We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the really negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park-Hotel Continental
Ranked #112 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ignore the really negative reviews”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

clean room, air con excellent, towels changed every day. Mainly Russians/Germans at this hotel and food is mainly catered for them but enough choice for everyone. Lovely big pool but very cold. Plenty of sun beds and always got one around 9-10 am, no queuing for one. I was on the 3rd floor in the 3* , no coat hangers in the wardrobe and beds very hard. Near plenty of bars and restaurants. Busy resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alison1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    73
    34
    54
See reviews for
81
73
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was great it is in a fab location and the rooms are huge and cleaned every day.Its a bit tired but very clean and the staff were great, it is a very large hotel and in 3 blocks we were in rooms overlooking the swimming pool and could not complain.
It is very popular with all nationalities and first week i thought we were the only english people there but as time went on we met a lot more english and we wre not the minority.
There is a lovely big resturant upstairs and we could not complain about the food though some people did.
The only problem we had was getting up early enough to get a sunbed Im an early riser but all gone by 9ish wasnt a problem though when we found out there was a lot of late night avtivity regarding towels so we joined in and got a sunbed every time we needed one lol.
I would deffinatley go back to this hotel just make sure you ask for 3star block and you wont be dissapointed enjoy !

Room Tip: Rooms 191 onward on ground floor were in great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annstid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we had an excellent holiday here..when we arrived (late)..4 am in the morning reception had a bag of rolls and crisps in case we were hungry...the staff were excellent..the hotel was full of Russian people for a couple of days and we had no bother whatsoever...the hotel was feeling its age but everything was spotless and we wouldn't fault it at all..we just got on the little train up to the centre..no hastle ..the restaurant across the road was excellent and the entertainment couldn't be faulted...we had an excellent holiday in Sunny Beach...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomcornwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Myself, partner and 7 year old son have just returned from this hotel and we would NEVER go back even if it was free! Having read previous reviews on trip advisor the comments were mainly negative so I was slightly apprehensive to start with but decided an open mind was needed and we had to experience this hotel ourselves.

My main concerns having booked 3* accommodation in advance in January were that we would be one of the unlucky families who got put in the 2* section. I got Thomson to email the hotel direct to confirm our room in the 3* section to make sure so I felt slightly more at ease. On arrival to the hotel we were dropped off at the main reception only to be told we were in the 3* prima part of the hotel and we needed to go to the other end of the hotel where the 3* apartments were.

We were given vague directions and no help with our luggage as we carted all our cases to the part we were staying in. We was then told we couldn't check in until 14:30pm so we put our cases in a luggage holding room by reception and went for a nice cold drink by the pool bar. Once allocated our room key is where the nightmare begins!

We had been given a room on the 3rd floor which had no lift of a grotty looking building behind the apartments that faced the garden/pool area, they looked like the old Chalets at Butlins. It clearly said on our travel itinerary 3* twin bed room with garden view, I asked if these were the 3* rooms and I was given a simple yes by four different people who worked at the hotel.

I was 30 weeks pregnant but no one seemed to notice as my partner had to make triple trips up and down the stairs to put our luggage in our room. The room was basic but seemed clean on first appearances so we decided to speak to our rep in the morning to clarify. At 3am we were woken up with the people next door, shouting and partying with the tv on full blast, we could hear everything and that carried on until 5.30am. The next day we found out we did NOT have a rep at our hotel for Olympic Holidays. All the boards (apart from Balkan Holidays) were in foreign including the information for Thomson!

We endured 5 nights of being woken up with the people partying next door until we flipped out and demanded another room e.g. the room we was supposed to be given with the garden view. After rudeness from a teenage hotel worker pretending to be the manager (the manager is female and has a face like a bulldog chewing a wasp!) we were told there were no rooms available in the garden view section and we could only move to a room in the same block on the second floor which we declined with me being pregnant then they said ground floor. The room was disgusting! Broken patio window, huge cigarette burns in the carpet, hair left on the sink, mould at the bottom of the shower curtain etc etc.

We endured this room for the rest of our stay because it was better than being kept awake every night, to say we felt stranded in a foreign country is an understatement! The room was not cleaned for our whole time here, toilet paper was given daily, the beds were made and clean towels were issued even though they always had marks on them and one day our towels were left with dry bloodstains on them!
There are very few British people at this hotel and the ones we did meet all seemed to have the same negative views as us apart from the lucky few who got a room facing the pool area. If you are allocated a room with a four digit number then you have been put in the old 2* block simple, the three digit room numbers are in the 3* newer part so complain immediately! The pool is nice but be prepared to get up very early to get your sunbed. The first week we started off at 7.30am then ended up getting up at 5.30am to get a bed, the second week was more relaxed so I think it depends on how many people are there at the time.

A lot if the foreign residents put towels on the sunbeds early morning only to leave them all day to return to them at 4.30pm to use them, the pool staff don't seem to have any rules about this so my advice would be to chuck them off yourself if you see this happening!

Sunny beach is ok and a bit like marmite and we was more inclined to hate it! Fortunately as a family we were in the quieter part but you can get a train outside the hotel to the busier section if you want just beware some of the money collectors like to rip you off as all week we had paid one lev for our son who was aged 7 only to be told the price board on the train was wrong and he had to pay the adult price of 3 lev, out of principal we got our money back and walked instead.

You can get a beer for 45p in some places and the food is cheap but I wouldn't say the quality is very good in most places. The best place we found was a British pub called the Corner Bar, bit more expensive than other places but still very cheap! They serve good, hot food (not lukewarm or in our case raw chicken like in one restaurant) and the portions are large. If you buy a cocktail in most places you get two for one. The street vendor corn for 1lev is also a winner.

The beach is very beautiful but you will see yourself paying on average for a family of 3 just under £16 a day for 3 sun loungers and an umbrella as they are all priced individually at 8lev each. If you want to sit on the beach with just your towel beware you cannot go where you want and will be designated a space in the free section which is basically at the back of the beach lol.

I would of given this hotel no stars if I could but I suppose the 1 star can be for the pool area as the breakfast I only tried once and wasn't too my taste, if you try to take food that you have already paid for out of the restaurant they will fine you!

I hope whoever is going to this hotel has a much better experience than we did and I wish you a happy holiday in Bulgaria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kezzaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

after reading some of the reviews on here i didnt know if i wantefd to go.I neednt have worried.we were in the3* part which was more than adequate.i have trabelled all over europe and found it the same really .
The hotel in some areas could do with a lick of paint but the air con and lovely big rooms more than made up for it.
The person who took a photo of a concrete roof saying lovely view having breakfast needed to spin round at take it of a lovely pool surrounded by pine trees .
The food eas ok i think it catered for russian and bulgarian people more than english people but guess what most of the people stayimg there wee russian or bulgarian so good buisness sense there
We always managef to find something and it wss dirt cheap to eat out.
So if you jhave booked this hotel dont worry its not5* but it doesnt say it is e paid1100 for three pf us at peak season .all i can say to the picky comments is stay in england . Helen stayed8/8/13 to 15/8/13.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in need of a fresh coat of paint but over all it is perfectly lovely with very friendly helpful staff!! Hotel is in perfect location, beach is only minutes walk & with many lovely bars and shops only a short walk away!!

Rooms are spotless and they are cleaned daily & fresh towels every day!
Pool area is lovely which is cleaned daily!! Pool is also rated second best in sunny beach!!
The food was lovely but could use a bit more variety!!
If you have booked this hotel don't pay attention the the bad reviews, I would happily return to this hotel!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel spread out on 3 floors.Rooms clean,fresh towels daily and have balcony with free air con. Pool is great. Buffet meals, repetitive, euro menu.Sited at end of main street,so quieter but easy access

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
1 Thank livelifetothefull22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Arda Hotel
Arda Hotel
#91 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Slavyanski Hotel
Slavyanski Hotel
#144 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#31 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#22 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#16 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park-Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park-Hotel Continental

Property: Park-Hotel Continental
Address: | 300 m from the beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park-Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park-Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Sunny Beach
Park-Hotel Continental Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing