We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Actually All Inclusive or a Four Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Meridian Hotel
Ranked #59 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week. The first impressions on arrival are not good as you have to walk past an Erotic Club to get the entrance. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Rooms are a decent size although noisy up to around 2.00am as there is live music from two bars a short distance away. The beds are hard and we ended up with sore backs in the morning after few nights sleep.
The all inclusive is not what it should be. You can have alcoholic and soft drinks during the day from the poolside bar from 11.00am until 6.00pm. After 6.00pm all inclusive drinks can only be obtained from the restaurant which is on the 11th floor. There is no all inclusive lounge on the ground floor and you cannot take drinks out of the restaurant. So it is basically poolside drinks and then the restaurant until 11.00pm for all inclusive drinks. The food in the restaurant is plentiful but can be a bit repetitive with pork and chicken every night. There is always a shortage of cutlery, salt cellars, cups etc. at mealtimes. Poolside is fine with plenty of sun beds. The hotel location is fine as you are not far away from the centre of Sunny Beach but it is still a busy area. For travel to Nessabar the No.1 bus stop is a five minute walk away on the main road. The fare is 1 Lev for a 10 minute journey to the town. If you are looking for all inclusive this is not the hotel for you. I would pay a bit extra and go for a five star and probably closer to Nessabar.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors may possibly less noisy. We were on the 5th and it was still quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your effort to share with us your comment. It is always important to us to hear what guests think in order to improve and continue to develop our product.

Please note that Hotel Smartline Meridian is situated in busy area, this is the reason why there a lot of different kind of restaurants, bars and other places of enertainment.
The all inclusive that we offer is consistent with the international standarts and requirements. It is also agreed with all turoperators and agencies that we work with.

We would like to apologize for causing this inconvenience of your stay unpleasant. We hope to welcome you back next year and positively surprise you and live up to your expectations.
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 660 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

i returned from the meridian on the 23rd of september and after been there for 2 days a maid had been in my room and took over 400 levs out of my sisters bag and the hotel manager did nothing about it,the food was always terrible hardleys hot,staff in the hotel never spoke to us throughout our whole stay the only friendly person in the hotel was the animator he was the only one who tried to talk to us and bother with us i wont be going back to the meridian but i shall be going back to sunny beach

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we apologize to your disappointment.

Please note that for us the security in the hotel is very important, this is the reason why by this year we have police security beside the usual one in the hotel.
However, it is written on the reception and in every room that we do not take responsibility for your personal belongings in the room and that there is safes next to the reception, where you can put them.
Unfortunately, when something is stolen outside the hotel or it is lost, the tourists always blame the housekeepers, nevertheless that usually there is no proof against them. I can assure that our housekeepers work in the hotel for long time ago and they have proved their loyalty to our guests and do not steel.

We would like to ensure you that throughout every meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) at the restaurant the quality of the food is strictly monitored. The restaurant menu is carefully composed by taking into account the international standards and requirements for four starts hotel. The breakfast includes every basic thing that people ate during morning like different type of eggs, meat, cornflakes, bread etc. The lunches and dinners include again different types of vegetables, fish, meat, salads etc. prepared by different kind of receipts, consistent by fourteen days menu agreed by the touroperators.

We would like to apologize again for causing this inconvenience of your stay unpleasant. We hope to welcome you back next year and positively surprise you and live up to your expectations.
Regards!

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We will be going back to meridian for sure the food is lovely always something to choose here to eat. Breakfast there was a good choice all kinds of eggs done fresh all the time large choice of breakfast, the only negative we have is they were always running out of cutlery and cups for coffee/tea, this was irritating at times plus only 1 toaster which was very slow indeed. As for lunch and tea again a wide choice always plenty meat on if any one leaves hungry its there own fault because lots to choose from, the chefs are good and the cake is so beautiful iv`e never had sponge so light and gorgeous.If I had to say negatives it would be the all inclusive bar is on the 11th floor and you have to use this after 6 pm, which is backwards when the entertainment is by the pool on bottom floor which is bonkers. The other thing which drove us mad was the lifts breaking down and takes ages. But we would return even after the negatives, as for the rooms we couldn't fault them lovely and clean towels changed every day beds made rooms cleaned daily, the cleaners were wonderful and every one should leave a tip for cleaners we thought. If I could say I wish there was at least some English entertainment at the hotel and other guests were saying the same thing so we all went out else where for this.

Room Tip: best to get top floor so your by the resraurant and don't have to wait for lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your effort to share with us your comment. It is always important to us to hear what guests think in order to improve and continue to develop our product.

We would like to note that there is an all inclusive bar on the ground floor restaurant which is also near to the pool. As for the lifts, we already know that there is a problem and we assure that we will do our best to fixt them.

We hope to welcome you back next year!

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

just returned from meridian hotel in sunny beach room and bathroom nice and clean reception staff spoke english fairly well but this is where it turns horrible restaurant on 11th floor only two lifts almost impossible to get a lift at peak times no cutlery, cups, glasses available until previous ones had been washed staff spoke no english food cold such a shame because sunny beach has some nice restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your effort to share with us your comment. It is always important to us to hear what guests think in order to improve and continue to develop our product.

We would like to apologize for causing inconvenience of your stay unpleasant. We hope to welcome you back next year and positively surprise you and live up to your expectations.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just returned from weeks holiday in Meridian Hotel - found the hotel ok - food good range of choice - only negative chips are always cold!!!!! But plenty of meats etc.. Desserts - usual cakey things!!!! Breakfast choices really good. Room was clean, towels changed every day - plenty of space in our room. We were a little apprehensive when we arrived - not used to loud bars in such close proximity and definitely not the Exotic Bar right outside the Hotel - and directly under our balcony. However our fears were unfounded - double glazing on windows worked! Pool area very cramped - but plenty of sunbeds - although you were in very close proximity to the person on the next bed!!! Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. MAIN TWO NEGATIVES - LIFTS BROKE DOWN DAILY!!!!! AND NO DIET COKE!!!!!!! Found Sunny Beach a lively resort - but everything within easy reach, all amenities open until 11p.m. and some open 24/7. Don't believe all the negative reports - go and sample for yourselves....... ONE MUST - GO TO KHANS TENT - GREAT NIGHT - book at Excursion Shop round the corner - much cheaper than Holiday Company.

Room Tip: Superior rooms very roomy. High floors with side seaview give good view of sea and resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank witcheytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your effort to share with us your review. We are always happy to hear nice and positive comments for our work.

We would like to inform that we are taking measures to solve the problem with the lifts for the next summer.

We hope to welcome you back next summer.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After reading the reviews on here and people saying horrible things about this hotel & area I say take no notice it was the first time we had been to Sunny Beach Bulgaria & we will go back and to the Meridian,its location is great for the beach & shops,resturants and the nightlife(known as The Strip) which my 21yr old daughter loved!!!! Just outside the hotels are a number of bars and resturants which was great !!! I would say to all those that have put a negative review is get a life your on holiday not havin a week or 2 to moan about anything & everything and if you want 5 star pay the price for 5 star but then they would probably moan at something!!!!! Fab time we had and look forward to returning :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susie123R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your effort to share with us your opinion. We are always happy to hear nice and positive comments for our work.

We cannot wait to see you again!.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant stay at this hotel, food delicious only ask would be more flavoured yoghurt for the children. Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels, lifts, though the occasional wait, nothing too bad. Round the pool though a little cramped is tendered too well by a really pleasant man. The animation staff are fantastic with the kids, only ask there would be a bigger playground. Overall our stay was good and almost all staff we had dealings with were nothing but courteous. I would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 712tracys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for your effort to share with us your review. We are always happy to hear nice and positive comments for our work.

We hope to welcome you back next summer.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apart Hotel Excelsior
Apart Hotel Excelsior
#70 of 222 in Sunny Beach
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Regatta Palace
Hotel Regatta Palace
#157 of 222 in Sunny Beach
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kuban
Kuban
#127 of 222 in Sunny Beach
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#152 of 222 in Sunny Beach
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mena Palace
Hotel Mena Palace
#43 of 222 in Sunny Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Meridian Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $45 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Meridian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Meridian is a nice and modernly designed hotel located a stone's throw from the long fine sandy Sunny Beach. The hotel is perfect for those who want to stay close to the beach but not want miss out on the nightlife. If you want an extra convenient holiday, you can add All Inclusive to your booking. smartline Meridian feature a pool area with a pool bar, and the hotel's main restaurant offers breath-taking views of Sunny Beach. Lively nightlife and numerous restaurants and shops is awaiting around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your smartline Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Hotel Sunny Beach
Smartline Meridian Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing