We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back for a second time”
Review of Hotel Gergana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gergana
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2011

once again a brilliant holiday in the best hotel in Albena. Staff are very friendly, the restaurant manager, his assistant manager, the best chef in Albena, his assistant chefs. The reception staff and bar staff are very polite and all speak good english. The chamber maids look after the rooms on a daily basis without any problems, there is a great choice of food at all meals. We will be back for a third time next year, that's a promise

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have stayed here on several occasions and feel quite safe as a solo traveller.
The hotel is comfortable, right on the beach, most of the staff are friendly, although some of the bar staff could do with a customer relations course. the food is OK for the first week, a bit momotonous if you're staying longer. the resort is safe, the beach is fantastic, plenty of greenery, not all high rise hotels, and lovely to walk round at night, or take the noddy train if you don't or can't walk far. A much quieter resort than most, family or couples orientated, and not a huge amount of night life.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sumed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I recently stayed for 2 weeks at the Gergana hotel with my wife, we have stayed in Albena twice before and in our opinion this is definately the best hotel in the resort. We had a room overlooking the sea which was brilliant, to sit on the balcony and have the sun on you until 5 p m. The room was cleaned every day. On our 2 previous visits the food wasnt that good and we had to eat out a few times but at the Gergana the food was really good and we didnt go out to eat at all.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only downside to our holiday was that we left it quite late in the year to go and the resort was very quiet with a lot of the hotels closing down for the winter and the restaurants and bars were very quiet. The hotel is right on the beach which is very beautiful.
We would certainly go back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babybooShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Just returned from a great fortnight and can't fault the hotel. It's clean throughout, in the rooms, restaurant, lobby and elsewhere in general. The staff were helpful, spoke good English and friendly (with the exception of the lobby bar staff). The bedroom had what you needed, was cleaned daily, we didn't use the minibar but was a nice option. The bathroom has a shower, and although we prefer baths, it wasn't something that bothered us. The restaurant was spacious and had a great variety of food for all. It was nice to have non-watered down lager in all four bars, and also a good selection of drinks though you do have to pay for imported drinks which didn't bother us as were aware of it beforehand. The pool area wasn't very big and the pool water was very cold during the second week, but with a friendly lifeguard roving the beds and mattresses anywhere, we enjoyed it around the pool. We did on the beach right at the front with again friendly staff, and the beach and water were great.
Albena itself is more spacious than you expect but with a good choice of bars, restaurants and shops which suited us, and in easy reach due to the Noddy trains. We recommend Nessebar and Golden Sands if you want to venture out.
Overall we had a great time, but would go a bit earlier in the year. We did expect some cloudy days and a breeze, even some cold nights, but we immensely enjoyed the 2 weeks here and gladly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Safc1973_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Gergana from 10-17th September 2010 on an all-inclusive basis, with two relatives and two friends. The prices were very very reasonable. The hotel was very clean and the bathroom was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. Very spacious and modern bedroom area which would probably benefit from some more storage.
The shower (due to the strange shower sceen) meant that the bathroom floor flooded each time you used it, and although it didn't matter because you are given fresh towels each day, it is worth noting.
The food at the start of the holiday was better than at the end, and it does become a bit samey. Good selection of salads, but I feel that they try to offer too much selection in the main dish area, so over the days it becomes monotonous, and I think they re-cycle dishes that don't get eaten, so be careful if you want to avoid bad stomaches! I also think that if they used the air con in the restaurant it would avoid having to look at flies sitting on some of the salad and desert areas which can also be a bit off-putting! Service in the main bar was excellent, great barman and great service. Good service at reception also.
The prices of drinks in the hotel (after the all inclusive finishes) is really reasonable, as are the prices in the town bars. The tex-mex restaurant servces lovely food, and they have an authentic mexican band who play Mariachi music - fantastic. Well worth a visit.
This was my first time to Bulgaria, and I would pay a return visit to the resort and most likely to the same hotel. One last thing - ask for sparkling white wine at the hotel bars - much nicer than the ordinary white wine, which in my opinion is awful!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReadingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I have been to this hotel every year since 2008 and i am going back again next year,me and my family love it! Theres a night club five minutes away on the little train,it doesn't become lively till around the end of June though.The staff are very friendly,i have made friends with a few of them.I cant wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tannedbeauty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Don't listen to negative points. The hotel was lovely & clean. The only minus point was the pool area could do with some updating. Not enough umbrella to start with but this was corrected after a word with the rep. Staff friendly. Bedrooms roomy and clean. I went for 3 weeks and going back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchiePortsmourth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mura
Hotel Mura
#11 of 31 in Albena
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Borjana
Hotel Borjana
#3 of 31 in Albena
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Blue Hotel
Paradise Blue Hotel
#16 of 31 in Albena
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Flamingo Grand
Flamingo Grand
#2 of 31 in Albena
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laguna Garden
Hotel Laguna Garden
#14 of 31 in Albena
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nona
Hotel Nona
#18 of 31 in Albena
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gergana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gergana

Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albena
Price Range: $86 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gergana 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gergana is located directly at the beach in proximity to the reserve Baltata, famous for its natural dense forests and rare species. It consists of 293 comfortable rooms and offers All Inclusive meal and beverage services in its buffet restaurant, 2 bars and a pool bar. All guests accommodated for minimum 7 nights benefit from the Dine Around throughout the entire summer season. There are 2 lounge chairs and a sun umbrella available per room. They can be used on the beach or at the hotel's swimming pool, which also has a children's section. A children's playground and a six-day- a- week diverse entertainment program for adults and children are at the disposal of the guests of Hotel Gergana. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gergana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gergana Hotel Albena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing