We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 somethings holiday - Good Hotel, Average Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poseidon Apartments
Norwich
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“20 somethings holiday - Good Hotel, Average Location”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I came here as a group of young 20 something’s for a fun week in the sun, after much deliberation over reviews we decided to book based on cheap prices and good reviews on the rooms.

I'll break my review down so hopefully you can take out the bits you are interested in.

Rooms - Brilliant, clean and modern, the room was spacious, well furnished with comfy beds and the sofa bed was absolutely fine, exactly what you would expect. Clean sheets, lovely cleaners, we got fresh towels 3 times in one week with no charge! Properly cleaned the room too, mopped the floors. The bathrooms are brilliant, HUGE bath and shower, really really impressed.

Bar and Restaurant - Brilliant - Julie is a god send, so friendly and such a hard worker. Always a smile on her face and keen to greet you, Restaurant staff, Mary, Nadine, Rudy all lovely and polite and the food was actually really good! Not as cheap as the sea front but still well prices.

Location - For us, this wasn’t ideal, yes it is 3 minutes to the beach but if you are here for the nightlife it is no less than a 25 minute walk. Yes on the way you do pass some bars etc but the main strip is far. We walked every night, as we enjoyed stopping on the bars on the way but do not be fooled by being 'close to the promenade' you are.. but this isnt the main strip by any means. Before 10pm expect to pay a 15lv (£7.50 taxi) to get out after then out and home is no less than 30lv (£15) It was good to be close to beach, and right next to large supermarket (although hotels is more than sufficient) but some people could find it a chore being so far from the nightlife. We dealt with it, and quite enjoyed the sobering walk home... but would have liked to be a little closer.

Pool area - Pool is huge but quite cold but not too bad, not nearly enough sun beds but a huge grassy area we all just layed on with our towels each day which was fine. Good sun and in afternoon slightly covered by the big tree but move with it, there is sun until at least 7pm if you are a die hard tanner!

Staff - This seems to be hot topic on here, the receptionists. Yes the blonde girl who checked us in had absolutely no customers service skills but she wasn’t outright rude, but non responsive with no charisma! The other two brunette women were again ok, but dont expect them to ask you how your day is going! Now the one to watch out for, and the part I was extremely shocked by was the security guard. One of our friends went to jump in the pool, there was a broken area of the pool which he caught his foot on, which he actually injured, but this catch caused some of the white slatting of the overflow area on the pool to pull up. Being in our 20's, obviously said security guard decided he could make a quick buck, he came over, chest puffed out in an extremely intimidating stance and demanded that my friend pay 40lev to fix the already broken pool which had caused the injury. After some polite debate, said security guard frog marched him to his room and forced him to hand over the money.. To him. Not the hotel, to him. He was later seen laughing putting cash in his wallet at the reception. Another night we all came in around 2am, silently so as not to incur the 50lev fine for making noise after midnight and he, quite intimidatingly followed us to our rooms just inches behind to make us all prove we had a key?! He was the only problem of this hotel and may well not bother any families but caused a real irritation to anyone under the age of 35 who he felt his purpose was to eagle eye and try and intimidate and get money out of.

All in all, good hotel, good rooms, amazing bar and resturant staff, brilliant 24 hour shop very well priced, good location for the beach, not so good for the nightlife and horrible security guard.. I probably would stay again just for Julie on the bar and the quality of the rooms but wish it could be moved closer to the main strip!

P.S Club Orange Neon Paint night - AMAZING. Get the deal for Room 2 free bar and on to Viking also. Candy Bar and Bounce good music if you're into it - enjoy!

Room Tip: We were facing the road and had no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    64
    41
    14
    22
See reviews for
88
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

overall you get what you pay for, the reception staff were rude, unhelpful and sometimes would have conversations when you were stood at their desk ignoring you completely. The food in both the hotel and the resort was poor, i suffered from an upset stomach for a while after my visit.

The hotel taxi man was crazy, overcharged us and took us the longer way round in order to make a fast buck,

the food in the hotel was average however it was the best in the resort.


All the staff in the hotel were miserable and unwelcoming, we got the impression that everyone hated the English and other Foreigners alike. Except for one Waitress called Nadine, Nadine was the only welcoming, friendly and well mannered employee and Bulgarian in the whole resort. Nadine provided us with excellent customer service and information about the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

To enjoy your stay here you cannot be picky. It is on a whole a well built, clean and has nice rooms with no complaints about that side of it with the exception of the lifts. God those lifts are terrible, imagine ones bought from del-boy and you've got the idea. Nothing however to put me off staying again as that would be trivial.
The staff is a different story however, with special regards to the reception staff they are the most abrupt, rude and horrific people I have ever encountered in that sort of establishment. On one instance I was in an argument with reception staff as she refused to refund me money for internet I just paid for which she knew didn't work.
The major exception to this is the restaurant staff where not all of them are total tossers. A waitress called Nadine was the nicest person I had met all week in the whole country never mind the hotel, she deserves a HUGE commendation!
Overall a great place to stay but keep contact with the devils advocates on reception to a bare minimum to prevent the urge to go on a killing spree.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandern208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel at the northern end of SunnyBeach is excellent, quiet, comfy, well equipped and very high quality. Suggest a day out to Old Nesbar, go by public bus No.5 from stop just across main road and 75 yards south. Costs only 1 Lev per person single....Taxi would be 30 Lev, Boat is 10 Lev each, mini train is change twice ie 3 trains at 3 Lev per train ie 9 Lev each. Bus also North to Sveti Lev. Town is really high above beach and has tourist street and roof restaurants, costs 1 1/2 Lev public bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_b187060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed at poseidon apts from 10th june till 24th 2013 aptswere great very large we were on 2nd floor overlooking pool which was great i have never known my husband spend so much time on a balcony as he did there apts very clean the whole hotel is very clean staff were very friendly location very good away from the madening croud so to speak but within easy access to everything we have been to bulgaria 8 times and found this the best accomadation so far we will be going back next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woko40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spotlessly clean, great location close to all amenities shops, beach etc. Staff were both helpful and friendly. Only critisism was steps to pool very loose and some refurbishment of soft furnishings in rooms required and also the air conditioning was in livingroom instead off bedroom.

Room Tip: Onsite shop very handy but larger supermarket 3mins walk away was far better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysueBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The apartments were very clean and well situated. The hotel staff themselves were very rude and miserable but the restaurant staff and pool bar staff were second to none, especially Julie and Steve at the pool bar. They work very long hours and are always cheerful and ready to help and chat to you! Julie really was amazing! This hotel is worth the money without a doubt and I would stay there again. X

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 220 in Sunny Beach
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#18 of 220 in Sunny Beach
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#21 of 220 in Sunny Beach
454 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Sun Apartments
Royal Sun Apartments
#1 of 159 in Sunny Beach
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Apartments

Property: Poseidon Apartments
Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poseidon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Apartments Hotel Sunny Beach
Poseidon Apartments Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing