We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveler rating
528
358
108
51
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
358
108
51
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantanimation teambar salonbar staffmain restaurantsnack restaurantevening entertainmentthomson reppizzafree bottles of waterkhans tentgreat holidaysmaller poolthe air conditioningfantastic hotelsex shopssomething for everyone
Filter
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just back from 10 nights in the Riu Helious can't fault this hotel one bit,food great staff great location great, the animation team BRILLIANT , I was there with my 13 yr old goddaughter and my 85 yr old mother who was in wheel chair , and the hotel was fantastic for us all , will go back next year :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived in Bulgaria it was our first visit. The hotel Riu Helios we were told had been re=vamped. The room was very good the location of the hotel was excellent next to the beach which was beautiful, The staff were excellent they were very friendly and could not do enough for you. There was the choice of three resteraunts the main resteraunt where you had most of your meals an Asian which you could go to on an evening by booking and also a snack bar through the day which opened from 10am to 5pm and then it changed to a Place where you could get Bulgarian food on a evening. The food we found to be very good there was a carving station and also a good variety every night we really enjoyed the strawberries & ice-cream.which was available besides the many varieties of cakes every meal time.The animation were very friendly and did there best to keep you entertained.The only fault whilst we were there the people who were not all inclusive were given priority by being able to reserve tables given first sitttings at all meal times but did not leave the dining room as whilst there they could get free wine and beer.
We would maybe return here if the dining room was maybe same for everyone and either everyone could reserve or no one.

Room Tip: Pool view or sea veiw
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastlefordYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Cant wait to go back.Looking at going in September again.Brilliant hotell.Staff very friendly.Everywhere was clean.Rooms were spaciuos and bed comfy.The bar staff deserve a special mention.Once the staff got to know you the next drink was ready on the bar.Food was good.Lots of choice.The pool areas were very clean.The hotel is practically on the beach.We went onto the beach for a day and if you wanted you could go and get your drinks and lunch from hotel and take on the beach.We walked to Nessebar along the beach and took us around an hour and 45 mins.We didnt intend to but went the wrong way out of the hotel.We passed a nudist beach on our walk which was an experience.It was my partners birthday so we had a lovely sea food lunch at Nessebar.The resort has everything for every age.We went into Morris bar a few times and found the bar and staff to be excellent.I read a lot of reviews before we went and i personally couldnt make any bad comments about the hotel.Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for balacony and pool view room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuGravesendKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I (both around 50) travelled out to Sunny Beach for our first holiday in this Bulgarian resort over the Spring Bank holiday week. We chose the Riu Helios after having good experiences with other Riu hotels in other countries and we have even booked another Riu for later in the year in the Caribbean. The hotel certainly lived up to our expectations, very well run with management always available and approachable if needed, speaking good English. There was always good friendly service throughout the hotel in all departments. There were always plenty of staff on duty including the bars both daytime and evening right up to the midnight deadline (which is often a fault in other all inclusive hotels). One of our favourite services they have is that coffee, tea, water and soft drinks machines are available on a self service basis both in the restaurant and around the pool area throughout the day and in the restaurant for lunch and evening meal the beer and both white and red wine is available on a self service basis with two separate stations set up at either end of the restaurant meaning there is no queuing or waiting for drinks when you need them, just go and top up your glass when you need it. Another great comfortable advantage of the Riu experience is that the staff never "appear" to be working for tips they just get on with their jobs of tidying up and cleaning up after guests, preparing tables quickly and efficiently for the next guest arriving and in most cases it is always completed with a smile and a polite "hello". We are a couple who tip the staff who look after us the best but it was really hard to decide as all staff looked after you, so I ended up putting a good tip into the 'tip box' at the front of the restaurant (there are two - one for the kitchen staff and one for the restaurant service staff). The bar staff took a similar attitude and although 'tipped' staff "really" looked after your drinks and measures - all staff gave you good service whether tipped or not.
With regards to the food, the Riu provide you with a wide choice of what I would class as good basic food, always two soups, a good wide range of salad and fruits, always a good choice of meat dishes including a carved joint every night ( varied from beef, pork, lamb, chicken, turkey), usually a fish dish, some local stew dishes and a selection of potatoes and vegetables. For a foreign hotel, I have to comment that their morning 'bacon' was some of the best I have ever been offered on foreign soil !! They even offer decent British style sausages on the lunchtime menu including decent burgers and pizza pieces. This is the same whether you visit the poolside outside snack restaurant or the main restaurant.
The hotel has two good sized swimming pools with plenty of decent quality sunbeds and umbrellas available and there was even a number of brand new sunbeds stacked up in back up. Fresh pool towels are available on a daily basis if you need one daily and if you prefer the beach the beach was just outside the hotel grounds across a path.
The front of the hotel fronts onto a roadway full of tourist shops selling clothes and usual holiday wear and you can be in the centre of the resort in 10 minutes the back of the hotel has a beach pathway (8 yards wide) leading to beachside restaurants, bars and plenty more beachside shops. During the daytime it is easy to walk around the resort with the beach promenade pathway stretching the length of most of the resort (2 miles approx.) or you can walk towards the historic town of Nessebar (really worth a visit for the 'old town') which takes just over an hour walking or ten minutes on a local bus. The resort has a good bus service and is a good way to get around if you are not a walker and there are plenty of taxi's, horse driven carriages, or tourist motorised trains ferrying you up and down the resort. The resort is flat for those with walking difficulties.
You have to appreciate that in a large modern tourist resort which Sunny Beach is now, there is a "seedy" side to the resort with plenty of "exotic bars / clubs" and "sex shops" within the resort, but 'hey' there are plenty of groups searching these out. However, the rest of the resort is pleasant and easy to walk around with little hassle from the locals, just occasional friendly waiter banter in the busy central area trying to entice you into their restaurant or bar particularly around the peak eating hours.......but they easily understand "no" (unlike the Egyptian's or Tunisian's).
Overall an very good hotel, well run and relaxing in a decent position within the resort.

Room Tip: Poolside view keeps you away from the front of hotel road where there is some night time noise from revellers making their way home from the nightlife up the road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROGER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rui Helios is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Ever so clean, everyone is so welcoming and friendly. The food and drinks were amazing. Staff were always on point to clean up. The rooms were spacious, beds comfy and amazing bathroom. Already know coming back next year !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weedall96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews