We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Meridian Hotel
Ranked #70 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Wicklewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unhelpful reception staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel was ok, food good. Unfortunately on the last but one day a bracelet was stolen out of our room. It was in the drawer of the bed side cabinet, so not on show and other jewellery in the drawer left. The room was locked the conclusion being it had to be one of the cleaners. The staff at reception were very unhelpful & just told me to go to police. This ruined my holiday.

Room Tip: take your own portable safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeb7671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we apologize to your disappointment.
Please note that for us the security in the hotel is very important, this is the reason why by this year we have police security beside the usual one in the hotel. The reception staff told you to go to the police because they could help you more.
However, it is written on the reception and in every room that we do not take responsibility for your personal belongings in the room and that there is safes next to the reception, where you can put them.
Unfortunately, when something is stolen outside the hotel or it is lost, the tourists always blame the housekeepers. But I can assure that our housekeepers work in the hotel for long time ago and they have proved that are loyal to our guests and do not steel.

We would like to apologize again to you. We hope to see you again in hotel Smartline Meridian where you will be always welcome.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    198
    130
    70
    86
See reviews for
153
247
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here from 27th of may till 7th of june on all inclusive, check in was fine and the room very good compared to other hotels we have stayed at in sunny beach.The barstaff were very friendly did not wait long to get served but it would have been nice to have a comfortable lounge area to sit and relax in the evening.This was our main problem with the hotel.Food was excellent the first week but seemed to deteriate as the second week went on although still a fair choice.All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stupotNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy that you are glad from our rooms and food.
It is very important for us to hear what guests thing in order to improve and develop our product.
We will take in to consideration your suggestion about a comfortable lounge area to sit and relax in the evening for the next year but for now we suggest our guests to relax on the top floor restaurant's terrace enjoying the amazing panoramic view.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was a lovely hotel!!! The pool was amazing and clean! the rooms were nice and clean too and they often put the towels in a butterfly shape which was lovely to come back to! The food was very good for a buffet wide selection.The only way it could be better is if they offered water at dinner as you have to pay for drinks at the bar at dinner time if your not all inclusive.

I dont know were everyone's getting this information about sunbeds we were half board and used the sunbeds by the pool for free no problem. The people who are employed round the pool for entertainment are very friendly and add a nice touch to the atmosphere around the hotel.

The Thomas Cook rep was less then helpful, but that inst the hotels flat and didn't wreck our holiday.

All in all a fantastic holiday! and a lovely hotel in a lovely area!!! I defiantly want to come back to sunny beach!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovecazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us!
We are glad that you spent great time in our hotel and we hope we will see you soon again.
You are always welcome!

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel all inclusive from 17th May - 1st June 2013 and we've only got one complaint but that's only about the entertainment.

The room we had was massive! So spacious! It was cleaned everyday and we even got towel decorations too which was a nice thing to come back to our room too. Beds were comfy was well. The shower was small but you know how in some countries the shower is not even powerful or goes cold after 5 minutes? Not a problem here. You can control the power of it and it can get very powerful and also stayed hot the whole time.

The food, again no complaints. There was something for us to eat for every meal. Sure some of it didn't look very appetising but it tasted lovely. We went on a few excursions and 90% of the people there complained about the food in their hotel, we didn't have that problem.

The pool was a nice size, the first week we were there it wasn't very busy but the 2nd week was a noticeable difference, I'd suggest going down early and saving a sunbed. Also other reviews saying there isn't a pool bar, there is and it was open even when it rained for 2 days. You can just enter it from inside the hotel as well.

Location was good. 15minute walk from main strip. Come out of the hotel and walk down the little road, turn left and keep on that road and you'll hit it. Easy. Also getting a bus to nessebar which only costs 1 lev. Turn left out of the hotel heading towards the main road and on the other side you'll see a bus stop, you just catch it from there and it's every 15 minutes.

Excursions. Definitely recommend the jeep safari! Such a fun trip! And the meal you get at the end? Absolutely delicious. Worth your money. Where to book your excursions - when you come out of the hotel and walk down the road, carry on walking past the restaurants straight across and at the very end on your right is 'the house'. Opposite that on the other side of the road is the cheapest excursion place we found.

WARNING!
Cherrypickers! There are loads, especially along the beach promenade! If they come towards you then move your hands up, they will try and place a cherry in your hand whether you want it or not and charge stupid amounts! We had a bad experience walking along the road where the club Lazur was. There wasn't anyone else around. This guy came across with cherries and tried to give them to us, we moved our hands upwards and carried on walking. He dropped one and called out saying that we'd knocked it out of his hand. Then these 2 other big guys came over and one was like "we got problem? I call my boss." First of all we claimed we didn't have any money on us then realised my boyfriend had his phone and camera on him so we didn't want to risk them being stolen. We said 5lev and the original guy said "yes, for 1". We said in shock "For 1?!" and a different guy said "No, for bag". So I took 5 lev out of my pocket, the original guy say another 5 and started saying "10 lev!" and we said "no, 5". Took the bag of cherries and swiftly moved away.

That was our only bad experience in Sunny Beach so just beware of them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice comment. We are very happy that you felt well and comfortable.
It would be wonderful to see you again soon in our hotel!

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel itself is quite nice. Big rooms, clean, nice bar etc etc. The problem with this hotel is the people who work there and also some of the guests themselves. I had my iphone stolen out of my room, a day after we had straighteners and perfume stolen. This was within an hour of going to the pool area. No opportunist thief, as the phone was hidden and they had walked past other phones lying around on the dressing table to root out my phone. The rooms had been made up in this hour - i.e. the cleaning staff were almost certainly to blame. Not only had we had things stolen over a period of two days, when the hotel reception were informed of this, NOT one word of an apology was spoken, and they even blamed our roommates for stealing from each other. They said they DID NOT BELIEVE US. What hotel in the world would say this? Extremely unhelpful and honestly disgraceful behaviour.
This would be enough to ruin anyones impression of a hotel - yet nevertheless, thefts and robberies can occur anywhere in the world, so this is not the only reason for this review. Our keycards into our room broke at least once a day, which meant continued trips to reception to rectify the problem. One our of group had a kitchen door slammed into her foot which cut her toe and made it bleed profusely - to which the hotel staff member looked and walked off, without one word of an apology. Pretty disgraceful to be honest.
If you come to this hotel, make sure you prepare yourself for the extent of the rudeness you will encounter from the hotel staff and other guests. Queuing does NOT exist at this hotel - Be prepared to be shoved and pushed to get ahead of you at the bar and at meal times. It was honestly like feeding time at the Zoo.
Overall then this is a nice, clean, big hotel with okay food. Take out the staff and groups of guests, replace them with human beings with human emotions and you'll have a decent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cashunter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing hotel Smartline Meridian and for sharing your opinion with us.
We would like to apologize for causing this inconvenience and for making your stay unpleasant.

We have taken into serious consideration your complaint about the stolen iphone from your room.
The security in the hotel is our primary aim and this is the reason why by this year we have not only the usual hotel security but we have a contract with police security as well.
However, as you probably saw on the reception and in your room, we do not take responsibility for your belongings in your room, therefore we provide safes next to the reception.
I can assure you that in your particular case we did our best to find your iphone. The policeman has spoken with the housekeeper of your room and has checked her personal belongings. She proved that she has not stolen the telephone or something else. Please note that we work for many years with our housekeepers and I assure you that they are loyal to our guests and do not steel.

We would like to apologize again and we hope to welcome you back next year and surprise you positively.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and his son. This is our third time in Sunny Beach and stayed at Laguna Park, which was better. Small selection of food, but always found something to eat and we have a very fussy child. Animation team did try to get kid's involved, but the weather wasn't too good every day so this affected what they could do. Didn't go to kids club so can't comment on this. The hotel is very tall so no good if you have a problem with heights. The restaurant is on the top floor with great views over Sunny Beach. No towels are given for the pool so make sure you take your own. We had to go out and buy these. The reception tied to charge us 20L for our room key which had a crack in it. I only had 10L so gave them that! If I could get this hotel for a good price, thedn I would go back. If you like the beach, you will need to walk to it. We like walking so no problem for us. Pool bar wasn't open when we were there as must have been beginning of season and also the bar on the ground floor isn't all inclusive so have to stay on top floor for all inclusive drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherry201077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us :) You are always welcome in our hotel :)

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

an awful experience,ate 3 times at hotel was ill all 3 times!
staff were so rude, not helpful at all unless you were paying a bill, basically its rubbish inclusive means inclusive not half inclusive.
rooms stunk at carpets filthy.
toilets stunk actually went and brought toilet cleaner, really disapointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoriya K, Manager at smartline Meridian Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your comment. The Meridian team regrets that you didn't feel well enough.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Imperial Resort
Imperial Resort
#60 of 220 in Sunny Beach
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nobel Hotel
Nobel Hotel
#53 of 220 in Sunny Beach
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#28 of 220 in Sunny Beach
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mena Palace
Hotel Mena Palace
#37 of 220 in Sunny Beach
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#22 of 220 in Sunny Beach
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Viand
Hotel Viand
#109 of 220 in Sunny Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Meridian Hotel

Property: smartline Meridian Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Meridian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your smartline Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Hotel Sunny Beach
Smartline Meridian Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing