We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at Royal Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Dreams Complex
Ranked #131 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First stay at Royal Dreams”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stopped at Royal Dreams for 12 night holiday to Bulgaria. Room was ok, pretty much as I expected. had issues with the boiler which took over 24 hours to repair (with me constantly nagging!), shower holder was broken so had to hold when showering. We didn't have aircon but next door did and boy, it was loud! very annoying.
Staff very helpful and friendly (apart from maintenance guys), pool lovely. We had an awful view of the carpark but was interesting watching the gypsies raid the dustbins several times a day.
Bulgaria was amazing and we will be going back next year but will upgrade to a better hotel. Lowcostholidays called it a 3 star - NEVER - pushing 3 at the very best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We got there at 2am in the morning to be greeted by someone, he told us where our rooms where but did not take us up. As 3 families we were told that one family of 2 was in the a block, one family of 3 was in the b block and one family of 4 was in c block. we wanted to be all together but this was not possible. when we got in the lift it stopped at the wrong floor and got stuck, luckily we had got out. This was in the c block!!! after carrying all the suit cases upstairs in the dark to the fourth floor, yes the lights in the corridors did not work for the first week of the two week holidays we came to our apartment. Luckily we had a mobile phone with a light on to see that we were going to the correct room. In the morning we had a search around and found that there was no pans or cooking utensils, this took a few days to get. The room was cleaned and fresh bedding was put on most days but these were stained!!!! We were very disappointed that the restaurant had been closed and this was advertised when we booked. There was a bar in the pool and the bartender was very nice, there was also a shop which was open 24hours on the ground but the d block door was closed so you had to walk all the way around. We had pool view so it was nice to wake up with the sun shining at 8am in the morning. If you would want a sun lounger and umbrella these were saved by people putting towels on from 6am in the morning. We had a designer beach towel which was pinched by someone who had come on the grounds. there was a security guard at night on the grounds. We would go to Bulgaria again as we spent a lot of time-out of the grounds of royal dreams but definitely would not book here again as the children were not entertained and there was no restaurant available. There was also lots of different people in charge and you did not know who to speak to - Lack of management!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bulgaria345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have just arrived back from 2 weeks at these apartments nothing wrong with the apartment, but there is no management coordination.There are 2 cleaning companies and which rooms they are responsible for nobody actually could tell you. Nobody has any idea who is booked in what rooms as there are so many people taking bookings. (2 receptions and private bookings) This means the cleaners do not know which rooms to clean.It took 4 days for us to get clean towels and 9 days for clean sheets.Please note I am not complaining about the cleaning staff they can only do what they are told. There is no club at these apartments due to internal dispute. So my advice until they, if ever sort themselves out stay well clear. This is such a pity because this could be such a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I really didn't want to give this place a bad review as I understand what Tripadvisor can do to businesses but I really have to warn others about this place. Upon arrival you are greeted by amazingly kept gardens and a lush inviting pool - we arrived at 6am to which there was no receptionist and it took us a while to gain access to the apartment - something which I see is a regular problem! We are a group of 6 Students so our standards aren't exactly the Ritz but when we arrived at our apartment we were pleasantly surprised by the decor and spacious apartment. It was only after we used the apartment that we understood what was wrong with it. Were not fussy people but we expected everything to work and function well at least on arrival. The first problem that arose was when we all went for showers. One of the shower heads was broken and was spurting water everywhere except out of the head and the shower fixture was broken on both the showers so we had to hold the shower head to shower (not such a problem but annoying), after battling with the shower we flooded the bathrooms - all the plug holes were blocked (we ended up having to go to the local shop and unblock them ourselves). The next niggling factor was when we sat on the double bed and it collapsed underneath our weight (were both slim) - you can imagine our shock - we went to reception to report it and they said it was broken BEFORE we arrived (so why didn't they fix it - upon examination it just needed some braces to brace the frame to hold it together), we ended up taking the mattress off and sleeping on the floor. There was no toaster or kettle in the apartment which as we were self catering is quite an important thing to have, and the one and only Bin we had in the apartment was turned upside down with a tea cup ontop holding up the plumping for the sink (we didn't dare move it), the kitchen tap was also loose.

Even when you are self catering you expect fresh towels once in a while, we had to expressly ask hotel staff for them - they said they had no clean ones and had to take them out of another room - encouraging. Our apartment was not cleaned in the whole 8 days that we were there. Luckily we are clean students so we cleaned up as we went along but we found the floors were really dirty and they had not provided us with any facilities to clean the apartment.

When you arrive in this country it is clear that the standards are going to be lower than those of a hotel in england, half of the country looks as if they started to build something, got bored and then decided to do something else, even the pavements are unfinished in areas.

So the good things about this accommodation is;
relatively cheap, safe - gated and guarded, well kept gardens and pool. Very good location halfway between nessebar and sunny beach and only a 5 minute walk from the beach :-)
the Buses are only 1Lev (40p) to get to either places.

The depressing thing;
The hotels surrounding this place looked so much nicer, there was no rep here which meant we had to find out own things to do. We asked the receptionist for a boat trip and he sent us on a childs boat trip with pirates and fishing - we were expecting a booze cruise which was later on in the day - luckily the people who run the boat allowed us to stay on.


So basically... I would go to sunny beach again but I wouldn't want anybody I know to stay in this accommodation. Sorry Royal Dreams - but you really need to sort it out!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived at Royal Dreams around 230am to find a sign on reception saying it was closed until 10am. We wondered around the complex searching for a security guard, until we eventually went to the neighbouring hotel who tracked down a man off the site to show us to our room. When entering the room it was clear the air con didn’t work, the third bed wasn’t made up, and there was no bedding provided for us to do it ourselves! So for the first night one of my friends slept on the sofa with no bedding. 2 days later we were then asked to pack up and move to a different apartment; all hung-over we really could not be bothered! The new room did have working air con though and a bed set up, however again with no bedding! The freezer was also switched off, but to be fair when we spoke to reception they sorted both problems. We were given 2 towels between 3 of us for the week (so take your own as well as a beach towel)! The shower was also blocked throughout our stay. We also had doubts as to whether or not the room was cleaned before we arrived due to the bathroom being filled with shampoo and conditioner bottles from previous guests. We also weren’t given a key to the main door and had to climb out the window one night to get out of the hotel! The pool however is lovely! The bar man is brilliant with children! A few people have moaned about children unaccompanied children running round the pool, there’s a small group of foreign children that live at the hotel and they are loud, this didn’t really bother us, but I can see how it would others!

Sunny Beach is excellent on a night would definitely recommend it! The hotel doesn’t help with transport, but if you cross the road and turn left out the complex, there’s a 10min walk to a bus stop that takes you straight to Sunny Beach for 1lev each! On the way back after a night out either get the first bus from 630am onwards, or pay no more than 15lev for a taxi! The taxi drivers do try and rip you off, it happened to us on our first couple of nights so watch out! Definitely recommend Jacks Bar amazing atmosphere and Viking bar along the beach front!

We would all go back tomorrow just not to Royal Dreams, the price we paid for Royal Dreams was low, however accommodation is cheap out in Sunny Beach and you would find somewhere nicer for similar money.

Room Tip: Maybe requesting a one bedroom apartment rather than a studio! Maybe then you'll actually recei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Although we are both well travelled, neither of us had ever been to Bulgaria before.

We decided on the Royal Dreams Holiday Village because it sounded cheap and cheerful which fitted our budget for this last minute break.

Unfortunately our first experience of Bulgaria was to get totally ripped off by the cab driver at the airport. The cab should have been 50 levas, but he would only settle for English pounds and wanted £70 Stirling about 160 leva equivalent. . All the other holiday makers at the taxis were having exactly the same problem and raised voices could be heard all along the rank.
He was also mental and watched a dashboard TV whilst driving like a maniac. We thought we would die watching a Dire Straights concert.
My advice would be to get transfers sorted before you go as all the cabby's were as greedy as each other with only one exception.We found, Hari Taxi, He charged us 50 leva to go back to the airport. His number is 00359 888 76 36 96, you can text him your flight times and he'll meet you at the airport, or just get your agent to add transfers to your flight costs. Hari also charged 10 levas to go to Nesibar or the Sunny Beach Centrum. Everyone else charged us 20 levas.

As for the Royal Dreams Holiday Village, it was great. The rooms were spacious and clean. We arrived at night and a security guard was waiting to take us to our room. Everyone we met were friendly and courteous.
There was a fridge freezer a two ring hob and a washing machine, a TV, a DVD Player a two and a three seater bed sofa in the large lounge dinner. The separate bedroom was large with a wardrobe and chest of drawers. The bedroom door handle was missing and we had to hunt for it when we trapped ourselves in there.
We had a problem with the hot water one evening, with there being no reception after about 4pm, we had to have cold showers, but it was fixed within a couple of hours once reported the next day.
You have to ask to have your room cleaned or towels changed as the apartments are predominately privately owned and let.

The lifts and hallways are kept clean and tidy, the gardens are well planted and maintained.

The pool was very clean, certainly suitable for children on a family holiday or couples to laze around.Not very tranquil though, with the heavy traffic only 10 meters away on the busy main drag.
There's a strict sound off by 11pm policy and security guards are there to enforce it at night.

During the day though, its up to parents to keep control of their children. All were well behaved while we were there, but I could imagine if you had a couple of trouble makers, there would be little you could do about it and they could run amok and ruin your holiday.

The Father Ted's onsite Bar is gone and the pool bar was unmanned while we were there.

We had booked a 'SEA VIEW' but without our high powered x-ray glasses, we couldn't see it behind the brand new 20 story hotel between us and the beach, which is a 5 minute walk across the busy main road.

There is a little supermarket right next door, which was handy for everything you need at relatively good prices I.e. 3litres decent beer being 3 leva about £1.30.
The locals shop out-of-town for much less.

The beach is mainly sandy with a few trendy beach bars, it's spacious enough to find a nice spot in the quiet if you prefer. The melon sellers really are a nuisance as they will wake you up to ask you to by fruit from them if you are snoozing. You really have to be quite blunt with them before they move on.
The beach is vast and boasts a nudist area. if you want to see 80 year old Bulgarians with there tackle out then that will be for you.

English seemed to be spoken very well by all but a few. Very few Germans, the whole place is mainly geared to Russians and English, very family and couple friendly with cheap places to eat and drink. We saw no problems and no louts.

We liked the Holiday Village and would go back despite it's proximity to the road, which i wasn't over-struck with.
Lovely people. One week was not enough.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block F get the morning Sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew-R-Cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we have just got back from sunny beach bulgaria, it was our 1st time there so wasnt sure what to expect, heard rumours about beggers, gypsies, people trying to drag you into shops clubs restaurants etc etc , well we found none of this , when you walked past places they would ask you if you like to eat, drink ,all we said was thanks and we never had one person rude to us or chase us ... nesseber is very nice, and so is sunny beach very lively though many shops selling the same sort of items , take empty cases and bring back some good clothes , some quality better than others so worth looking around. food and drink is cheap, a pint is between 50 pence and a pound....there is a little train that runs all over the place which is easy and good to use... buses are the same and at 1 lev very cheap, taxis drivers try it on so make sure you know the price before getting in.. mick, and dee dee who run the bar and apartments couldnt do enough for you really nice people so if they read this a big thankyou to you both .. the guys and young lady who served our drinks and food were also very helpful and did a great. the apartments are privately owned but if you needed anything dee dee was there for you, we went in september which is a lot quieter than july and august so it can get a lot louder than we would have known, but the apartments are just far enough away from all the noise... anyway said enough and hope this helps great time had by all mick and sam , surrey

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank londonmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Complex Rainbow
Holiday Complex Rainbow
#186 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunny Holiday Aparthotel
Sunny Holiday Aparthotel
#99 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#31 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Marine Aparthotel
Blue Marine Aparthotel
#39 of 154 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday and Orchid Fort Garden
Holiday and Orchid Fort Garden
#42 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dreams Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dreams Complex

Property: Royal Dreams Complex
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Dreams Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Dreams Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dreams Apartments Hotel Sunny Beach
Royal Dreams Complex Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing