We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, service and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trakia Garden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I spent ten days with my wife and two children (9 and 6) at the hotel this past June, and while I had to return to the States for work, my wife and children remained there and will until school starts. Pricing is set for a family, and while it seems to depend on how one books, I don't think I'd have been able to find the same quality for what I paid. I did go to some of the 'all inclusive' spots in town, and was pleasantly surprised to see that our amenities were on par with what the Germans and Scandinavians expect.

The Hotel Trakia Garden is ideally situated on the main street of town, right near a bus stop, making day trips an easy activity (to two quality water-parks, Nessebar, an old city-state that sticks out into the Black Sea, Bourgas, Varna, and other spots). The buses are extremely cheap and I never ran into any behavior or other issues that would make me prefer a taxi.

The beach itself, with the occasional topless euro (who probably go post-beach to one of the various clubs and discos in town), is white, the sea is clear and with enough waves for body-surfing but not enough to make Mom scared she'd lose the kids, and there are restaurants dotting the area at all budget levels.

The hotel itself is family owned and managed, and the matriarch of the family takes no 'guff' (her husband passed away a few years ago, and his picture still hangs) when staff is slow or careless. Her son Dmitr handles the bar and patio, which is no easy thing, and her daughter Zlatelina, fluent in Chinese after studying there for her degree, handles just about everything else. They're a happy friendly family, but not to a fault--problems, if any, are handled without delay.

I still get on skype with the family almost daily--there is free wi-fi in the lobby--and talk with my family and watch the bathers who prefer the hotel pool walk one way and those that prefer the 'real thing' (the sea) head the other. My wife is looking tan and relaxed, which was the point, and I believe most of that has everything to do with the hotel and its wonderful staff.

I did hear of some Brits complaining about the absence of 'rasher bacon' and 'pudding.' If you're a traveler that prefers to go abroad but have home appear there in the dining room, I'd suggest staying home. The hotel does a terrific job of assembling a buffet with items that appeal to the largest cross-section of their guests, but 'rasher bacon' is simply not obtainable in that city yet. I enjoy trying new things, and Bulgarian food was new to me, and my children (the daughter is picky) found what they wanted without trouble.

In any case, a wonderful stay and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MWAAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

Trakia Garden was a treat to stay in. A perfect 3 star hotel that is cleaned every day, has a fridge in the room and the staff that alot of british companies should take note from. The hotel is set 2 streets back from the magnificant beach and just a minute stroll from the bars and resturants and a further 5 minute walk to the main nighlife, which is very busy but none the less has everything to cater for everyone.

We went half board in the hotel and although alot of people complained about the evening meal i have to say i rather enjoyed it. There was plenty of choice every night, i suppose it comes down to personel choice. The breakfast was exactly what you would expect. Eggs, sausages, french toast, cerials, fresh fruit, cheeses etc (something for everyone.

Prices in the resort are unbelievably cheap. average 1.50 lev for a pint (65 pence) and £4 - 5 for an evening meal which the standard in all the places are the same as everywhere else in the med.

Overall this resort and especially the hotel is definately recommended and would give the whole holiday a 5 out of 5. The place has the nightlife for clubbers if they want it, Lots of kids clubs, water parks for the families and can be nice and relaxing for a couple just looking for a break. This place i will be going back to, you cannot ask for anything else.

Ryan
Travel Agent
Ramsay World Travel

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryanhamilton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I have been to this hotel several times and will be going there next summer for sure. The hotel staff is just so friendly and will make everything to make your stay there pleasant. The hotel is situated 5 to 10 min away from the beach and has a fabulous garden. although it is in the downtown part of the resourt it is very quiet and the swimming pool is surrounded by greenery. Rooms are spacious and very clean. it is a wonderful place for the whole family. The food is tasty and the block tables for breakfast and dinner offer almost anything. Definetely to go there again and bring more friends. it is the best stay in sunny beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ashlyn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Very nice hotel and friendly staff! I will be back again this summer!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buzoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Have just come back from a 2 week half board holiday at the trakia garden hotel. I must says its a lovely hotel and the staff cant do enough for you. The hotel itself is very clean and had everything we needed. There was myself, my little girl and my parents and we were all very impressed and would def return, in fact we are looking at going back next year!! the rooms were great very spacious and maid service everyday.

Before i went i had read a couple of dodgy reviews but these were totally unfounded yeah granted the food isnt what you'd get back home but you shouldnt expect that on holiday anyway. There was something everyday to suit all in our party so you wont go without . Other than that no complaints at all. Its in a good area nice and quiet at night and pretty central to most things.

I would say this is definately worth a visit !!!

Happy holidays :0)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vancolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arthurguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
1.8 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#19 of 222 in Sunny Beach
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#20 of 222 in Sunny Beach
483 reviews
2.2 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#60 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trakia Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trakia Garden Hotel

Address: central part of Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $41 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trakia Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trakia Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trakia Garden
Trakia Garden Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing