We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, deserves a 2 - star rating, it almost ruined my holiday!”
Review of MPM Kalina Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MPM Kalina Garden
Ranked #20 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Szczecin, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, deserves a 2 - star rating, it almost ruined my holiday!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is quite big, 6 floors – but only one elevator works! My friend and me got a room on the first floor, above the reception. When we were using the shower the pipes were leaking and flooding the reception, so they asked us not to use the shower! We waited 2 days for a change of rooms and had to constantly remind the receptionist about it, he didn’t care! After a few days we had a problem with hotel towels, the cleaning lady took them and didn’t leave any new. At the reception they said we lost them and they made us pay 40 euro for them or they wouldn’t give our passports back! Seems impossible? It’s just the start! The sheets and pillow cases are dirty, the doors leading to the room wouldn’t close without a huge bang (which was making the neighbors angry) and the bathroom handle was constantly falling off. When you go to the reception to complain they don’t really care, hardly anyone speaks English! When you want to see the manager they bring you someone looking like a cleaning lady who is absolutely incompetent and speaks only Russian. The only advantage of the hotel is it’s location – in the strict centre of the town. But if you plan a family holiday – it gets very loud in the evening. The food is dreadful, every day the same, the meat is undercooked – it gives you stomach trouble. We had all inclusive – and regretted it dreadfully. Outside the hotel food is good and rather cheap, and after 3 days we just couldn’t stand the hotel food. The same goes for the alcohol. It’s not original, it’s being poured to the original bottles of Savoy but you don’t really know what it is and it tastes horrible. The staff is rude and incompetent, only the bartenders were nice, probably because we are girls.
So if you really want to have a good holiday, do yourself a favor and choose another hotel! I’ve been to Bulgaria 4 times already and didn’t have any problems in other hotels, Sunny Beach is really wonderful so don’t get put off by my opinion – it’s only about the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Katarzyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    39
    18
    18
See reviews for
89
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Shame because this has potential to be a nice hotel. Great location, pleasant clean rooms and pool area. Thats it though, bathrooms all leak (we had 4 different rooms) and badly need regrouting (black!). Food is awful, cold, sloppy, same every day and night. Maximum two choices at any sitting. Dining room like school canteen, no staff only person clearing plates on a trolley. Only ever the one bar open with usually one person serving, occassionally two. Choice of about 5 drinks on all inclusive. No atmosphere at all. Big sign in reception offering late rooms, asked told 'no' (literally just that no explanation), asked for courtesy room, told 'no'. We therefore had to check out at 12pm and were told no where to put luggage as all storage space full. Therefore no room and no luggage store until we departed at 2 am (14 hours later!!!).
5th time to Sunny beach in 4 star and wouldnot reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ninab4892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

got moved here from the wela because it was over booked but This hotel was horrifying!!! not one good thing i could say about this hotel!! i dont know how anyone could ever say this hotel is a 4 star!! i would NOT advise anyone to ever stay at this hotel!!
There was definately NOT enough sunbeds around the pool,i had to get up at 7am to get a sunbed.
the food was standard,very repetive and VERY cold!
The bar kept running out of vodka,wine and coke and it closed at 11pm.
Alot of drunk young germen men coming home at 5am in the morning,running up and down the corridors, banging and shouting.
downstairs they were mopping the floors with dirty mops at 9pm when it was busy and slippy, with no wet floor signs!We were lucky to have the cleaner empty the bin and the ash tray!! she did do the towels and that was about it !
Well we also got robbed while we were stayin at the hotel!! One day we double locked the door and went out for the day to the beach,when we returned back to our room the door was unlocked and our case had been cut open and £350 had been stolen!! it wasnt a forced entry either so somebody had a key !! The hotel mangeress didnt care and did nothing about it!
The receptionists had an additude that stinks and didnt really care about any problems or complaints.
Definately the worst holiday i have ever had, prefered turkey alot better!
To much crime and noise around in this area aswell.
DO NOT stay in this hotel unless your a young germen person, that doesnt mind noise and doesnt mind taking the risk of a robbery!
RUBBISH!! NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: very noisy at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holly_mae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detmold, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Room was not too bad. Locations was very good. Food was awful,same dishes most meals, the rice and pasta horrible boiled beyond belief, dining area very badly laid out.
Felt unsafe at night in my room. Groups of men on the landing most nights, going from room to room having parties in the rooms till 0.5.00/0.6.00 every night, this was happening just above the reception area and no came up to tell them to be quiet. Quests lit fire works from the balcony at nigt, people jumping into the pool at 0.2.00. Everyone and anyone coming into the hotel without any restrictions, this made me feel very uncomfortable, just no respect for other quests.
Lifts never worked half the time. Our room locks got changed three times in just 4 days, we got told for security, but then found out it was due to another quest stealing from the rooms in the hotel.
One of the hotel owners stayed in the hotel during our stay, he or his wife/ friends did not eat the food off the hotplate, the same food he thought was acceptable for his quests, that just speaks for its self. He also pushed his way to the front of the queue klicking his fingers at members of staff, this not only shows lack of respect to his staff but to all the quests in his hotel too.
We asked the rep to move us or get us home. Not a hotel for children.
I do feel sorry for the hard working staff that no one seems to care about. Bar staff and the dining hall manager very nice and helpful.
Just glad we got moved to another hotel. Bulgaria is a beautiful country with nice food and helpful people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank una m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have been to Sunny Beach in 2007, so I was really suprised how does it look like there now...Its really not suitable for family vacation. In the evening crowds move from one bar to another, it starts at 20:00 and ends around 5:00 AM...Sunny beach is paradise for young guys from Denmark, Germany...cheap alcohol, erotic bars everywhere, go-go dancers dancing on the bar just next to a children carousel.. Hotel Kalina Garden is located really in the centre, so maybe somewhere far away is it better...
About hotel - for the price which we have payed we could not expect something special....repeated food, but very good cakes and water melon to every dinner. Rooms are big enough, air conditioning works properly. During our stay the hotel was robbed 2times! I recommend to use the hotel safe.

Room Tip: Rooms ends .01 (301, 401...) are noisy. They are located close to elevators, so everybody has to pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hotel Kalina Garden is'nt place worth visit. This is big building six floors with often not running lifts, rather old.
Hotel is without any security so drunk outsiders especially noisy at the night! at the corridors.. knocking all nigth long to next door.....You cannot feel safe there.
From the other side you can't take away (one!) an apple from restaurant after your meal because of restaurant security! shocking..
Food is at the basic level, they have good white bulgarian cheese and bulgarian yogurt ( specialty of this region), not much more.
Staff is impolite and not useful.
There aren't any animation neither for adults nor for children.
Swimming pools are almost on the street not privacy.
In the neighborhood there are hotels and pubs with very loud music umpa-umpa ( contest which music is louder??) and they run with their music almost 24h per day.
A lot of stalls around hotels, along streets, everywhere with trashy china goods.
It is very difficult to find something made in Bulgaria.
They don't know nothing about their monuments, ancients, places worths visit..
I can't also recommend you their seaside - full of trashes, plastic deck chairs plastic umbrellas, no place even for walking along coast.
It is very sad place for holidays.

Room Tip: The 5th floor with windows at the side of town( not swimming-pool) is rather calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucynkaKielce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kladno, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

+ food at a good level
+ clean rooms
+ plenty of sunbeds at the pool
- elevators were often broken
- exchange office robs
- drinks at the bar often limited
- some guys on the bar were unwilling

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
MPM Blue Pearl
MPM Blue Pearl
#36 of 220 in Sunny Beach
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#88 of 220 in Sunny Beach
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Imperial Resort
Imperial Resort
#53 of 220 in Sunny Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MPM Hotel Tarsis
MPM Hotel Tarsis
#179 of 220 in Sunny Beach
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Hotel Bor
Club Hotel Bor
#30 of 220 in Sunny Beach
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#40 of 220 in Sunny Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MPM Kalina Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPM Kalina Garden

Property: MPM Kalina Garden
Address: Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MPM Kalina Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star MPM Hotel KALINA GARDEN is situated in the heart of the biggest Black sea resort Sunny Beach, only 150 m. Away from the sandy beach and comprises of 320 spacious and stylishly decorated rooms. The Hotel offers open air parking lot against additional charge, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, video games, billiards, body and beauty treatments.Hotel MPM Kalina Garden operates All Inclusive Premium bases and features a Main restaurant, Snacks bar, lobby bar, outdoor swimming pool with integrated kids section, open-air fitness, mini-golf, kids play ground, entertainment and performance. Besides the meals the All Inclusive Premium package includes kids mini club, evening animation and show programs, daily sports animation schedule, thematic cuisine evenings, WiFi access in the whole property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MPM Kalina Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalina Garden Hotel Sunny Beach
Kalina Garden Sunny Beach
MPM Kalina Garden Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing