towels is not allowed under any circumstances this is clearly not the case with many being reserved the night before.

We were all inclusive and in 2 weeks our bed was changed twice. The cleaner was in everyday but what she did I'm not sure. We didn't get clean towels everyday, we didn't even get the water glasses washed if we had used them. One day she flattened the duvets but the pillows were touched. The skirting boards were dirty with what looked like talc all over them. The grouting on the tiles around the bath needs to be redone and don't consider having a shower after about 7pm and want hot water. Its all gone by then.

Diet drinks are not included and they don't tell you this. Again I complained to the rep and she said she would sort out cola zero for my room. I received 4 cans the next day and then.............zero.

There is entertainment every night from 9-10pm. Entertainment is generous, bingo, quiz etc. It was like being part of the Eurovision song contest as the rules were first given in English then Russian (I think). We ended up going over to the Friends restaurant bar most nights as they had a great singing duo with a great atmosphere.

All in all, a bit of a disaster, the saving grace was the wonderful weather and the fact that despite paying all inclusive we could afford to eat out (which we did the second week)

I wouldn't recommend the Marvel to anyone, over priced and most certainly not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliesangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we stayed here for a week all inclusive from aug 1st, when we arrived we were treated well and hotel and our room was immaculate we were left a little picnic in our room as we arrived late, the sun bed issue was a real and continual problem 150 sun loungers for over 1000 guests!! the food is mainly local consisting of chicken hearts and battered pork tongue, some things are edible however, my son had a nose bleed whilst in the room and had marked the bedding and bathroom floor however the bedding was not changes for another 2 nights after that ! the entertainment is really really poor the kids were so board we ended up going out all day and night, and eating out, its a nice enough place with friendly staff but rubbish for kids and fussy eaters !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catrina5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel marvel for 1st 2 weeks of August with a family of 2 adults and 2 kids age 11 & 12, hotel is a large very clean nice hotel, always had cleaners around washing and polishing up. Rooms are large and well air conditioned as needed cause did get hot through the day, also cleaned everyday with fresh towels, poolside was nice but getting a bed was a nightmare, people were putting towels out the night before sometimes at 8 while having our evening meal, never seen that anywhere before, so get out early as you can. Only downside I would say is the all inclusive meals weren't that good, there was always something to eat but with kids it's a nightmare, but just a 2 minutes onto the main prom there was snacks, restaurants anything the kids need and very very cheap, don't get me wrong loved the place and will return next year around this end as its quieter than into centre of the prom but would return on a room only basis as its that cheap to eat out. And if you are heading here look out for Stanimir the poolside barman, top guy and best barman there, very friendly guy. Overall great resort very nice hotel but eat out, loved it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank rossaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

If your diabetic stay away as diabetics are not catered for & diet drinks are not inclusive, the staff are rude & the food is uneatable.
Dangerous fittings all around & the entertainment (if that's what you call it) lasts an hour & is rubbish.
The indoor pool & sauna are an extra as is the gym & nothing is working & if you want a sunbed lol put your towel out the night before & watch the fights at 10am the next day.
Bar closes at 10.50 not 11.00 & your then pushed to a pay bar which charges what it likes.
Wasp nests near the pool area provide some entertainment as people jump & run around. Overall not a pleasant experience, if you have to go there choose room only as eating out is reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stusledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Dont expect a sunbed near the pool,as they are occupied with towels all the time.Hotel was nice and quiet,as i had a room in the wing on the seventh floor with view to the sea(between two nearby hotels).Breakfast is OK.Lunch and dinner may be not so good.Restaurant is little bit too small for this hotel.Can recommend this,but during the day is better to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Nobel Hotel
Nobel Hotel
#29 of 221 in Sunny Beach
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#41 of 221 in Sunny Beach
342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#23 of 221 in Sunny Beach
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
#15 of 221 in Sunny Beach
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#24 of 221 in Sunny Beach
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marvel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marvel

Address: Slantschev Brjag 57, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $52 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marvel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the north part of Sunny Beach, in the close proximity of the beach and the picturesque sea path. This new four- star hotel offers unbelievable view to the sea as well as big variety of services and facilities, an impressive swimming pool with children's zone, Jacuzzi, medical centre, massage, two pool- bars, lobby- bar, hairdresser's, souvenir shop, non- stop supermarket, salon with electronic games, exchange bureau, individual safes at the reception. The indoor swimming complex offers a sauna, Jacuzzi, gym, and massage. The conference hall has 120 seats and it is equipped with the necessary techniques and apparatuses as well as hall with table tennis facilities. The hotel has double rooms, junior suites and suites; central air-condition system that provides comfort during the summer heat as well as during the cooler days and nights. In any room there are bath and shower, a balcony, direct telephone, mini bar, cable and a flat-screen TV. The large Ambrosia restaurant offers eating at the buffet. Bendida, a la cart restaurant having comfortable terraces with the view to the sea and a big variety of meals from the European cuisine. The hotel is only 35 km away from Burgas airport and 100 km away from Varna near to the bus stops to the Ancient town of Nesebar, St. Vlas and Elenite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marvel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvel Sunny Beach
Marvel Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Marvel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing