We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Hotel Mura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mura
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Albena
yebass
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We found the albena beach club to be a clean well maintained hotel, right on the beach. The all inclusive meals were quite repetitive, so we started eating out in the evening. Although I did like the pizzas and ice creams provided at the snack bar during the day. I reccommend a trip to Varna and Bulchick (Балчик), as Albena does not really have enough going on to keep one entertained for an entire week, but was still an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    47
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
69
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My boyfriend and myself headed to bulgaria for a nice, relaxing holiday and this is what we found. Location was amazing, most all inclusives that i have been to are out of the way and often require a taxi to the nearby resort. This was not the case and if you fancied a trip into albena you could just walk along the beach. It took about 20mins but was pleasant of an evening.
ROOM:
rooms were average, nothing spectacular. Had a tv but mainly broadcast german channels. Again, this is the norm for most european countries so wasn't disappointed
FOOD:
breakfast was the best meal of the day!! there was such a variety and if you timed it right the food would all be fresh. You could have pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal, hams and cheeses and there was full english availiable aswell. lunch was remarkably similar to dinner and as long as your not scared to try anything you'll be ok. There was fresh salad available and again fruits and cakes. Always something for everyone. Only problem with the food was that on my 2nd night i was extremely ill. After spending 12 hours by the toilet i wasn't going to let it ruin my holiday and went back out to sit by the pool. After talking to others staying, it seemed that the majority of women were ill that same evening, no men!! my only assumption was that there was something wrong with the salad!!!! this was the only evening i was ill and it didnt stop me eating anything the rest of the holiday.
POOL:
there are 2 pools at the hotel but if you walk up the road you can use the pool at the other hotel. we prefered the 2 smaller pools as it was quieter and more relaxed here. also found this was where most of the english stayed! beach was beautiful, and pool area/beach was always clean.
overall cleanliness was good, maids always were happy to help and bar staff were friendly.

  • Liked — location, pool/beach
  • Disliked — variety of food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Were upgraded to the Albeana beach hotel after arriving in Bulgaria, after a bumpy trip via coach to the resort we arrived in darkness (1am in morning) so waited until morning to check out the site................

We where very very pleased, hotel is right on the beach, fantastic views of the very very clean beach just great.

Food was really nice, cold meats, cheeses, local dishes etc no problems feeding the kids either (ages 6, 2, 1)

Good BBQ menu all day long as well with ice creams etc.

Staff where really really friendly no problems at all, i know lots of people have said staff were not nice but i can only say we had no problem and they just loved the kids.

Entertainment a bit tongue in cheek but still a good laugh, didnt stay on till too late either which was good for small children as no noise late at night (very good for little ones)

Room was great very big with great balcony lots and lots of room.

Only down side was they seem to put a lot or cleaning product in the pool and my 6 year old got a rash from this as well as some other children, so just be aware of this.

Bulgaria itself was very pretty and well recommeded - and very very cheep in price for everything, Great holiday would deff go back again. loved it.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank beccaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We have been going to Albena for the last 6 Years, last year we were upgraded to the Albena Beach Club, the hotel is in a superb spot right on the beach, so able to use either beach or pool, Pool at the Gergana is nicer if you have children though. The apartments were very spacious with two balconies with sea view or street view so couldn't ask for more, apartments were cleaned daily. Hotel food good a bit repative buts thats hotels for you. Plenty of drink available very friendly bar staff especially Ilian, he recommended a local shot of something for upset tummies, whatever it was did the trick. We have had some excellent portraits done of the kids I recommend the one outside the Albena Beach club works out about 20 pounds per head. Want a good night out go for a short stroll down into albena centre to the Banana bar at the Laguna Garden Hotel they have a duet playing every evening a great party atmosphere we have made great friends with George & his family who looks after the pool there and some Norwegians which again have been going there for the last 5 years, also very friendly staff. Plenty of stalls to mooch around on craft street. If you want to go shopping I recommend Dobrich, Meals & Drink even cheaper. kranvo is very cheap too a short walk up the beach to the right of the hotel. Going back again this year but unable to get the Albena Beach Club though. Have even got my parents hooked on Albena thoroughly reccomend it to anybody. Our Children absolutley love it there, and the Bulgarians are great with the kids.

Hardings Gloucestershire

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbenaFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Me and my fiance have just been reading some of the reviews and were laughing out loud by some of the comments that we read, do not let the reviews you read on this hotel put you off, this hotel is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in.

The hotel is cleaned throughout the whole of the day, even up until midnight, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the reception is open 24 hours with somebody there all the time.

The food was really nice and always plenty of variety, the bar was always up and running and never ran out of alcohol, in the evening we went over to the gergana hotel were you could also use your all inclusive and again the staff over there were very friendly and get you any drink you like.

albena was about a 10 minute walk away and was a lovely little place you could walk along the road side or along the walkway on the beach they had some lovely little handcraft stalls and shops.

We would recommend this hotel to everyone we know and are returning to bulgaria this year because we enjoyed our holiday so much.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulgariafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel as it was highly recommended to us by first choice. We are 20 and 23. We booked for the 27th sept till 5th oct and we were told it would be boiling hot and also that the resort wouldnt close until 3 weeks later so we would have full use of facilities and nightlife locally. This was all a lie as the resort shut down on the 29th and the hotel shut on the 3rd). We arrived and as we were upgraded from the ralitsa (which was shut due to extreme food poisioning - two people in intensive care), the hotel stuck us in a room that was on the main corridor - people walking down to breakfast banging on all the doors as they went past at half 7 in the morning. the all inclusive food was appaling the same food every day and it was reused from breakfast and lunch and put into dinner in the form of "paella". the fruit and bread were left out all week and were stale. flies all over the fruit. the food made a lot of people sick lots of tummy bugs all holiday. we ate out a lot due to this. they ran out of ice cream and as the hotel closed on the 3rd (we booked until the 5th) they wouldnt get any more in. a lot of food ran out this way. the hotel closed on the 3rd and we actually got to eat at the gregarna which was fantastic. the food all had hair in as well - we took pictures of this and complained to staff who just laughed in our face - this was the manager. the all inclusive stopped at 10.50 pm instead of 11 - the rep even got her manager down but the hotel wouldnt change anything. it was that bad the area manager was down twice. we spoke to many couples on this holiday and some even cried they were that frustrated. the rep ran out of complaint forms as everyone we spoke to complained. i didnt actually meet anyone who was happy with the hotel. the swimming pool advertised in the brochure isnt at the beach club - its actually the gregarna and is a 200m walk. the hotel pool is tiny. there are birds that ate the pizza at the snack bar. the sea is full of jelly fish. the resort closed down on the 29th so there was 4 restaurants open and no nightlife. we visited golden sands which was just up the road and a lot nicer. the excursions were worth going on as it took a away a lot of the tedium. we visited the dolphinarium in varna (watch out for pickpockets), went on the army truck safari and went to the fiesta bulgaria which were very enjoyable. the hotel was a complete waste of money and the staff were so rude and unhelpful. the only good thing about the whole place was that it was clean. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone. Albena beach club and the whole area of albena needs more money poured into it to improve it. the southerner resorts (sunny beach and golden sands) are worht visiting. bulgaria is a lovely country and most of the people are very friendly and depend on tourism but it is a shame that we had such a bad time as we would think twice about visiting the country again.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heavierthanheaven87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2007

well where do i start hotel staff very rude food not fit for a dog we paid for all inclucive but we had to eat out because nothing left in resturant most of the time bar ran out of vodka, beer, and soft drinks if you were lucky enough to get a drink in the hotel you got it in a paper cup if you asked for a glass you were told NO but if you were germam the hotel staff would have kissed your butt we would never go back again so if you want a good holiday dont go to albena beach club mark jean from hamilton scotland

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gergana
Hotel Gergana
#11 of 31 in Albena
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavuna
Hotel Slavuna
#13 of 31 in Albena
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Borjana
Hotel Borjana
#5 of 31 in Albena
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amelia
Hotel Amelia
#2 of 31 in Albena
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nona
Hotel Nona
#18 of 31 in Albena
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Grand
Flamingo Grand
#3 of 31 in Albena
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mura

Property: Hotel Mura
Address: Albena Beach, Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Albena Beach Club)
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mura 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mura is situated directly at the beachfront, close to Balata Reserve, famous for its natural dense forests and rare species and 900 meters from the center of Albena. Like most hotels in the resort, hotel Mura has a specific terraced architecture. There are 186 air-conditioned comfortable rooms in the hotel including Junior suites with sea view and spacious apartments. Mura Hotel provides All-Inclusive formula with buffet-style meals, snacks and local beverages. The buffet style restaurant at the Mura organizes theme evenings with traditional Bulgarian and Mediterranean cuisine. All guests accommodated for minimum 7 nights benefit from the Dine Around throughout the entire summer season. There are 2 free beach chairs and a sun umbrella available on the beach in front of the hotel or at the swimming pool. Mura Hotel offers rich entertainment program for children and adults 6 days per week. Volleyball or basketball matches at the beach are organized for the guests. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albena Beach Hotel
Albena Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing