We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice 2 stars hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Europa Hotel
Ranked #129 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Volda, More og Romsdal, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice 2 stars hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went there in June 2012 With two friends. Didn`t expect much, but it was much better than I thought. The room was ok, clean and had everything we needed. We just had breakfast at the hotel, and it was good. The pool is big and Nice, and they even had an animator, a bad one though, but didn`t expect one at all. The animator was really sweet, but she did all morning- and aquagym all wrong, and wasn`t good in playing volleyball at all. Darts and boules were ok. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right at the beach and close to everything. At night it`s nice to go minigolfing at one of the many courts near by. Wouldn`t go here with kids, because it`s a lot of partying going on and drunk people in the streets from 8- 9 p.m, and also noice in the hotelrooms from all the nightclubs. All in all this is a cheap and nice place, and a good alternative for those on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived at 1am on the day after we were due and were told that our rooms would not be available for another two hours. No snacks or drinks were available although we were "all inclusive". The reception staff told us to go into the town and buy our own!
The olympic sized pool was constantly occupied by children on a swimming training course and half of the pool was sectioned off for this purpose. The whole of the hotel was overun by teenagers and in the evening the reception area and pool bar were full of kids who should not have been drinking, but were.
The meals in the restaurant were adequate but very repetative. Occasionally the name of the dish was changed but in essence, the food was exactly the same every day. The in-between snacks were derisory and again, identical every day and nothing was available after 9pm. The pool bar was good but the lobby bar was a laugh! It was supposed to open from 11am to 11pm (although the hotel advertises "bars open 24 hours") but rarely opened before midday. There were never enough glasses or coffee mugs and a very poor selection of drinks. Non local drinks were non-existant.
There was no evening entertainment so we had to go out and pay for our drinks and entertainment so therefore, "all inclusive" was a total waste of time and money.

Room Tip: Choose a room on floors 2 to 4. Otherwise you are subject to the terrible lift service which only c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DavyJay31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Sofia, BG
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent a week there during my summer vacation and here is my assessment of the hotel.
Large room, almost new furnishing, old tv set and fridge, no mini bar. Small bathroom but obviously newly renovated. Towels have been changed every day, and linen on the 4 day;
Large olympic pool that is being cleaned every day, enough chairs and parasols are provided free of charge for the hotel guests;
The 3 elevetors are not that old but need to be tuned up in order to function properly;
Stairs are very strange - almost useless as you have to pass every floor to get to the next level
Avoid family rooms unless you are with your own family - there are plastic connecting doors that are very thin like curtain and everything could be heard from the next room.
The breakfast was poor and the products were of low quality.
Strong signal of the wi-fi but you need to pay extra for it, e.g. 20 euro for a week. Buffet dinner costs 6 euro, all inclusive fee - 12 euro.
Taking into consideration the facilities and the location, the hotel could be rated as 4 star property but only under new qualified management and after improving the quality of the staff (more smiles and courtesy) and the services provided (the trolley of the room service has been left all night long near the door of the room that ordered it, and the rest of the food smelled over the floor).
I made lot of pictures of the hotel to post here as almost nobody did it before.

Room Tip: Avoid the family rooms - the connecting doors are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nedko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is not in any way pretty or cosy - but it gets the job done and it is in a perfect location right at the beach. Every room has a seaview at no extra cost, we stayed at the 8.floor and also had a great view over sunny beach.
We were 3 people in a double room and had enough space to move around even with the third bed ( a foldout chair ). The beds a bit worn out and the decor dated, but very clean hotel and bathroom. Got clean towels everyday and bedlinnen changed 2 times in a week.
Agree with previous review on the lifts, found the problem specially bad around breakfasttime - we solved this by sleeping in ( partly due to late nights out ;0) ) and eating breakfast in town, wich was also cheap and a lot better than the buffet in the hotel. Poolarea is big and there was always plenty of chairs no matter the time of day, no reservations made with towels by other guest, nice!!
So all in all we were satisfied with our stay and the room we had. Nothing memorable or beatiful about this concreteblock - but for a very cheap price it gets the job done and who wants to sit in the room anyway in sunny beach?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank permatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

It was an ok hotel in a good location.
The lifts are awful! We were on the 10th floor and it took us at least 30 mins to get to the room any time during the day.
The staff are not very polite I can deal with that but it got to the point where we were left standing at reception wondering if that was the end of the conversation... I can deal with language barriers but a simple please or thank you from a member of staff on reception who really should have decent English is not too much to ask.
The umbrella facilities at the pool are very poor. There were about 20 for the whole hotel and the pool area is a total wind trap which is nice in the heat but keeps causing the umbrellas to not only blow inside out but to also blow away if you are not holding them.

Room Tip: Opt for a low floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shely05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinstra, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

OK FOLKS… READ THIS ITS HONEST,
We have just come back from Sunny Beach on our 8th trip, this time we had a party of 14 people, on other Trips we have stayed at The JERAVY one of the Newest and most expensive hotels in Sunny Beach, we have stayed at the CENTRAL HOTEL twice, THE DUNAV once, and quite a lot of stays at THE LOTUS HOTEL, on this Trip the Lotus was fully booked up so we took a chance on booking THE HOTEL EUROPE,
Ok The EUROPE HOTEL it is not the JERAVY, But the price is way more affordable actually it’s a bargain. On our trip ALL our rooms were cleaned every day, the floors were washed every day as they are tiled floors, We had clean towels every day and this was not really needed, The staff were polite and helpful and went out of their way to be as helpful as possible, The rooms are smallish but more than adequate for 2 or 3 people, in fact more than big enough, Internet connection in the Lobby was first class for speed, and if you wanted it in your room it was only 45 levs for the week,
As for the beds I found them OK and the same style as every other hotel we have stayed at in sunny beach,
The Hotel is I think is one of the first hotels built in Sunny Beach hence the style of the building and its right ON THE BEACH. Its 14 stories high and is NO LONGER grey concrete as everyone keeps saying, its been re painted yellow and Brown and looks quite nice now from the outside, Shame there is not a new photo on this site.
They have a normal old fashioned style BIG swimming pool, but it’s a Pool, how the heck can people complain about a pool being to big, probably the same people that say it’s too hot, some people are just never satisfied are they?.
If you want a serious swim this oblong pool is much better than the silly shaped ones people seem to like nowadays,
We also found the breakfast quite good at this hotel and plenty of different things to choose from,
Again ALL the staff at the HOTEL EUROPE were really nice and friendly people.
So if you are looking for a good clean Hotel, in the quieter part of town, at a great affordable price and you are not related to Hyacinth Bucket, ?
So have not got your head stuck up your own back side that you just have to find fault with everything. Then THE HOTEL EUROPE is a perfect place to stay in Sunny Beach,
THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THIS HOTEL AT ALL, and WE plan on returning again next year with our full party.
Also as a bonus its very near to the BEST PUB / KARAOKE BAR in Sunny Beach called THE HOUSE, and if you like good food all our party recommend a great little family restaurant not to far away from the hotel called THE HARP in fact the food was so good there we ate 5 there 5 nights in a row, recommend any of the beef dishes or the pork on a skewer, we also were given 2 bottle of complimentary wine every visit. Not bad hey.
Have a good holiday in Sunny Beach…. from Carl de Rome in Norway

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank carlderome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

nice pool, close to beach, not too expensive and the staff are very friendly , big hotel with lift. 4 * definately

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mooreluke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bohemi Hotel
Bohemi Hotel
#160 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercury
Hotel Mercury
#94 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iskar Hotel
Iskar Hotel
#93 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#34 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#24 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Property: Europa Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing