We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good!!”
Review of Hotel Riu Helios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios
Ranked #4 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and some friends visited there for a week on the 21st June and I wasn't sure on the hotel from reading reviews and because we were all inclusive and I'm a fussy eater! But I thought it was all fine!

The selection of food was good but could have done more for vegetarians, but for fussy eaters like me I lived on pasta and pizza all week but that was fine.

The rooms were spacious with a lovely bathroom with a big mirror and a walk in shower! In totel there were three mirrors in the room which is handy with three girls sharing a room!

Our balcony was nice had a table and two chairs with an ashtray. Our balcony didnt have a perfect view but I'm sure if you asked to upgrade or for a better one you would get it :).

Wifi is 10 levs a day 15 for 2 days or 20 for 3 days, I used this to contact home, it worked quite well on my phone but not so well on my friends phone so I would only pay for one day first and see how you get on with it, they do warm you that the signal for wifi might not be as good in the rooms but mine worked okay in the room and perfect on the balcony.

The area is really good, go out the front door you have lots of different shops to browse in, most selling similar things. Go out the back gate and your on the beach, turn left and you have more shops, food places and further down flower street where most of the clubs are :)

Over all I think ignore the negative reviews and get your own opinion because I thought it was great :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Helios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 924 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our choice for this hotel was based on the mostly positive reviews posted on Tripadvisor. And we were not disappointed at all. Friendly and professional personal, very clean and large rooms made up with care and soul, fresh food of excellent quality, theme dinners with tasty dishes, clean pools.
The location is very central and close to the activities of the town. The beach is at a few steps only.
Dislikes:
- noisy region: a close beach bar plays loud music until late in the night (however closing the balcony door and turning on the airco reduced the noice to a supportable level)
- the drinks were not of the best quality: juices and cocktails were tasting more like flavoured water (seems to be the price you pay for "all-inclusive")
- the playground on this large site is by far underdimensioned and not sufficient in case there are more than 5 kids
Considering our overall experience, we can nevertheless recommend this hotel without any restrictions and we consider returning.

Room Tip: To get a nice view, choose a room facing the little pool - you'll enjoy the view over almost all...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

excellent hotel. Staff are brilliant and very friendly. just remember to pack a kettle. rooms super clean. If you request a sea view be prepared for lots of loud noise from the bar on the beach. Entertainment staff are really good. Mario and Stan were not just good at getting people involved but they were also full of information about local history. We loved this holiday and would recomend this hotel to anyone.
Jackie

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiegriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived back from The Helios 2nd July after a wonderful 2 week stay. I don't know where to start really because everything was fabulous. This Hotel has had an amazing makeover and any photos you see on travel websites can be very misleading. After a 3hr delayed flight from Cardiff with Thomsons we arrived at the hotel at 4:30 a.m. we were checked in promptly and offered tea,coffee,and some cakes.We declined all we wanted was to get to our room and fall into bed.We were given a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel no: 2152 with no balcony. We were not disappointed at all. The room was very tastefully decorated in lovely blue tones fridge flat screen t.v. which did have an english channel crime investgation, and a music channel.Loads of wardrobe space,full lengh mirror,fab walk in shower best we've ever had in any Hotel we've ever been in and we've been in a few. We slept well and loved being in the front where we were not overlooked by anything.We heard a little bit of noise at night which can be expected,but didn't bother us at all and didn't last long.The Hotel staff are amazing and can't do enough for you. Food was good and plenty of choice,although did get a bit repetetive the second week.So we did venture out one night and had a steak at the Steakhouse just up the road from the Hotel yummy.....lots of shops just outside the Hotel all selling the usual things. Two lovely pools,we stayed around the quieter one,we had no trouble getting a bed the first week,but week two was a different story.New arrivals took it into their heads that they could reserve beds by leaving their towels on them OVERNIGHT!!!!!!!! I think these sort of actions downgrade lovely Hotels like The Helios and should be addressed. And you all know who you are.....Entertainment well the animation team work extremely hard,and they are all so friendly Tony,Nevy,Yana,Stan,Nick,& Alex,missing you all already.xx some of the evening shows they did had me in hysterics.We went to Khans tent, not to be missed fab food you get a bottle of wine,and a bottle of sprite if you don't want wine you can have 2 large beers instead.The show was fantastic,and at the end we all got up and danced to the fab group that played all evening.We took a local bus to Nessebar 1 lev each way,we also went to Sozopol another nice day out.We booked outside across the road from the Hotel much cheaper than Thomsons 65 lev for Khans & 52 for Sozopol(lunch included)
Weather was fantastic averaged 40-30 degrees,however our last two days it rained,so that's when we did a bit of shopping.We kept our room till 8 because of late flight home 90Lev we had to move rooms though which was a bit disappointing because when we booked it we were told we could keep our original room.So it was one mad rush to pack up and move 2 floors up overlooking large pool. We much preferred being at the front,much noisier overlooking pool area.The beach outside back of Hotel beautiful,so that's it really i could go on forever about The Helios and Sunny Beach,so go and find out for yourself i'm sure you won't be disappointed. Hope my review helps a little bit anyway.....

Room Tip: We preferred the front,pool & sea view rooms can be noisier
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank welshlady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend from 3rd june to the 17th. We both loved it! Stsyef in many 4 star all inclusives hotels before (not in bulgaria) and this is by fair the best! Every member of staff eotk hard and are friendly and helpfull.rooms are spacious,modern,clean and comfy.food drinks anf entertainment are also great.
PLEASE HELP-if anyone from wales is going here this summer could you contsct me ad i have left my memory card in hotel with loads of irreplaceable pictures on it. Hotel have been great in finding it and kerping it.Although thomsons have not been helpfull at all. Leaving me unable to get it back. If someone could bring it back to wales i can send a prepaid envelop to you address to send to me.if anyone can help please mail me on facebook name is Nia Gealy can then give you my phone number thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is our 3rd time to this hotel and it is unbelievable. New bar,new snack restaurant ,dining room completely refurbished and new furniture throughout the ground floor,dining room,snack bar and lounge bar. New sunbeds and plenty of them. The food was a little disappointing but improved as our holiday progressed,obviously someone had dropped a hint.The staff as normal in the riu group were very friendly and helpful and the manager and restaurant manager were very visible.

Room Tip: Join the Riu class club
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

check out varies we checked out at 8pm instead of noon it cost 90 lev about £45.safe was about 60 lev £30 for the week hope this helps.the hotel was brill one of the best ive stayed in;the all inclusive was one of the best ive had.proper glasses not the plastic rubish

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 221 in Sunny Beach
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 221 in Sunny Beach
281 reviews
1.8 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Helios Paradise
ClubHotel Riu Helios Paradise
#5 of 221 in Sunny Beach
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#17 of 221 in Sunny Beach
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios

Address: | on the beachfront, 300 m from centre of Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 6-story building * Situated on the beach front * 300 m from the center of Sunny Beach * 25 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Hotel
Riu Helios Sunny Beach
Hotel Riu Helios Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing