We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant”
Review of Sunrise Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Club Hotel
Ranked #173 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We have just returned from a most delightful 2 week B&B holiday at the Sunrise. The staff from the outset were great even at 5am when we ariived. Rooms very clean and freshly decorated and were cleaned out every day with towels being checked as and when and beds changed 5 times over the 14 days. Meals were very good, plentiful and delivered by a cheery waiter/waitress. All the staff were great with our grandchildren, who spent most of the time in the pool. Aircon worked brilliantly.

We had fellow guests from Holland, Germany, Slovakia, Poland, Serbia, Russia, Bulgaria, Czechaslovakia plus fellow Brits. and we all got on pretty well especially the children. Several evenings were taken up with Magician who did a kids act then an adult turn later on plus a Karaoke which got every nation involved.

Although the beach was only yards away it was too hot to go down, temp above 35c most days, so we stayed by the pool.

Did not see Balkan rep despite wife attending his meet & greet at least twice, in away it was a godsend as we were not roped into any trips.

Will definitely return, do not believe the whingers a holiday is what you make of it, forget life at home and get involved with the local people you'd be amazed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Billgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have recently stayed at The Sunrise hotel and can't believe some of the reviews we had read before getting there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definately consider it in the future. It is not in the centre of Sunny Beach but it is only a short walk or a cheap bus ride away. The pool is nice and the beach is only 5 minutes walk away. Service could not be faulted and the food was okay. The room was quite big and comfy for a family.

Overall enjoyed the hotel and Sunny Beach!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthony_beardsley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

hi, we stayed here june 2009, in favour the rooms are huge, not much storage but hey who needs it? the cleaners came in every day, they speak very very little english, but were lovely and did a great job! and george behind the pool bar spoke pretty good english and was great company!

not much english was spoke elsewhere tho! the food was appaulling! what started out as meat the first night became stew the next night and curry the night after nothing was left to waste!! there was the same breakfast day in day out and if you like grease your in for a treat!
and there was not a thing for kids to eat, they heard us complaining one night and brought out some chicken nuggets, they were still frozen inside, we sent them back, when they came back they were still frozen!! we had hysterical kids cos they were being teased with these nuggets and we sent them back again the waiter actually ate one trying to say that was how they ate them in bulgaria!! ( funnily enough he was off work the following day!!)
the famous swallows! well although the nests are everywhere and there are alot of them the birds didn't bother me apart from the occaisional one to fly into the pool! we had to rescue several of them! it was the bird poo that bothered me! evertime you put a towel out to dry it had poop all over it after an hour or so! and the pool had a coat of poop on it, we had to ask the management to put the filtration system on several times before we could go in!
and finally, there was no entertainment, and if there was nobody phyisically sitting at the bar at 8pm it closed, so you couldn't even get a bloody drink!!

we stayed for 2 weeks, and we all agreed that 1 week or 11 nights would have been plenty for a family holiday, beach was lovely tho, beds are pricey, but the sand gets so hot the skin under your feet burns!

you must go to simply mikes, fantastic place, great food, cheap beer, top entertainment can't fault the place! say hi to mike and vicki.

GO TO KHAN'S TENT 1000% TOTALLY RECOMMENDED ABSOLUTLY BLOODY FANTASTIC!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirlannkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I have just got back from 2 weeks at the Sunrise and after reading the reviews left by others, I thought I would leave an accurate and impartial review/description of the hotel.

The hotel has many good points and has just as many bad points. What you think of this hotel will depend entirely on what you are expecting from the place. We used the hotel entirely as a base (somewhere to sleep) and it served this purpose superbly, as it was cheap and cheerful.

I am not going to list good and bad points, as what is good for me may be bad for you and vice versa. I will simply give an honest description of the main points of the hotel:

The Room - The rooms were very basic but were cleaned daily, the aircon was free and you were provided with a fridge and TV. We saw NO bugs in the room and the entire bathroom had been converted into a fabulous shower room (instead of a cubicle).

The Breakfast - Pretty much what you would expect of a low cost hotel in Bulgaria. You had the option of hot or cold food, which included things like Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, cheeses, hams, fruit, melon, grapes, 4 types of cereal, Spaghetti (what was that about?), toast, coffee, tea, juice, croissants.....etc etc

Staff - We found the staff to be ok on the whole. The lady in charge of breakfast was utterly miserable but was replaced for the second week by a cheerful and very friendly young chap. Everyone else was always willing to help if asked. Things like getting access to the safe boxes out of hours were never a problem.

Pool - Well, it was basically like jumping into an arctic penguin enclosure. The pool area is a very nice and well maintained area. No loose bricks, sharp edges etc that I have witnessed at other budget hotels I have stayed in. I felt totally comfortable letting my 2 year old do what he wanted in the pool area. The pool itself is absolutely freezing and I think this contributed to it being empty most of the time. My kids loved it though for exactly that reason. It was nice and quiet and never overcrowded, which made keeping an eye on the kids a lot easier. You could also take your pick of the sun beds.

Pool Bar – The bar was rarely open to be honest. It seemed to open at about noon and closed at about 6 pm, but even when open was not usually staffed. When you could get drink from the bar, the prices were good.

Entertainment – Simply put, there was none, nada, zero, zilch, nothing.

Location – It is set right at the north end of Sunny Beach. The beach is about 200 yards away (across a busy road and through a ginnel). There are two buses that you can catch into Sunny Beach Centre, but we tended to walk along the promenade, which is filled with shops, bars & restaurants. The promenade is very long, but it starts within about a five minute walk from the hotel so it is up to you how far up the promenade you go. We regularly walked all the way into the centre and I weigh 21 stone, which should tell you how difficult a walk it is.

Other visitors – Don’t believe the brochure when it says it is exclusive to UK visitors. This is untrue. While we were there, there were a group of Serbs staying, but they were generally well behaved and did not bother us. We actually got quite friendly with one or two of them despite the language barrier.

The Birds – Ah yes, the birds. We found them quite endearing to be honest. It could get a bit like a clip from the famous Hitchcock movie the odd time, but I can’t say the bird poo was a big problem (if at all). The staff seemed to keep it in check pretty well to be honest.

The Resort – We loved it. The food at the restaurants is very good and reasonably priced. Sunny beach is not as cheap as we were led to believe, but we were a group of seven and the most expensive meal we had was 130 Leva (about £60) and this included three rounds of drinks, so hardly expensive. The excursions are not cheap. A jeep safari will set you back about £40 per person. Most other things are about on a par with the UK but the shop keepers are usually willing to barter so try at least. Pretty much EVERY bar has a happy hour (which seems to run all day in some) when cocktails are two for one. All in all, plenty of places to eat, plenty of places to drink and plenty of places to shop. There are also casinos in the centre of town so plenty of places to loose your holiday spend. Despite all the above, there were not large groups of yobs all over the place. The population of the resort was very mixed. A wide range of nationalities, including German, Serb, Swedish, Irish, American, Scottish etc, etc. If you want somewhere with only English people about, go to Cleethorpes.

The Beach – Fantastic…. Fine white sand, lovely warm sea, parasailing, jet skiing, banana boating, volley ball, beach bars, Massage…… The beds cost 3 Leva each and 3 Leva for an umbrella (about £1.50). The beach has pretty much everything you would want for a beach and is also staffed with lifeguards and vendors bringing round fresh fruit for purchase etc.

My Summary
All in all, I would recommend the Sunrise for anyone wanting a cheap and clean base.

Don’t stay here if you are looking for a hotel that can cater for you all day and provide entertainment.

Do stay here if (like us) you generally spend little time in your hotel and want a cheap, clean base that is within walking distance of the main resort.

In the general Hotel bracket, the Sunrise would probably rate about 2-3 stars. In the Budget Hotel bracket, I would say it is one of the better ones I have come across.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sir_Quej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Just come back from Hotel Sunrise it was appalling had to ask for bedding to be changed and towels on 4th day no mini bar as stated in brochure no entertainment and pool bar was closed at around 5 then it was all closed up.
The pool is bloody freezin even the kids pool was freezin the sea was warmer. Says in brochure exclusive to uk residents no its not the place was over run by serbs that took over the place they changed the music when they wanted helped themselves to beer and were drunk in afternoon and very loud not good when you have kids with you when i spoke to Balkan holidays rep about all this he didnt care less .
And as for Sunny Beach itself its a dive the people treat us like dirt and they say there is no money in Bulgaria dont believe a word of it they drive very damn good cars to say they have no money but mind you they rip us english off enough to be able to afford the cars.
Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy its a complete dive and not as cheap as the brochure says.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mclarenno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The hotel had its good and bad points, however i would not like to revisit it. The rooms were immaculate, apart from fluff under the bed but maybe im just being pinickity, Ours was cleaned nearly every day and the cleaning staff were friendly. Our lock to our room was broken and the cleaners couldnt use their key so if we were out of the room they came looking around the pool for us to get our key. The beed sheets were only changed once during the 2 weeks so were minging!

Our Balcony had 6 SWALLOWS NESTS!! so you can imagine the amount of bird poo. We had to bring the clothes airer into the room and couldnt use the balcony at all. The poo was cleaned up every day but was soon back.( the chicks were quite endearing tho!). Apparently the nests were not allowed to be removed.

The breakfast was appauling, if you werent there for 8 am, you got the scraps and leftovers, we stopped going for it by the end. There is 3 kinds of eggs but you soon get sick of the sight of bloody eggs! The lady who works in the restaurant was utterly miserable. We were scared to ask her for anything.
They do meals aswell but these were disgusting also.

The pool and pool bar were nice apart from the bird poo, and the bar staff were friendly enough. Music played all through the day.

The hotel had no entertainment whatsoever and no friendly atmosphere. It reminded me of a YMCA hostel.

Also in the Balkan Holiday brochure they specified that hotel sunrise was exclusive to uk tourists. LIES!!!! Apart from ourselves there were only about 6 other British tourists all the rest were Bulgarian and German.

The hotel is also situated miles from the main strip 'Flower Street'. It cost us 20 lev to get a taxi one night one way. Its quicker if you go by the beach however crossing the road outside the hotel to get to the beach is like going on a suicide mission.

There is a lovely little restaurant opposite the hotel set back a little that is cheap and nice.

The staff in the supermarket down the road were ignorant.

All in all if your British, Bulgaria is not the most friendly of places to visit. It caters for Germans of which there were millions. Hardly any Brits at all and the Bulgarians werent tolerant of us Brits.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jossabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

im just reading through all these reviews and i find them rather funny because all the english people seem to want to do is complain. hotel sunrise was a lovely clean place and the food was very nice. there was always a good meal laid out in the mornings so you could choose between having a fry, cereal or fruit or cake.. or if you wanted you could have it all! there is a problem with the birds as their nests are on the balcanys ad there can be bird droppings but it is cleaned each morning by the maids from the balconys & in the pool a few times a day by staff. i really dont know what all the complaining is about?? there was of course one sour bake receptionist who never smiled but apart from that everything was fine. AND JUST TO SUM UP.. the group we met at the hotel gat quite drunk on their last night so they accidentally dropped their glass into the pool which was the BROKEN GLASS IN THE POOL. once this loud group went, the hotel went completly DEAD!! this was cleaned up immedietly the next morning !! As for the germans, they were quite loud and overpowering but what do you expect.. your not going to a 5* resort, so get over it !! would recommend to any type of person, very clean hotel and lovely staff exect for that recepitonst !! haha .. dont listen to any of these bad reviews until you have been to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AislingdDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Beach
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Oasis
Grand Hotel Oasis
#175 of 221 in Sunny Beach
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
MPM Hotel Royal Central
MPM Hotel Royal Central
#140 of 221 in Sunny Beach
70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grenada Hotel
Grenada Hotel
#174 of 221 in Sunny Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riva Hotel
Riva Hotel
#52 of 221 in Sunny Beach
75 reviews
7.3 mi away
Saint George Palace Hotel
Saint George Palace Hotel
#18 of 45 in Sveti Vlas
57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Liani
Hotel Liani
#61 of 221 in Sunny Beach
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Club Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $41 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Sunny Beach
Sunrise Club Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing