We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing vacation”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from Ralitsa 4 Superior Ultra All inclusive.
This was our forth time at the Ralitsa Superior, I have apreciated a lot the Landscape.
Year by year the quality of all services decrease and the new staff is less educated, polite...
It's probably easiest also for me to give a list of good and bad points!
Good points:
Albena is a pretty resort, it's in the middle of the forest, there is a nice green area.
The best thing about the hotel was the pool.The hotel had 3 lovely pools which were never too busy and other 3 pools from Ralitsa 3 that can be used.
The hotel provided free loungers on the beach which again were plentiful and the beach bar down there was part of the Ultra All inclusive so you didn't need to go back to the hotel for lunch or spend extra on the beach for ice creams and drinks.

Bad points:
Even if the rooms were cleanead corectily our toilet and room smelt of mouldy from first day.
Also at the first floor the hall smelt of mouldy.
The family that who had to accoomodate 4 person (2 kids) in one room it's very hard. Very Small rooms in the new buiding.
I don't like to eat meat and struggled to find enough variety/fresh each day.
With a few exceptions the bar staff were rude & either unwilling or unable to deal with simple requests for drinks in english.
Many of the bar staff didn't know how to make cocktails from the list.
The hair dryer was brocken - they did manage to fix that
Damaged plugs sockets, can cause electric shocks, - they did manage to fix that. (pay attention for kids)
Poor internet connection
Almost identical food every day
Unespected insects in our room.


Overall I don't think I would reccomend this hotel and I don't intend to return back.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the K block. Don't accept a room in the new building on first and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
71
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Rooms are nice and clean, all inclusive buffet is only decent so it can become a problem for couples which stay a whole week, drinks quality is rather poor, check-in and -out services are a disaster, comfortable parking, very nice pool, showers in the room are not convenient and need mentenance. Good beds and air conditioning sistem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voicu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

After reading negative reviews about the Ralistia Superior I was very happy with all aspects of my holiday, yes if I really wanted to I could nit pick about things. As a family of 4 we found plenty to do ,never once could we not get a sunbed so I was setting the alarm not to miss breakfast .The food was on a par with most all inclusive hotels , the service was quite good , although sometimes had to wait for the freshly cooked food as the chef couldn't keep up with demand.We never used the free bus to the beach as it was not to far too walk (10 mins) great fun in the afternoons when the waves picked up . All in all top holiday for the price we paid so well done Balken Holidays for having this resort in your brochure and we would certainly recomend this resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed there at the beginning of July and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is nice, although the room was not very spatious, but enough for 2 adults with 2 children. The shuttle to the beach was crowded during the peak times, but that was not a real issue, as it is a short ride. The restaurant was great with a wide variety of food, having also different options for kids. Overall we really loved it and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank delm282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobrich, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was our third time at the Ralitsa Superior, we have also stayed in the 3* Ralitsa as well.
Our room was a Superior Family Room with two Balconies that overlooked the pool, the sea, and with views of the neighbouring town of Kranevo and inland villages. The room was spacious, airconditioned, with television, fridge and bathroom with toilet, bidet, sink, shower/bath and a seperate room with an additional toilet and sink. The room was cleaned daily and towels were changed every day.
The hotel has excellent facilities, 4 pools to choose from with sunbeds and umbrellas, cushions for the sunbeds and the pools were all well kept. The restaurant and bars are all clean and tidy with a good range of drinks available, food whilst a little bit repetitive is of a very good quality for Bulgaria.
The staff are generally polite and helpful, the only exception being the male bar staff in the lobby bar, who can be rude. Strangely enough over the four years we have visited the staff are the same.....including the rude ones!
There is a great childrens club, and the entertainment team work really hard putting on 6 super shows each week. The theatre in which they are held is also good
The hotel is owned by PrimaSol and guests are predominantly German, Russian and Romanian. Some people have a problem with this, but they are far preferable to mainly British guests. Over the four years of visiting we have never witnessed any bad behaviour or drunkeness by any of the guests other than the British, and even then only one family!
This is a family hotel that can be easily recommended. There is little noise at night and the hotel is very quiet by 11.30pm with most people and their children having gone to bed. Though there are also younger groups and older ones too.
The Ultra All Inclusive Package is excellent, it is very difficult to spend any money.
The hotel also has a beach area with a free bus service where you can enjoy, beach beds, umbrellas and food and drinks at the beach all included in the deal.
I hope to return in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is my first foray into All inclusive and Bulgaria and have to say I wasn't too impressed with either. It's probably easiest to give a list of good and bad points!

Good points:
Albena is a pretty resort
The hotel had 3 lovely pools which were never too busy
The entertainment staff were friendly and polite
The hotel provided free loungers on the beach which again were plentiful and the beach bar down there was part of the all inclusive so you didn't need to go back to the hotel fo lunch or spend extra on the beach for ice creams and drinks.
There were plenty of options for where and when you could eat
Most drinks were available on the All inclusive deal including a good choice of cocktails (though many of the bar staff didn't know how to make them!)

Bad points
Some of the bar staff were very rude and didn't like it if you asked for more than a couple of drinks or anything too complicated.
While we were there the entertainment including kids disco was in a hall where you couldn't take in alcohol. My sister chose this resort so she could take the kids to the disco while she enjoyed a couple of drinks on an evening and was disappointed when this didn't happen.
We were in the infamous k block! The rooms were definitely not 4 star and were very small particularly for my sister and her family who had to accoomodate 4 in there. Though the rooms were clean our toilet smelt of mouldy cheese for two days when we first arrived.
The food was fairly boring. I don't eat meat and struggled to find enough variety each day. Even the pizza's and pasta would be covered in meat which was frustrating. Everything is oversalted and covered in dill. I also had a stomach bug which put me off the food even more!

Overall I don't think I would reccomend this hotel and don't intend to return. It's not 4 start but the price you paid probably should have told you this.

Also I don't mind Bulgaria airways, they were a little slapdash and the food options are a bit rubbish but the alcohol is pretty cheap for an airline (£3.50 for a small bottle of wine!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelScrabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This review is for the 4* Ralitsa Superior. I'm sure other people who have stayed here have put reviews down under the other Ralitsa, which is a 3* but on the same site. Actually, getting used to the layout of the hotel complex - which also includes a third hotel called the Vita Park - is half the battle when it comes to staying here. There are various facilities such as pools and bars which you can use if you want if you are a guest here, whereas other facilities like restaurants you can't - and I'm not sure if their guests can use the 4* facilities as they are supposedly "better" - confused? You will be!

Basically this is a decent standard package holiday hotel which offers what it calls Ultra All Inclusive. That means all your food and drink is included, and there is a good selection of all the alcoholic drinks you could possibly want available, as well as quite a few cocktails. Food is generally good - the veal in particular was delicious, although choice was not quite as wide as other all-inclusives I've been to. The canteen was perfectly acceptable, but I do wish they would pension off the "entertainment" who were there most nights. If I heard "If You Leave Me Now" once, I heard it a thousand times. Oh, that reminds me, I hope you like Titanic if you stay here, because you will be hearing "My Heart Will Go On" thousands of times as well. Do they have any other CDs?!

The rooms were small and smelt of smoke when we arrived, although this dissipated during our stay. Unfortunately I don't think the concept of non-smoking rooms has caught on yet in Bulgaria. The room was a bit frayed around the edges - my bedside light was broken and never got fixed, although I reported it. And the towel rail fell apart as well, though they did manage to fix that. Aircon was very good - efficient and quiet, and our room (which wasn't in the dreaded K block - see other reviews) had a pleasant, quiet outlook over a wooded area. The main issue with the room was the very hard foam mattress, which was too firm for comfort and also got quite hot and sweaty during the night - and not in a good way! Having said that, it can't have been too bad, becasue I did actually sleep very well while I was there. I looked at it one day and it was an orthopaedic mattress. This makes sense as most of the guests are of an older generation.

The best thing about the hotel was the pool. It was a good size, with plenty of sunloungers for everybody (going in September no doubt helped with that.) I found it incredibly relaxing and an ideal place to nod off or read a book. Mainly because of that, I actually had a lovely, relaxing holiday here and came back feeling very refreshed. Certainly not always the case after a holiday.

I am aware this review swings from being critical to being positive quite a lot, but that is what this place is like and, in many ways, what Bulgaria is like too. It is a place very much in transition from the old, Communist days into what I hope will be a very bright future ahead. The service in the hotel also reflected that - sometimes very helpful, cheerful and accommodating, but sometimes surly and almost eye-rolling. It was impossible to predict what you were going to get from one day to the next. On the whole it was fine and the front desk spoke good English, although German is definitely the main foreign language spoken here.

Overall, I would recommend it here, but people need to be aware that it is not fully up to Western standards in every single area and must be prepared to live with that. The cheapness of a holiday here makes up for that, in my opinion. The really important things - good food and a relaxing ambience - are here for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the K block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.2 mi away
PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Grand
Flamingo Grand
#5 of 31 in Albena
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaliakra
Hotel Kaliakra
#11 of 31 in Albena
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Borjana
Hotel Borjana
#6 of 31 in Albena
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amelia
Hotel Amelia
#3 of 31 in Albena
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#12 of 31 in Albena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel

Property: Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel
Address: Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Hotel Ralitsa Superior )
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Albena
#3 Spa Hotel in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modernly built family Primasol Ralitsa Superior is quietly situated at 800 meters from the beach in Albena. The hotel has 2 main buildings - a 6-floor building and a 5-floor building. The 246 rooms and apartments are air- conditioned and modernly furnished. Guests can rent out a fridge and a safety box at the hotel's reception. The Primasol Ralitsa Superior offers All-inclusive Plus services. Beverages are available from 10 till 23 o'clock. A sunshade and 2 beach chairs on the beach are included in the room rate. There are 3 outdoor and 1 indoor swimming pools with a Jacuzzi area as well as 3 children's pools. The Spa Center in the hotel consists of 12 treatment rooms, offering a variety of massages and treatments, a steam bath and a fitness room. Buffet restaurant with a terrace, a bar, 2 a-la-carte restaurants, a lounge and a lobby bar are also located at the premises of the hotel. All guests staying at the hotel receive free entry and access to the water attractions of the adjacent aqua park Aqua Mania (from 1st of June till 15th of September). Rich animation program is offered six days per week. The Primasol Ralitsa Superior offers a shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach restaurant Rai where guests can enjoy lunch. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in the hotel lobby and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ralitsa Superior Albena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing