We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, but not a "holiday" hotel, more like "hostel' standard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sunny Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amaris Hotel
Ranked #122 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, but not a "holiday" hotel, more like "hostel' standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed July 2011 as just as a break from work, On arriving, impressed with the reception, but that was it. All I can say that the room was functional and thankfully clean. The pool bar was expensive and prices seemed a little random, same round of drinks varied every time in cost. Even though this was booked as b&b, breakfast is just terrible, wasn't expecting much at the cost, but at least a bit of fresh bread would have been nice. Pool area was very tight on space and to be honest we used the hotel next door, larger pool and this hotel were fine with use using their facilities as we were using the restaurant and bar. But do belive in the 'you get what you pay for" mantra, but friends were booked into another hotel down the road for the same money and was far, far better. I don't want to sound negative as I always throw myself into holidays and refuse to be down beat. So it is best to look at this place as somewhere to sleep and get shower and then be elsewhere. I felt a little betrayed by the holiday company for what I paid against how it was advertised. So just generous average from me, not a disaster but there are a lot better hotels for the same money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    35
    18
    15
See reviews for
25
56
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Me and the wife stayed at this hotel for two weeks, Hotel was clean and tidy but very basic. Staff where frendly and helpful other than the manager who wouldnt speak or help if needed. The location wasnt the best as we always headed to the beech and flower street. the walk was around 20-25 mins and over two weeks you tend to get sick off walking. The breakfast was bulgarian cold meats,salad, cheese,eggs etc. We didnt mind as its something different to the usual english breakfast. Our room was cleaned + new towls every two days and floors mopped. On the second day i noticed the waste pipe had slight leak on toilet which i reported and never got fixed. There is a Supermarket approx two mintues walk from the hotel which is cheap and is a bonus. The rooms dont come with a kettle, so buy one or walk to the gound floor just to make a hot drink. As for sunny beech we enjoyed the place and would go back. The only issue with sunny beech is the condition of certain paths a roads which are trip hazards.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dobbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel is filthy, unsafe and the food is unhygenic. The staff are rude, surly and unless you appear to be either a local or Russian you are ignored although the owner & the manager just ignored everyone! The electrics within our room was very worrying as the light switches where hanging off the wall and the air conditioner seriously needed a good clean and a service. The cleanliness of this hotel was unheard of our room was dirty on arrival and didn't improve throughout our 2 week stay. Sunny Beach itself was not in our opinion at all suitable for children, all along the main streets there were sex shops, erotic bars, and pole dancing bars that were open fronted and on full view to the kids, not my idea of a family holiday!! Also the shops all sold dangerous weapons, hunting knives, samarui swords and replica guns which fired metal ball bearings and these were all displayed at child height, highly illegal in Britain but obviously totally acceptable in Bulgaria to sell them to kids. The cleanliness of the whole town left a lot to be desired the beach was filthy and not safe for kids to run free as you would expect on a beach. The service was alright if you were a man but in most places if you were a woman you were second class HELLO 21st CENTURY!!!!!!. Overall if you are a group of young lads on the lash this is the place for you if you are a family who want to relax and enjoy quality family time pick somewhere else and if you really want to go to Sunny Beach DO NOT go to the Amaris Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honesty267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were very apprehensive after reading a lot of negative reviews on this website about doors being opened amongst other things. The hotel itself was clean and we had no problem getting a sunbed, maybe this was due to the time of the year that we went. The staff were unfriendly, as were most of the locals and the rooms were extremely basic and although were cleaned daily, were not up to even a 3 star standard. The walls were very thin and I found myself being woke many times by others in the hotel although there were signs clearly stating that this was not permitted. Compared to the surrounding hotels though, the hotel was decent. Nice size pool although it was very cold and a good distance from the nightlife and markets. Breakfast, however was abysmal, little choice and again very unfriendly staff deferred us from using the facilities more than once. The balconies were not private at all and left us feeling unsafe and unhappy. Because we were not in the hotel very often we could deal with it but I don't know if we could have stayed for longer than a week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyJo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Amaris Hotel, Sunny Beach for 2 weeks. To be honest by the second week could not wait to get back home. The staff did not speak english, no customer relations whatsoever. The breakfast was awfull, the rooms smelled dusty. Smell of sewage coming from bathroom. During my stay there with my wife and daughter aged five it became apparent by other holidaymakers stopping at this hotel that they to had the same opinions as me. The Manager couldnt care less if you had a complaint, nothing was done. He seemed more interested in making money than seeing that his guest were ok and enjoying themselves. Is there anything positive I can say about this hotel, absolutely not. To anybody considering staying at this hotel, dont. All the negative reviews I have read ring true. My advice stay away....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rammo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

My friend and I arrived there after midnight found the rep really abrupt ..
when we got to the hotel again nothing was open and we went to a bar across the road from the hotel Aramis staff there were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean but a couple of times we woke up to our room door being opened. Just read review about the people whose phones were stolen. one morning we woke up and room door was open.
We found it funny that the sunbeds were all used by 730am even though the rules said not to be reserved till 930am. Location was great close to evertything. We gave up on the breakfast at the the hotel as it was really really awful the coffee was YUCK!! We found the staff friendly and helpful except bar staff they seemed to be entertaining their friends.
Lots of stray animals and beggars

All in all we had a great holiday

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leighstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

On arrival the Hotel seemed impressive, large reception foyer, lifts and decent sized bedrooms, but all went slightly downhill from there.

As we arrived past twelve o'clock we didn't expect the hotel bar to be open and it wasn't, but there is another hotel's bar across the road which was open for us too use. This seemed to be the case all week after coming back from our evening out in sunny beach we wanted a quiet drink before going to bed but in the Amaris bar that is not possible on our first night we brought our drinks then were sharply TOLD the bar is now closed, slightly disappointing. The same pattern continued throughout the week, we recommend the bar across the road for a drink "close too home". Furthermore the indoor bar is there for aesthetic reasons it never opens as we were told again rudely bar the bar maid, to quote "never opens, there too look nice"

Breakfast is appalling at this hotel, expect a fight to get any scrap of ham, cheese or egg that has been thrown onto the breakfast bar. we ate out each morning after the third visit as it is cheap enough to do so.

The staff are generally nice although they work in seasonal conditions thus the hotel is understaffed which can cause a little "stressy-ness" amongst them

TAKE A KETTLE IF YOU WANT YOUR OWN HOT DRINKS !!! THIS AND CUPS ARE NOT SUPPLIED IN THE ROOM.

Great destination - Okay Hotel

Would only stay again if we had too - great area though just be weary of the Amaris.

Room Tip: 525 was a great size !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Slavyanski Hotel
Slavyanski Hotel
#144 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arda Hotel
Arda Hotel
#111 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#114 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lira Club
Hotel Lira Club
#36 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Bay
Hotel Blue Bay
#39 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaris Hotel

Property: Amaris Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Also Known As:
Amaris Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing