We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody horrendous!”
Review of Zefir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zefir Hotel
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is truly dreadful. Upon first entering the room, we noticed the carpet was like sandpaper, and was raised in parts by what appeared to be electrical/telephone wiring running underneath. We also asked for a poolside view......strange looking pool, looked an awful lot like the road at the front of the hotel.

The staff, where do I start? The waiting staff in the dining area were horrendous. Nose picking, crotch scratching, inappropriate flirting between staff, and a general sense of a "couldn't give a crap" attitude.

Now onto the food, which gave us the trots for several days (not just us, a number of fellow guests confirmed to us they had the same problem). We spent about 3 days placing ourselves strategically near the nearest public convenience. Not great when you're trying to sightsee!

Also, the guests were predominantly German. Which is fine, we spoke to some lovely German guests. However, the problem lies again with the hotel staff. They DO speak basic English, unless of course you want them to help you with something. At which point, they PRETEND not to speak a word of English and proceed to bombard you with a mixture of Bulgarian and German. Again, "couldn't give a crap" was the general feeling we got.

Bulgaria is a lovely place, particularly Nessebar, but this hotel? I've had better in Blackpool!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Zefir Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel is clean, room had modern furniture and linen and towels were changed regularly. We had room 487, top floor, overlooking the staff car park but with views across the bay and into Sunny Beach. Balcony very small, no room for a table and my husband (6'1") had to sit in the doorway otherwise his feet and knees poked out through the bars. Drawback, pipe for kitchen air conditioning ran up the wall outside our room and this kicked in at 7 a.m every morning. Also, staff living in ground floor had a small dog which started to yap when the staff and deliveries arrived. There was also a nauseating smell of onions cooking when you first opened the window. Only a small number of rooms have air conditioning (pay extra) ours didn't but as it was Sept. we didn't find it a problem. Don't know what it would be like in height of summer.

Pool area and surrounding grass are kept clean but if you want a lounger be prepared to get up at 7 a.m. as the Russians, Germans, Polish and Ukrainians all seem to have the habit of putting towels on them and then disappearing. The Brits. are certainly in the minority in this hotel. Entertainment in the form of a duo is provided every night (same couple) and there music is pleasant to listen to. A similar couple play at the John Smiths bar opposite, although they have nights off when the big football games are being screened. Didn't go but Smiths also have karaoke from midnight every night.
The biggest disappointment was the food. Breakfast was okay but the evening meal was another thing. Didn't know there were so many ways you could serve chicken and pork. In some form or another they were on the menu every night. For the 13 nights that we were there
the additional choice was 2 nights liver (hard) l night beef (nice) 2 nights omelette and 2 nights fish. Didn't try the latter 2 as they didn't look appealing. Salad Bar consisted of tomato/grated cheese, tomato/cucumber, coleslaw and on 2 nights stuffed vine leaves. Had lettuce on 1 night. Desserts every night: mousse, grapes and watermelon. Neighbours were 'all inclusive' and they said they had the same meals at lunch time.

Hotel is closer to Nesebar than Sunny Beach Centre but either place can easily be accessed by either the land train or the local bus.

It's 20 years since we last went to Sunny Beach and couldn't recognise the place. Because of its location on the beach and the relative quietness of the area I would stay at this hotel again but on a bed and breakfast basis and eat out.
TIP: Unless you like 'perfumed' tea then take your own tea bags with you. What we call ordinary tea was hard to come by and the supply ran out nearly every morning.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a room overlooking the pool - no dog yapping or karaoke from pub.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeBeNUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is clean but very basic, rooms are small with showers and toilet that are cleaned daily, towels and linen changed regularly, the breakfast is ok but the rest of it goes downhill fast, luckily there are bars and restaurants (John Smith's Pub and The Step Restaurant not forgetting the Kebab man on the corner)
locally that serve good food so we're not starving!! The pool isn't big enough and there aren't enough sunbeds, so it first come first served!!
Nessebar is well worth a visit, the old town is charming, lots of shops and places to eat at reasonable prices, very relaxing having lunch listening to the sea! Sunny Beach town centre is full of clubs and bars if you want night life. There's little train that goes to Sunny Beach from outside the hotel, the ones that go to Nessebar start at the main road, a few minutes walk or if you're really adventurous try the local buses, quite a experience!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were there 3 adults and 1 child, and we are now very happy, because we spent a wonderfull vacation. Food was enough and good, we would recommend that it would be better to have many types of ice creams...but this vanilla flavoured ice cream was very good. Congratulations for all of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my partner decided to have a cheap holiday to get away and chose to go to Bulgaria on recommendation we stayed in the Zefir hotel in June 2013.The Zefir hotel has brilliant location its around 20 minutes one way to Sunny beach and the clubs and night life or 20 minutes the other way to Nessubar the old town a pictures side of Bulgaria and is on a main travelling root to either it is also a stone throw to the beach.We chose to go all inclusive as we like a drink when on holiday however i would not recommend all inclusive at the Zafir hotel for the following reasons,
VERY limited selection of drinks
food times to eat very limited
food options limited
drinks only available from the bar 11am-11pm
water NOT free
What i will say is the hotel is clean and good value for money, Bulgaria is a very reasonably priced country my recommendation would be to go to the hotel but just B&B and eat and drink out .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff were not at all helpful, nor indeed did they know how to smile. The food was the worst I've ever had. If you are a vegetarian, you will be lucky to survive on boiled potatoes and bread! Every day the food was the same - great if you are German or East European, but English.....awful! The rooms were small and the pillows were like bags of cement! The pool was not cleaned for the two weeks we were there. The 'wi-fi' was unbelievably slow. It was nearly impossible to get a sunbed as the Germans would remove the towels and take the beds. This was the worst holiday I've ever had and certainly not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaraBristol2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent a week at the zefir, the hotel was fantastic.

The cleaners work 24/7, you don't needs to be up at the crack of dawn to get a sun bed, the food and drink is good, especially the meat balls with luitinisa sauce.

The receptionist spoke fluent English and was incredibly friendly.

Defo be back next year

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#147 of 221 in Sunny Beach
309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#73 of 221 in Sunny Beach
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#85 of 221 in Sunny Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
MPM Hotel Boomerang
MPM Hotel Boomerang
#102 of 221 in Sunny Beach
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#35 of 221 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#30 of 221 in Sunny Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zefir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zefir Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $40 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zefir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zefir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zefir Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing