We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glarus Hotel”
Review of Hotel Glarus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Glarus
Ranked #150 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed November 7, 2013

See a lot of mixed reviews here. We stayed here in June 2012 and had such a good time we went back this year 2013 in September avoiding the high heat in peak season. The hotel is spotless and lived up the the excellent time we had the year before - always a bit of a worry when you go back. Yes there is some noise at night time as you are positioned right on the strip but the air con works fine so we just shut the double glazed doors/windows. We got a room at the back the second time but were moved after 48 hours to a room at the front. We only went half board so that we could get out and eat in the local restaurants of which there are many. The breakfast in the hotel was very good indeed. You can also pay to eat in on the odd evening should you wish to. There's a conservatory/sitting area on the top (7th I think) floor which has great views all around. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a Crown exchange in the foyer of the hotel where you can change your currency. We found that the conversion rate there was much better than back home so the second time we went we took sterling and changed it there. We were advised to only use Crown exchanges and saw an incident in Nessebar where a tourist had been ripped off using a different one (he wasn't a happy bunny and was demanding his money back!). There are security boxes that you can hire for the duration to store your money, passports and valuables. Pool is excellent although cold but as another reviewer said, they always are! The sea is very warm though. The hotel is right on the beach - literally 20 yards and plenty of places to eat and shop right outside. Our favourite bar to eat in was almost opposite and called Hawaii - excellent staff and food.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the rear it would be worth getting on further up as those on the second floor a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glarus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

we arrived at Glarus at 3am and the lady behind reception was very friendly and there was 2 "porters" which looked very mussel bound more like bouncers maybe? All very friendly though and they helped us with our luggage (me and my husband and our 3 year old who was asleep) the room slept 2-4people and had views across the beach (and hte strip) which was very nice.

Our son slept in the sofa bed which if he was any bigger we wouldn't have got him to sleep as the mattress was so thin and there was a hump in the middle that even if you sat on it, would not go down! this is opened at the balcony door so you have to get out through a very small opening in the door not ideal also when out on the balcony the partition between each room is glass so you can see everyone.

A room with a view is nice as other comments say the beach view means that you are on the strip so if you want the view there will be noise so if you are a light sleeper get a room that is odd numbers as even rooms are the ones looking onto the strip / beach.

Pool area is amazing to look at, kids pool is very small has a little bendy slide but be careful the tiles around the kids pool are very slippy dangerously slipy I slipped our son sliped and other kids as well not safe!! People are saying the the pool water is cold...would they preferred it heated? Never been to any hotel pool any where in the world and the pool water was warmed.

beside the hotel is a 24 hour super market which is handy.

Room Tip: odd number rooms look at back of hotel not great view but quieter even numbered rooms face front vie...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jo-monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and i booked this hotel as we was told by our travel agent that it has a children's club and separate kids swimming pool and as we was traveling with our 1 year old, we wanted to accommodate her as well.
Firstly when we arrived, we was told that we had to pay an extra charge of 84 Lev's (£42) to hire a cot!! I specifically asked the travel agents if the hotel had cots which they told me they do, but they didn't tell me i had to pay extra!!
When we asked about the times for the children's club we was told it was closed already!! Considering the children's club wasn't even supervised we was very shocked that it was closed and the room was filled with spare TV's!
The kids swimming pool was so deep that even if my daughter could brave the freezing temperature of the water (which she couldn't) wouldn't be able to stand in the pool without the water coming to her neck!!
All the above was such a shame because every other aspects of the hotel was great. Rooms were lovely and cleaned daily with towel changes nearly every day. The cleaners loved my little girl and would make her laugh a lot and was very considerate when she was taking her naps.
We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast the first week was lovely with all you could ask for, even veggies such as carrots and broccoli!! lol The second week wasn't so good as they were "slowing down" but still plenty.
The position of the hotel couldn't be better being nearly in the middle of the 5 mile strip of Sunny Beach. Unfortunately you cant get the best of both worlds though. You can either have a sea view room at the front of the hotel which is spectacular...but very noisy all night or you can have a room at the back of the hotel with not much of a view but is very quiet.
The only other thing i would add is that the prices at the bar change depending who serves you!
Overall, a good hotel, but not for kids.

Room Tip: The position of the hotel couldn't be better being nearly in the middle of the 5 mile strip of S...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The glarus is set right in the middle of strip. If your at the front of the hotel you are in for noisey nights, the back has the quietness but not the view. The pool is very cold. Overall cleaniness is very good and the breakfast is good. Sunny beach is not a english resort, english are very far and few between. Lots of germans. The bulgarians do not speak good english but we dont mind its half the fun.
Its not very good for familys its a very adult orietated resort. Alcohol is cheap and food. We did get the feeling we were always trying to get ripped off by the locals. You do need your wits about you. For example if you were suspose to get a free beer with your meal and you dident, they wud say thats only on a tues and fri.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gav29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is very clean to a high standard. Location is great, close to shops. bars. beaches and entertainment.
Tea and Coffee served for breakfast in the hotel is not so good.
There are not many British tourists in Sunny Beach. Mostly Russians and Germans.
All in all I enjoyed my stay in Sunny Beach at the Glarus Hotel.
Plenty of food, drink and shops around. Lots of bargains in designer hand bags to be had.
But beware I had a new swimsuit ( brand spanking new still in packet and uworn) taken from my room! I reported to reception and yeah they were arrogant and some of the staff could not care less.!!!
Bulgarian ladies on Sunny Beach and at Nessebar are a nuisance and rude that sell cheap ankle bracelets and necklaces,.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd stay at the Glarus and again we were impressed. The hotel is kept immaculate and we have always found the staff to be very friendly we always said hello when passing them and they always replied with a smile. There were always plenty of sun beds without having to get up at silly times. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends if going to sunny beach. We are already looking to book next year,

Room Tip: If you email the hotel direct and ask for a sea view they will try to accommodate you, we have never...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

book this hotel on what alot of reviews have said the hotel is clean and bight in a good location but the room we got that was suppose to sleep 3 adults and 1 child was no bigger than 5 metres by 5 metres u could not walk inbetween the beds u had to move the bed with your foot to open the balconey door we ask reception and they said its what we booked having look at photos on trip none of the rooms looked nothing like ours they were all bigger therefore i think they over booked and puts in a 2 adults room they were not bothered at all even rep did nt do a lot ask a question to reception and said thats the room even thow we showed her the room she said she could try elsewhere and found 2 rooms at the poliysi only 2 star but to be fair a very nice hotel but it cost us 630 quid extra so all in all this holiday started at a 3star hotel b&b at over 2 k and ended 2 star self catering at an extra cost of 630 quid i thought bulgria was suppose to be value for money .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinadamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sea Breeze
Hotel Sea Breeze
#89 of 221 in Sunny Beach
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
#15 of 221 in Sunny Beach
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#74 of 221 in Sunny Beach
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#32 of 221 in Sunny Beach
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#184 of 221 in Sunny Beach
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Beach Hotel
Fiesta Beach Hotel
#198 of 221 in Sunny Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glarus

Address: Golden Sands Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $29 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glarus 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Glarus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glarus Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Glarus Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing