We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What do people want from a holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poseidon Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poseidon Apartments
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What do people want from a holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just came back from 2 weeks at the posiden apartments sunny beach as all other reviews have said rooms are very big but basic very clean apartments cleaners in every day towels changed every other day. Camp bed not as uncomfortable as people make out I am a adult who slept on it for 2 weeks no problem . The bar staff at the pool were amazing Julie and stan carnt help you enough. The only thing that I didn't like about the hotel was the pool was a bit cold but as for getting sun beds you could get the at all times of day we had a salsa dance team there when we stayed they were very good they were there for 4 days all 400 of them they made our holiday different and a lot of fun

Room Tip: Ask for pool vue if you dont you may end up looking over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    63
    41
    14
    22
See reviews for
88
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Actually in resort now so thought I'd do a quick review before I forgot everything. We normally go to 4* all inclusives but as money was a bit short this year, we booked this as it was so cheap and just wanted a bit of sun. This is a 3* accomodation so expect clean basic hotel in a good location. You cannot expect anything more for the money and it is fine for a value for money getaway. Apartments are quite spacious, with sofabed and dining table and chairs in living area. Kitchen area has fridge with very small ice box, 2 electric hob plates, kettle, toaster, coffee maker and microwave. There are plates, mugs, cutlery, 1 saucepan, 1 frying pan and 1 sharp knife. All rooms have a balcony and air conditioning but this is only in the living area so bedroom can get a bit warm. We are a family of 2 adults, 2 children aged 10 and 3 and I would say that the sofabed was ok for them but older kids/ teenagers might struggle, as quite a thin mattress on it. Large marble bathroom and as in previous reviews the water does go everywhere when you have a shower as there is no shower curtain, however there is a drainage hole in the bathroom so I think this is just how it was designed. There is a shop and restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel both of which are reasonably priced. There are 2 pools one being a shallow children's pool, which is great for little ones. We never had a problem with getting a sunbed even though we didn't come down until after 9am most days. There are no cushions on the sunbeds so if you're able to pack an extra towel in your luggage for comfort, do so. Items worth bringing out with you are tea, coffee and breakfast cereal, as these were quite expensive in the local supermarket ( which is a 2 minute walk away). Overall this hotel is pretty much what I expected and if you want 4* you will have to pay a fair bit more for it. Reading the reviews it seems to me that a lot of the reviewers have champagne tastes but lemonade money. You'll have a great time in Sunny Beach and if you haven't been before ( as we hadn't) you can check some of the other hotels out for next time :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lily_lashes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

im just back from 2 weeks staying at the poseidon apartments sunny beach...the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very spacious, me my partner and my 9 year old boy went, when we got there i was impressed by the decor of the hotel, really nice...the blonde girl at reception was a bit snotty and was always talking to some other member of staff, but that didnt bother me too much as we didnt have much to do with them.. the rooms like i said are spacious, the room attendants came in every day to clean but they didnt do that very well..the floors are quite dirty so if you choose this hotel take some pairs of socks with you, especially coming out of shower...you have been warned,,the bath leaked when we took shower, the towels we got were brick hard sometimes, and that was sore trying to dry with them especially if you have got major sunburn..the hotel staff are quite friendly though some dont really understand our english but we got by just fine...the weather was lovely, really hot at times,only rained once for 20 mins and that was that, loads to do, we had a ball right up untill the last day that was......you check out the room at 12 noon, then our flight wasnt till 4.30am the next morning, we couldnt get a room to freshen up for an hour and if you wanted to keep your room on it would cost you 10 lev an hour so we werent paying that..alison our rep was pleasant and very knowledgable, we asked her about getting a room or a shower and she says you can use the toilet beside the pool, it has a shower in there, i went to look later and found it was a shower head in this tiny pokey room so there was no way i was using that.. so when the time came to get freshed up before going for the plane we just headed over to the majestic hotel, right over the road from the poseidon, we got freshened up there....this was the only thing that put a dampner on the holiay, the rest was brilliant, the food was ok... me, partner and son had to wait nearly 15 hours for our trip to the airport, and we couldnt really do much for that day cause all our bags were packed so wasnt happy bout that, so just be careful what times your flights are,i will definetley be coming back to sunny beach and i will be booking the majestic next time,...also before i forget my travel agent told us that after 12midnight there was no noise and if there was you would get fined, well this was not the case, me and my son were wakened several times at night at 4am and 5am with music blaring, we were at the pool side where the bar is so be careful what room you book please.........other than that we had a great time....

Room Tip: dont get a room looking at the pool...i dont know what the rest of rooms are like but thats my tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violet30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheatley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Me and my family have been traveling on package holidays for many many years. We've done Turkey, Greece, most of Spain and had never thought about Bulgaria until my sister and her husband went last year. They were so pleased with the price they paid and the value and the quality of accommodation and so much more. So we decided to book for this year. We stayed where they stayed last year at the Poseidon and all I can say is we were so surprised at how good everything was for the price we paid and the value of our holiday was excellent. The restaurant and bar were great. The staff were just so happy to help and they were always the people we would go to with questions and they always had great advice. The price of the food and drinks in the hotel is superb value and really affordable and because of this we eat and drank mostly in the hotel. I will agree the reception staff speak very basic english but come on everyone lets be honest how well do we all speak a second language!! It's about time us Brits understood that when we are in a foreign country that we should respect the fact that not everyone will speak fantastic english and perhaps we should all have some more respect and patience. Anyway all I can say is we all had a great holiday and I really have no idea how anyone can say otherwise about their stay at the Poseidon. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel and we'll see you next year, already booked by the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matt T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We always research before we book, always taking with a pinch of salt other travellers feedback, after all we are all not the same and perceptions / expectations differ !

This was our 3rd visit to Sunny Beach and probably the worst, accommodation wise. In no particular order ..... The settee bed is not a bed, how my 16 year old son coped for two weeks i will never know ! The mattress is wafer thin and the 'Springs' just squeaked all night, the 'Headrest' of the settee was filthy ..... The floor of the apartment only got mopped when we were in the apartment, this was evident by bits of paper dropped on the floor by the toilet and were there everyday when we were not in the apartment when the cleaning 'Team' arrived ..... If you want a sun bed you have to get up early ! After sussing out what the routine was (Get up as early as possible to secure a sun lounger) nope got it wrong, 07:30 was too late, never mind we will do the beach ! The following day we set the alarm for 06:45 and yessss we managed to get the last two sun loungers. What became evident was that the majority of them, although 'Towelled' up do not get used ..... The steps between floors were mopped frequently, the fragrance of urine suggests that when a bathroom does get mopped the same mop is used on the stairwell ..... Pick up time was 03:30 - 04:00, check out time was 12 noon the day before, research was 10 Lev per hour for an extension to the room, 100 Lev cash in hand and the answer from the surly receptionist was 'No rooms available' ? "Is there a shower room available" ?Guess what NO! The only shower available was one shower head attached to the tap in the poolside toilets, I suppose it will do ! Not the best as these were the only toilet facilities available as the ones indoors were 'OUT OF ORDER'

Positives ..... Stan & Julie who work the poolside bar make the holiday, total work horses and accommodating, smile while they work, even after 12/13/14 hour shifts ! ..... The restaurant staff also work long shifts and smile as they work tirelessly !

Thomson's ..... 3 Star ! You are avin a laugh .....

Room Tip: Book into the Barcelo !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just come back from 1 week holiday here,had a brilliant time overall,apart from the rude and ignorant receptionists!they had an appalling attitude to everything: on arrival they spoke to me awfully as my 2yr old son was crying (bearing in mind we arrived at about 2:30am,and I had to wake him up when we arrived of the bus!) then on our second last day we prebooked our room for longer as we were not getting picked up until 11:45pm,and agreed with the receptionist that we would pay when we checked out as we were not sure how many hours we needed (depending on whether my son had a sleep or not)however the following day we were locked out of our room so went down to reception and another receptionist demanded the cash now!lthen when we were waiting for the bus to pick us up my husband needed the toilet, the lobby toilets were out of order so he asked reception If there were any other toilets he could use and got told to use poolside ones,he walked to he poolside toilets but did not use them as they were filthy and there was no toilet roll,he went back to inform the receptionists and asked if he could use another toilet or have his room card back an got a response of the receptionists slamming a roll of toilet paper on the desk and saying 'use poolside!' he ended up going to the MAjestic hotel across the round!!
But by going to use the poolside toilet we discovered why we could never get a sunbed, as they already had towels on most on them!!!
But overall the hotel is lovely,the other staff are nice and sunny beach as a whole is fantastic,planning on going next year but will not be staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just come back from a 7 night stay at this hotel, we will not be staying here again, we booked this hotel through the Co-operative travel company and requested a quiet room, we ended up at the back of the hotel and because it was so hot we had to leave the bedroom door open onto the balcony all night, due to us being on the main road going through Sunny Beach there’s constant traffic all night, not a very good night’s sleep at all.

The bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. The mini shop attached is open 24 hours a day and also very friendly and helpful. I do agree with the other reviewers that the reception staff are not helpful what so ever, it seems an inconvenience asking them anything.

With our room being at the back of the hotel we was above the car park, which meant we also saw people arriving to go round the pool, we also spotted them coming from the hotel’s across the road, so if any of you find you can’t get a sunbed this is the reason why, I went down to the pool at 8.00 am one morning to find 3 people in the pool and every single sunbed had a towel on, Alison the rep says you are not allowed to go in the pool before 9 and after 7.30pm, sorry Alison but no one listens to you, we’ve seen people going putting towels on these beds at midnight, the staff in the hotel should stop this by removing all towels and leaving it as first come first served. You would see sunbeds available for 6 hours.

Alison our rep was very nice and told you all about the do’s and dont’s which was helpful and she was at the hotel between certain times every day if needed.

The rooms where basic, the sofa bed my daughter was on was about 2 inch thick and the back of the sofa was dirty, the towels where stiff as a board, if you got sunburnt it would take the top layer of skin off. In our room there was sand piles in every corner, I was told that the cleaners came in to mop, but when they came in our room they had a brush and pan and only did what they thought you could see.

Around the bar area there was stools (not enough) there was also 4 plastic tables and only six chair’s so if you did want a drink there you felt that you had to wait for someone to leave before you could order a drink.

Entertainment for families = none, you may find a few karaoke's on a night elsewhere.

The weather was fantastic 34 degrees through the day, 26 (lowest) it seemed through the night, we would come to Sunny Beach again but stay in the Majestic.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myadvice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#24 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
#12 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#16 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Apartments

Property: Poseidon Apartments
Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Poseidon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Apartments Hotel Sunny Beach
Poseidon Apartments Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing