We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Hotel Riu Helios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios
Ranked #4 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

excellent hotel. Staff are brilliant and very friendly. just remember to pack a kettle. rooms super clean. If you request a sea view be prepared for lots of loud noise from the bar on the beach. Entertainment staff are really good. Mario and Stan were not just good at getting people involved but they were also full of information about local history. We loved this holiday and would recomend this hotel to anyone.
Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiegriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    286
    79
    43
    14
See reviews for
253
369
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southwales
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived back from The Helios 2nd July after a wonderful 2 week stay. I don't know where to start really because everything was fabulous. This Hotel has had an amazing makeover and any photos you see on travel websites can be very misleading. After a 3hr delayed flight from Cardiff with Thomsons we arrived at the hotel at 4:30 a.m. we were checked in promptly and offered tea,coffee,and some cakes.We declined all we wanted was to get to our room and fall into bed.We were given a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel no: 2152 with no balcony. We were not disappointed at all. The room was very tastefully decorated in lovely blue tones fridge flat screen t.v. which did have an english channel crime investgation, and a music channel.Loads of wardrobe space,full lengh mirror,fab walk in shower best we've ever had in any Hotel we've ever been in and we've been in a few. We slept well and loved being in the front where we were not overlooked by anything.We heard a little bit of noise at night which can be expected,but didn't bother us at all and didn't last long.The Hotel staff are amazing and can't do enough for you. Food was good and plenty of choice,although did get a bit repetetive the second week.So we did venture out one night and had a steak at the Steakhouse just up the road from the Hotel yummy.....lots of shops just outside the Hotel all selling the usual things. Two lovely pools,we stayed around the quieter one,we had no trouble getting a bed the first week,but week two was a different story.New arrivals took it into their heads that they could reserve beds by leaving their towels on them OVERNIGHT!!!!!!!! I think these sort of actions downgrade lovely Hotels like The Helios and should be addressed. And you all know who you are.....Entertainment well the animation team work extremely hard,and they are all so friendly Tony,Nevy,Yana,Stan,Nick,& Alex,missing you all already.xx some of the evening shows they did had me in hysterics.We went to Khans tent, not to be missed fab food you get a bottle of wine,and a bottle of sprite if you don't want wine you can have 2 large beers instead.The show was fantastic,and at the end we all got up and danced to the fab group that played all evening.We took a local bus to Nessebar 1 lev each way,we also went to Sozopol another nice day out.We booked outside across the road from the Hotel much cheaper than Thomsons 65 lev for Khans & 52 for Sozopol(lunch included)
Weather was fantastic averaged 40-30 degrees,however our last two days it rained,so that's when we did a bit of shopping.We kept our room till 8 because of late flight home 90Lev we had to move rooms though which was a bit disappointing because when we booked it we were told we could keep our original room.So it was one mad rush to pack up and move 2 floors up overlooking large pool. We much preferred being at the front,much noisier overlooking pool area.The beach outside back of Hotel beautiful,so that's it really i could go on forever about The Helios and Sunny Beach,so go and find out for yourself i'm sure you won't be disappointed. Hope my review helps a little bit anyway.....

Room Tip: We preferred the front,pool & sea view rooms can be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshlady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend from 3rd june to the 17th. We both loved it! Stsyef in many 4 star all inclusives hotels before (not in bulgaria) and this is by fair the best! Every member of staff eotk hard and are friendly and helpfull.rooms are spacious,modern,clean and comfy.food drinks anf entertainment are also great.
PLEASE HELP-if anyone from wales is going here this summer could you contsct me ad i have left my memory card in hotel with loads of irreplaceable pictures on it. Hotel have been great in finding it and kerping it.Although thomsons have not been helpfull at all. Leaving me unable to get it back. If someone could bring it back to wales i can send a prepaid envelop to you address to send to me.if anyone can help please mail me on facebook name is Nia Gealy can then give you my phone number thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is our 3rd time to this hotel and it is unbelievable. New bar,new snack restaurant ,dining room completely refurbished and new furniture throughout the ground floor,dining room,snack bar and lounge bar. New sunbeds and plenty of them. The food was a little disappointing but improved as our holiday progressed,obviously someone had dropped a hint.The staff as normal in the riu group were very friendly and helpful and the manager and restaurant manager were very visible.

Room Tip: Join the Riu class club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

check out varies we checked out at 8pm instead of noon it cost 90 lev about £45.safe was about 60 lev £30 for the week hope this helps.the hotel was brill one of the best ive stayed in;the all inclusive was one of the best ive had.proper glasses not the plastic rubish

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here between 17th and 25th June. I must admit the hotel is amazing. I stayed in Bulgaria last year at a 3* hotel but paying only £80 more for this was worth it.

Rooms are tidy and modern. LCD tv, fridge and large modern shower room. We ate in the main restaurant (very good and different selection of meats each night), snack bar (serves the usual sausages, burgers, pizza, pastas and salads) and Bulgarian (snack bar at night, found the food ok but not to my taste), there is also a oriental restaurant but did not make that.

The pool bar is lovely and staff very efficient along with being very friendly. Only one moan is more outdoor seating would be nice. The staff are very generous with their drinks if you tip them at the staff and will look after you for the night.

The main pool is quite large and cold but it's to be expected for such a large deep pool. Did not go in the smaller kids pool on the other side of the hotel. When we arrived we had no issues with getting a sun bed at 1pm hower during the week the hotel got busier and really struggled to get a bed at 11am.

Reception staff are very helpful, friendly and polite giving bottles of water when asked (don't bother buying any)

Biggest moan is that the hotel has only 4 of what I can only describe as the slowest lifts ever. There are alot of rooms here and you can expect to wait 5 mins for one to arrive.

Finally the location is perfect. Close enough to the main strip but far enough not to be disturbed by the noise or liveliness. The hotel is in the more classy part of sunny beach.

Loved it here and will definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hit_man_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is absolutely lovely, my boyfriend and I went on the recommendation of my parents who visited a few years ago. It has been refurbished since then and this can be seen by the addition of the snack bar and the very modern pool bar. The rooms are very modern, clean and spacious the only thing that I would say is that the mini fridge in the room isn't stocked as it had been in another RIU hotel we visited last year.

The weather wasn't the best when we went (3rd June- 18th June) we were told this is very unusual for the time of year and we had a fantastic time despite the rain, the animation team worked hard to keep the spirits of the soggy guests up by holding games and competitions.
With the weather being hit and miss, when we did get the opportunity to go in the pool it was FREEZING. We also found that some of the tiles were coming up from the bottom of the pool, we heard of someone having to have stitches due to stepping on a cracked tile that had lifted so be careful!

The location is absolutely perfect as you aren't directly next to the main strip where it's really noisy until the early hours, but it is near enough to go out amongst it all with ease. The hotel is also right on the beach which is also nice.

The only slight grumble that we had was the food, although it was edible and it changed slightly every day there wasn't a big enough variety. Again,comparing it to another RIU where they had a large variety of food available the selection really wasn't enough. The food was repeated part way along in the restaurant, as long as you don't mind pizza, pasta, meatballs, meat, potatoes and gravy you'll be alright. The salad bar section was really nice, they don't do diet pepsi on draught but that's just me being picky!

I would most definitely recommend this hotel, the weather really picked up on our second week & we didn't want to leave. (the mini golf directly next to the hotel is great & we absolutely LOVED mexo beach bar)

**Don't bother with the hotel wifi, they charge for it and it is awful! If you want to use the internet to contact people back home then i'd recommend just going to a bar with free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 220 in Sunny Beach
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
MPM Blue Pearl
MPM Blue Pearl
#37 of 220 in Sunny Beach
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#6 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios

Property: Hotel Riu Helios
Address: | on the beachfront, 300 m from centre of Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 6-story building * Situated on the beach front * 300 m from the center of Sunny Beach * 25 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Hotel
Riu Helios Sunny Beach
Hotel Riu Helios Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing