We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zefir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zefir Hotel
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here I had serious reservations about both this hotel and Sunny Beach as a destination - I'm happy to say that few if any of my fears were realised! The Zefir Hotel was perfectly fine for our requirements, being as it is far enough away from the main resort to avoid Sunny Beach's grimmer aspects, but near enough for a quick walk up the beach or main road. The hotel and area are also well served by local buses and the tourist mini motor trains, which head out to both Sunny Beach and the lovely Nesebar peninsula (also walkable, if you're so inclined).

There are a high number of Russian and particularly German guests at the hotel, but I've really no idea why this would put anyone off. I certainly didn't see any signs that we were treated differently by staff (although two of the bar staff were not exactly cheerful to us or anyone else, everyone else was lovely) or other guests based on our nationality, and although the food did seem more tailored towards a German palate it was fine, even for a slightly fussy vegetarian! It does get a bit samey, but for a week's stay with a couple of meals out it's fine.

Our room (460) was clean on arrival and maintained throughout our stay by the friendly maids, with clean towels provided whenever requested. The same sunbed scramble as exists all over Europe takes place here, but the pool and garden area is lovely and the proximity of the hotel to the beach a definite bonus.

You're getting what you pay for here, undoubtedly, but if you're looking for a decent base for days out and spent round the pool, this hotel is not a bad bet. Go expecting Michelin star cuisine and every member of staff to be absolutely fluent in English and you'll be disappointed, but otherwise I'd recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cakeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    45
    26
    53
See reviews for
51
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

we met vicki & barry, april and claire (see their reviews) at this hotel and if it wasn't for them it would of been a disaster cheers chaps!!!. we were all inclusive and ate out every night food was absolutly rubbish so bad we had to laugh about it otherwise you would be crying. pool area was nice and clean but not enough beds, rooms were fine if yours had air con ours didn't !!! weather was fantastic and bulgaria is a nice country and would go back but probably to a different area. sunny beach at night is heading the same way as magaluf and ibiza, not really suitable for kids unless they like watching girls dancing about outside the bars with very little on!! cheap as chips for beers and food we found a place that the drinks were 2lv for a pint and pizza at 7lv, their are also nice places for a little more 19lv for a massive steak. do be weary of the chicken like one other person said, both me and my partner were laid up in bed (no air con) for a full day and night with bad tummies. this is the first ever review i'v wrote as i'm not a moaner we def made the most of a very poor hotel, go self catering to bulgaria !!!!!

Room Tip: get a room in another hotel.......but if you do still go to this one make sure you get air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

After reading all reviews on the hotel being really poor quality i was dreading going to the hotel, on arrival it can look a bit run down, after going to the rooms they are quite clean, small but clean.
The pool area is quite large and always clean, although the cleaners idea of cleaning is quite funny to watch. The bar staff are really nice and friendly and always give you a strong drink ;) Never really spoke to the receptionists so cant comment on that department. The food consisted of Pork, Pork and yet more Pork even pork soup!

I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Get a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Well what can we say. If your British don't go here! Staff are really unfriendly- from the moment we got there, they were hard work. Not even a smile was cracked at times. When you go on your jollies you expect to receive a warm welcome, but not here! We were all inclusive and the food was very basic, could have done with more variety. Not much selection of alcohol and was it hard getting drunk. We ate out some evenings as the food was better.. You won't starve though as the soup, chips and bread was grand.

Pool was nice and clean but a nightmare getting a sunbed as you had to be up at the crack of dawn!

Rooms were clean but no aircon!! Jeeze we survived off 4 hours a night due to the fack it was 29 degrees on the evening and yep no aircon! MELT CITY!!!

Don't get me wrong we are not the type to ditch anything as we have both stayed in some dives whist travelling-but this bites the biscuit- due the the fact that they made you feel un-welcome because of being British. I would definately say that this hotel is more for the German and Russian folk. Very anti- British!!

Bulgaria itself is a lovely place and the weather was beautiful. The beach was extremely nice and the beach bar through the day was good. Good chilled out vibes and the staff were lovely and even cracked a smile :-)The beach was a stone throw away.

We met a few ace English couples in the hotel, who made our holiday fun and funny..Thank you.. Otherwise we would of cracked up! Don't gooooooooooooooooo if your British!!!

Vicky & Barry

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Me and my husband went to this hotel as reccomended for a quick deal away for our honeymoon. Yes you get what you pay for i agree but we still payed over £1000 !. From the moment we got off the mini bus from the airport we had crap customer service no English signs or information, no smiles, rude facial gestures towards us as they could not understand the Englisg language, no help, or welcome nothing !! the hotel does not even like English customers so why do they accept our money.. ?? all the staff at this hotel greeted us with grunts and yes we were all inclusive however, staff did not like serving us our drinks and the food is a certain no no unless you like slop . The pool was loverly however, nothing for children other than dancing to the same 5 songs every night, no adult enertainment other than the same songs sang by the same couple every night who look and sound like they hate the job. Basicly if you sleep in this hotel bring a fan put a sign on the door for the cleaners to do not disturb at 7 am every morning and eat out every day. This trip for us was great as we managed to meet some friendly faces who were English !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The main picture shown for this Hotel is of the Efir Hotel not the Zefir Hotel. I am going tomorrow so can't comment yet but this review confused the hell out of me, making me think that the Efir Hotel was terrible when, I hope, it is not.

I will leave a review of the actual Efir Hotel when I return and also try and get Trip advisor to correct the pic shown here.

There is no dedicated page for the Efir Hotel (Sunny Beach) yet either so not sure if it has been confused in the past and the reviews are actually combined reviews of different hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a great holiday with my girlfriend at this hotel.

The staff are very friendly and the younger ones speak english. the hotel manager speaks fluent english as do both the animators, who run the kids club and the entertaiment which was mainly zumba, water aerobics and water polo.

The food is good, although it is aimed more at the russian/german market. If I was unable to find somethign I liked then I Just ordered off the menu and it was cheap enough to do so, more than able to get my moneys worth in terms of food and drink.

The hotel is kept imaculately clean. there was always someone cleaning the reception and the rooms were cleaned daily.

The hotel is located next to the beach and a 30 min walk form the centere of sunny beach and the nessebar. There are trains which take 10 mins to get to both and these start right outside the hotel which was 3 lev per person and free for kids. so ment we were able to have a good look arround and travel about cheaply.

There is pool is big and kept very clean as it was cleaned every night.

I had to get up at 7.30 to get a bed by the pool, but this is pretty much the case with any hotel I have stayed at in europe.

I would definatly recomend this hotel to anyone, enjoy the drink and if the food is not your cup of tea try ordering off the menu or even take the train into the town where you can eat a good meal for less than £5. alternativly you could get a kebab or pizza for £1.50 next to the hotel.

Great location and service.

fantastic two weeks stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room as they are quieter. pay extra to get aircon. meet your rep as they will po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#112 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#50 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#46 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regatta Palace
Hotel Regatta Palace
#103 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#124 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kalofer
Hotel Kalofer
#42 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zefir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zefir Hotel

Property: Zefir Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zefir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Zefir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zefir Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing