We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good place”
Review of Hotel Kalofer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kalofer
Ranked #38 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good place”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We enjoyed our rest in this hotel. Hotel is located in 5 min.from the center of SUnny beach, 10 min from sea.
Nice place, nice hotel, very friendly and helpful stuff. Thanks a lot to reception boys & girls, if u ask the smth they help you.
Rooms are big, nice view from the room to the western part of sunny beach and mountains.
Very good coffee on breakfast and good meal.
I advise this hotel, have a good rest!

p/s about Wi-fi, it works in the hall, fast connection , and there is wire connection in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anait88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
30
28
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my mam and her partner last year and it was a fabulous holiday. First time in Bulgaria and everyone was friendly, in the hotel and when out and about in Sunny Beach.
The room was clean and tidy and was cleaned everyday, I think everyone was annoyed at the fact they didn't know they had to pay 50 lev (£25) deposit on arrival, however, you do get this back when you departure. People were also annoyed at the fact that they sometimes didn't get this back. Why? Maybe it was because they ruined some of the property? But would you like someone to trash your property or home? No, well there's your answer. Treat this hotel like you would want someone to treat your home, then you won't have any problem paying the deposit.
The location was fantastic, only about 10 minutes walk from the main stretch of bars and restaurantes etc, therefore, situated close enough to walk to but far away for you to sleep on a night time if you don't like being kept awake with the noise.
The best thing about this holiday is that it was suitable for everyone, the food was amazing, couldn't complain and everyone was really friendly.
I came bed and breakfast therefore, my advice is it is like any other hotel, if you want hot food, you go at the start of breakfast rather than leave it to the end of breakfast where there is no fresh food. Common Sense! And as there is a huge variety of restaurants and bars for all kinds of different people, i don't understand why people need to stay in their hotel for the duration of their holiday, as there is a lot of sight seeing to do.

I am coming back to sunny beach in the summer, with my boyfriend, staying at the sister hotel, diamond. and have read those reviews, I find it funny how one review says it was absolutely amazing and the next say it's the worst holiday ever, talk about exaggeration!

Room Tip: Don't take any notice of the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gem91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

we enjoyed each moment . Hotel Kalofer is realy good value for money. Comfortable rooms, good location. Youth and friendly atmosphere. there are sometimes language difficulties with part of the staff (but that is known problem for this region..) . We were very surpriced by the quality of the food (that is not our first time in Sunny beach , and as usually hotel meals are non eatable)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony274967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I've recently returned Home following a 12 day stay, on a B&B Basis, at the Hotel Kalofer in Sunny Beach. The Hotel is one of the, "Sunset Lively" and, "Escapades" Properties, but during my stay (because it was towards the end of the Season), the Hotel's Guests were mainly Couples and Groups of Families. The Hotel itself is in a great location - 10 minutes on foot to the Resort Centre of Sunny Beach, and 5 minutes on foot to The Beach and Promenade. The Rooms, although basic, were comfortable and clean, and Maid Service was daily. Breakfast consisted of a combination of English and Conmtinental, "type" Foods, of which there was always plenty, and which was always well cooked. The Pool Area was always clean (although in high Season, I guess that it could get pretty crowded and somewhat rowdy), but the water in the Pool itself was filthy and in desperate need of a clean. It was difficult to guage the personalities of The Reception Staff from day to day - one day they could be really friendly and helpful, but the next, could appear really, "cold", moody, and gave the impression that they couldn't be bothered with you. The Language barrier was also an issue with some of The Staff on Reception - more than once I made an enquiry, only to be told, "I no understand - you come back and see Colleague later" (NOT the sort of response I was looking for - thank goodness the enquiry wasn't of an urgent nature). The Pool Bar had long been left derelict, but The Restaurant Bar (located by The Pool Area) was always well stocked, reasonably priced, and staffed by friendly Staff who spoke GOOD English. However my experience of the Hotel was somewhat soured by the discovery that certain Hotel Employees were seeking extra cash for services which (I presumed) were already included in the Holiday Price, namely, (a) Informing Guests on arrival that they had to pay an extra 50 Lev, up front for, "Insurance". (b) Charging Guests if any of the supplied Linen/Towels became, "marked". (c) Failing to issue Receipts upon Guests purchasing Safety Deposit Boxes, and then claiming that they could only issue a Receipt if Guests paid the full amount again. These underhand scams together with the attitude of certain Hotel Employees soured what was otherwise a very enjoyable and relaxing Holiday. Although I would certainly go back to Sunny Beach, I would NEVER stay at the Hotel Kalofer again, and I recommend that future potential Guests, as the title suggests, "Give this Hotel a VERY wide berth".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Regancarterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

myself and other family members went to bulgaria sept 17 for 2 weeks we were not told about the 50 lev deposit there was one friendly staff member and the rest were completley ignorant. the hotel was clean but did not like the breakfast as in most cases it was freezing and the fruit was at least 3 weeks old . overall sunny beach is suitable for young people with no children and i wont be going back or reccomending that anyone with kids goes there. we were also not told by thomas cook that the resort starts to shut down at the time we went this also accounted for the lack of things to do.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPEILIDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This hotel was very clean and the bbq was nice, we was not told about the 50 leva or £25 each deposit. The first week we arrived it was very quiet then by the 2nd people arriving by bus loads daily and became quickly busy.

We was told by Thomas cook that we would have a view of the sea when we arrived it was just a view of the small pool, the pool was too small and the staff were not very friendly.

Even though this hotel is for 18 to 30s the horrid sound of Bulgarian house music blurted through the hotel and was a bit much from 10 till 8 daily speciall our room as it was right next to the bar..

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisabb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Me and 9 other friends stayed at this hotel in June and did not really enjoy this experience. We are not really a fussy bunch but dont like being ripped off. On arrival we were charged a 50 leva deposit (£25) which we were not informed about. A girl who was staying with us got some hair dye on her sheet and they tried to charge her 65 lev for this, so she took the sheet to the dry cleaners and got it dry cleaned for 6 lev, then on the final day the cleaners brought the sheet to the reception to try and find the stain and could not find it, so DRAGGED it out to the sun and found a small mark, they then refused to give her back her full deposit and charged her a further 35 leve!!! We were also told it would be an 18-30s place but it is DEFINATELY not! so many oldies there! The air conditioning and fridge first appeared to be not workin, but after a few days we realised we had to flick the switch on the fuse box and have the balcony door closed for the air con to work and the fridge just needs to be turned up from zero! lol. It is very clean, the staff are not very friendly and do not speak much English but seem trustworthy. Hotel wasn't the best but holiday was amazing, Sunny Beach is a great place for all types of people, and if your looking for a young peoples hotel I would highly recommend the hotel Diamond, were other friends of ours stayed, where we spent alot of our time, with a good atmosphere and a 24hr bar! Despite some bad reviews from the hotel, all in all was a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scraic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klisura
Hotel Klisura
#53 of 220 in Sunny Beach
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#18 of 220 in Sunny Beach
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karlovo Hotel
Karlovo Hotel
#108 of 220 in Sunny Beach
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#68 of 220 in Sunny Beach
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#35 of 220 in Sunny Beach
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Step
Hotel Step
#20 of 220 in Sunny Beach
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalofer

Property: Hotel Kalofer
Address: | Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kalofer 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kalofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalofer Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Kalofer Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing