We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL”
Review of Colosseum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colosseum
Ranked #196 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Food terrible ............. cold and the same every meal ..... no choice........ worse food iv ever had..
Ate out most of my 12 night stay.........

The only staff nice to us was the cleaner the rest were rude, arrogant and downright horrible people.........

My advice is dont go to this hotel ......... you will regret it........... saved all year to go on holiday and regret going to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PaulineWhiteinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Colosseum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

We arrived at this hotel at 05.30 in the morning, we were greeted at reception by a sour faced, aggressive woman who didn't understand English and was as cold as the bride of Frankenstein.
There are 8 books at reception in various languages telling of local tours and attractions, none of which are in English. They certainly don't cater for English speakers, (apart from signs threatening you with 50Euro fines if you don't adhere to hotel rules), and if they don't want too, that's fine, but they shouldn't take the bookings.
The hotel itself is nice and spotlessly clean although has a severe shortage of storage for clothing within the room.
The dining room staff were the worst ever, they were rude & ignorant, cold and totally unfriendly, we witnessed this attitude not only towards us but other guests too on many occasions. Two waitresses in particular, Atilla the bun and her little sister.
The food was disgusting, always cold and lukewarm. We found eating out at the many restaurants, especially the Arena, to be much safer and really good quality food. Although supposedly all inclusive, we spent a lot of time eating out.
Snacks were advertised as being served between the hours of 15.00 and 18.00, but infact they were non existant. We heard many people complaining about this, but the barman just said "No snacks" and laughed.
Dinner was to be served between 19.00 and 21.30, we went at 20.40 only to find the dining room had been cleared of all food and the tables being reset for breakfast. Apart from breakfast there is no tea or coffee available in the dining room, what you can have is a disgusting, sweet juice concentrate or cup of lukewarm water.
It transpired that they hold a traditional Bulgarian night on a Thursday, but no-one bothered to inform us of this.
We discovered that this hotel has a reputation amongst local restraunteurs also, and the ones that we spoke with all said that the hotel was well known for it's poor standard of food and service.
There fitness suite.........I lose the term very loosely, is a joke. It's an accident waiting to happen and should be condemned. You pay 5Leva for 1 hour. It's a small tacky room with very poor air con. There is no water cooler, a multigym that is hanging in bits, burst cables with their ragged edges protruding from the machine and their associated pulleys laying discarded on the floor. The floor is uneven and overlapping, a real trip hazard. The remaining equipment consists of a broken exercise bike that looks as though it has come from someones bedroom. A small, manually operated treadmill, probably bought from Bulgarias equivalent of Argos. A small free weights bench with old, rusting barbell and plates, one plate was actually stuck fast on the mat and had to be prised off.
It wasn't all bad though........The friendliest person in the hotel was the maid, she always had a smile and friendly word. A couple of the barstaff began to warm to us after a few days and actually managed to raise a smile and a hello.
The hotel's appearance is impressive, the location is great, only a minute from the beach, but they certainly don't know the meaning of customer service.
We will go back to Sunny Beach, but we will avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sua1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

How i am gonna start ... reception dont speaks English well, you need to pay for your safety box (safety box is in the reception not in your room). first day we arrived there was no electricity in the hotel and our reservation was clear and they its true your voucher said something but we dont know !! what ever ... the air condetion is not working the whole week, cleaning ... they never change the sheets ...!!
its not a 4 stars hotel .. i give it 2 stars or little less. rooms are not modern and you must pay insurance for the TV remot control and you will only watch euro news and Bulgarian chanels ... internet connection only in the looby.
the good thing in this hotel are :
Location, swiming pool and room price.
for me next time i will look for another hotel even if i paid more ...
Have a nice time in sunny Beach ... its a good place for summer

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kuwaiti_Traveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This journey was the most terrible in my life.
In the hotel there were many young Deutsch boy, who were very impolite and aggressive.
They hit my son with the ball and they didn't let us into the pool but the staff didn't do anything.
The staff wasn't so helpful with the English, Russian, and Hungarian guests, but they were so helpful and kind with Deutsch people.
We couldn't sleep there, because the young Deutsch boys shouted all night and day.
The cleaner was very kind. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kisvakond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

bad points:
during 7 nights - almost 4 without AC
food- below standart
dutry dining room
no activities in this hotel
only water to drink during the meals, if you "all included" guest we may drink some kind of sweet concentrate
i dont think that this is 4 star hotel as it claimed to be.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank veiner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Where do I start? Hotel is supposed to be a 4*, just about manages 2. Very impressive looking from the front & the lobby/reception is nice, that is where it stops. They have no idea what all inc means, had to get special permission to get a diet drink (diabetic) from the bars, even all inc you are expected to pay for them. There is a bar in the lobby, but you have to pay for drinks, you are not allowed to bring drinks from the other bars into the lobby or to your room, fine of 10 euros. There are 2 bars, the pool bar which only has 5 tables & the Tavern (dungeon) which is downstairs & very depressing which also closes at 11pm. The dining room is not big enough for all the guests, one night we couldn't get in so had to eat out, not a hardship. The food was geared solely for Germans, Russians etc, all the food was labeled in what looked like German and there was only a choice of about 2 or 3 main dishes plus chips and spaghetti. The main dish was a sort of stew every night & lunchtime, either lamb or chicken, there was fried chicken once. The pool seemed to have enough sunbeds but they were hard plastic with no cushions on. We were also unlucky with the weather and this is when you realise that the hotel has nothing there, no entertainment, you can't sit in the lobby & read with a drink unless you pay for it, the only hot drinks available were tea or coffee, I don't drink either. It was situated on a busy T junction, the main drag & the road to the beach, very noisy until at least 2.30 am. The beach was nice, wide & sandy, although the sunbeds were 7 Levs each as were the umbrellas. The hotel was full with a large group of teenagers which were extremely noisy into the small hours with their shouting in the corridors & hammering on each others room doors. Most of the resort's bars & restaurants have good food & cocktails, the happy hour seems to be most of the day as well as the night. Considering we were all inc we spent a lot of money eating out and sitting in bars for something to do. All in all a very unpleasant holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keanufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ewuniunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Aronia Beach
Aronia Beach
#61 of 221 in Sunny Beach
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#167 of 221 in Sunny Beach
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viand
Hotel Viand
#72 of 221 in Sunny Beach
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Victoria Hotel
Grand Victoria Hotel
#92 of 221 in Sunny Beach
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#24 of 221 in Sunny Beach
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#85 of 221 in Sunny Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $33 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colosseum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Colosseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing