We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been in better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“been in better”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

The hotel couldnt have been cleaner,the pool area was spacious ,the pool needed a good clean my 2 children both had ear infection. The food was cold,greasy,and sometimes unedible and uncooked. The second week we had to eat out most of the time so my children could eat and they are not fussy eaters.You are treated like second class citizens over the germans. All the drinks come in plastic cups. The best thing were the cleaners who kept your rooms top class.

  • Liked — clenliness
  • Disliked — food,entertainment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizdiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    95
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
160
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Ralitsa Hotel. Having read mixed reviews before leaving we were worried about what we were going to find. All I can say is, we had an excellent time and enjoyed our stay at the Ralitsa and would certainly go back for a cheap holiday. We would have no quarms about recommending this place to anyone. For an All Inclusive stay for well under £600 for 2 people, there is certainly nothing that can beat it. We travelled with First Choice for the 1st time, will be using them again, all staff were extremely friendly which included the Reps! The hotel was well maintained and generally very clean. We spent a lot of our time at the quieter pool as the 'noisy' pool where all the activities take place can be a bit much when you just want to relax! Food...... most reviews go on and on about the poor standard, but we always found something to eat and be of a high standard. The only downside was the free drink ended at 11pm. We just stockpiled instead so all was good! Albena is a lovely place with something for everyone with excellent beaches, although All Inclusive we did make the point of going out to eat purely because it is so cheap to do so £17 for two course meal including drinks. We also tried one of the excursions offered, we did the yacht trip and would certainly recommend this (although at £35 per person, a little pricey, but well worth it considering everything is so cheap out there and for the experience). We did find the locals a little more friendly than in the hotel but there was nothing that ruined our experience. Excellent holiday!! Recommended

  • Liked — The pools and widespread nature of the hotel
  • Disliked — Staff not as friendly as they could be
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sunworshipper_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Ok well i was really worried before we arrived due to alot of the reviews not being good.

In our group was 8 of us 6 adults and two kids 4 and 6, we were quite suprised and ejoyed our two weeks holiday.

The only two let downs were the food as most of our group was fussy eaters, but it did get alot better the second week, and the other was the day trip as alot of people who were there the same time as us said not to go on them as they were a rip off.

But we paid £550.00 each for two week all in so what can you say you would pay at least £400.00 for self catered if you book a year before.

At then end of the day the hotel and facilities were very clean and there are 3 pools which are also very clean.

i would give the holiday 7/10

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — The food - well the smell in the resturant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jkindred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, LINCOLNSHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Great for the price we paid. Food OK - there's something for everyone. There is something slightly different everyday and if you don't like the change stick to basic pasta, meat, chips, bread & salad. The restaurant that you book into is Russian based. Nice if you like stews but not our cuppa tea in the middle of summer. The pools are very nice, great for a relaxing, round the pool all week holiday with the poolside bars. Rooms reasonable in 2nd building, sort of 70's/80's style - plain & simple. Could do with renovating but for the price of £275 All In each for the week, it was adequate. Do expect to be in the 2nd building & not the plush hotel the other side. You can go in that hotel where the bars are slightly more plush. Town great for shopping - sooo cheap & you can bartar further. Bowling, horse-riding & casino just down the road. I recommend the jeep trip through hotel as it is a great day out. Great for all ages.

Down sides are that there is NO entertainment so boring. We ended up catching little train into town every night - much livelier. Beach a good 15/20 minutes walk but very nice - better and busier if you walk a further 10 minutes up the beach. Small road runs through hotel, not very busy but IS a road to get to the main complex if in the 2nd building. Pictures of hotel do do the hotel a favour. All in all 3* cheap holiday. Good if your prepared to slightly venture every evening.

P.S. Expect weather to be the same as here - one day really hot and sunny (32C) and then cloudy all day next day (20C).

  • Liked — Food and Pools
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barber01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We booked this holiday a week before, just as a cheap deal to get away after reading all the bad reviews i was concerned at what it was going to be like... When we arrived in Bourgas to get on the bus the rep said 3 hours transfer time, everyone was not happy but it only actually took just over 2 hours. Beware when we got to the hotel the porter took our suitcases to the rooms he couldnt wait to pick them up he then wanted a tip we had no change as this was 6.30 in the morning he was quite rude when we refused to give him one! The hotel itself was just a bit tired just needed repainting, the rooms were very clean and the maids were really nice. The food was great couldnt fault it no one had a upset stomach either so that was good. Breakfast was great, especially if you like a full english. I found the staff abit rude but as other people say i think maybe it was due to there lack of english. The pools were great there was always free sunbeds. There was lots of children there and they could be very loud in the mornings.Although you had to pay for air conditioning we didnt actually have it as there was no need as at night it would be quite breezy. This hotel is ideal for a cheap break, i would'nt go there again but is very good value for money as we only paid 300.00 pound each. Massive complex... Please do not pay to much attention to bad reveiws as in this case you get what you pay for. Overall we had a good time.

  • Liked — Swimming Pools
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmoo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Just got back from our family hols at the ralitsa 3*. After reading some reveiws we were really worried about taking our 4 girls to bulgaria, but honestly we had a fab time. We didnt arrive at the hotel till 1am. There was a coach load of us trying to check in at the same time and only 2 reception staff but they were very quick and helpfull. Yes you do have men waiting outside to take your cases off the coach and expect a tip but you only have to say no thanks and do it yourself if you dont want to tip them. The hotel rooms are very basic but spotlessly clean. The food was very good something there for all taste even the kids, If you have a sweet tooth like me then expect to put on a few pounds as the desserts are to die for. Snack bar a god send when kids didnt want to get out of pool for lunch so would go to snack bar for pizza, pasta, chips or salad when they wanted to.
Pools were amazing. You have got a choice a really noisey one where you get entertained for most of the day or a quiet pool with a waterfall which kids love jumping off. Animation team very friendly and dont favour the germans over anybody. They try to involve everybody with activities. The town is really nice only advice i give is make sure you agree a price before you go on horse and carriage as they will try to ripe you off. Best bar is the irish bar staff really friendly. I will certainly go back to albena and the ralitsa hotel.

  • Liked — swimming pools
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jobowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Just arrived home from a week long stay at 3* Ralitsa. There is a 4* area as part of the same complex, but they get to use the same facilities as the 3*. After reading the reviews of 2006 we weren't looking forrward to this trip at all, but were pleasantly surprised.

We flew to Bourgas which has a 2 1/2 hour transfer to resort. If you can, fly to Varga which would cut the transfer time to 30-45 minutes.

We were the only ones going to the hotel so got a private transfer! Just luck. Sandwiches and drinks had been left in our room which we didn't eat but it was a nice gesture.

Expect Travel Lodge type accomdation. Basic, but clean and comfy. The standards of cleanliness are totally fine. It is the best shower I have had in all the trips away to package type deals - power shower, and also clean.

Air con costs extra. We bought it, but it wasn't really needed - it was hot but not unbearable. 25 lev per week (about £10).

The swimming pools are great. We spent most of our time at the quieter one, away from the Animation Staff, who would become a pain at trying to involve you in Volleyball, Darts, swimming races etc etc. Great for kids though to keep them entertained. There was a total mix of nationalities - British, Germans, Russians, Bulgarians and French. There was no conflict and I assure you that there was no obvious preferential treatment of any nationality.

The bar staff and animation staff are excellent - very friendly, with good English.

No towells are provided for use at the pool - so either take your own or buy them in resort. They are really cheap but poor quality. Mats for your loungers at the poolside also cost extra - 2 lev per day. Again we didn't bother.

We ate out a few times as the food and canteen area becomes monotonous. We just fancied a change. The food is good, with great selection. The staff are standoffish, due we thought to a lack of English. They may have been told not to interact much with the guests. The kitchen staff are spotless, and the standards of clenliness in the restaurant area is also good. We had no illness, and did not hear of anyone being ill when we were there.

Albena itself is very quaint, very small, but the bigger resort of Sandy Beaches is only 15 minutes away in a taxi. Taxi's are the same price at the hotel or in Albena centre. They display their prices, but it's worth a haggle!

The Noddy Train (Number 2) runs a circuit from Albena centre to the hotel. 2 Lev per person per trip. Kids will love it.

We ate out at The Old House on the beach front, and at a place on the main street calles Hatuma Matata's. It's not well signed, but is opposite The Flamingo Hotel. Both are reasonably cheap and the food was good. I imagine all the places to be much the same.

The return transfer to the airport was the same, only us. It's a bit disturbing when the rep and driver put their seatbelts on, when there are none fitted in the rear of the mini buses. The roads are windy, unlit and poor quality in places. Take your travel sickness pills if you suffer badly! The drivers travel too quick but that said we made it safely.

It seems that the bad press of last year may have prompted them to quite literally clean up their act.

All in all it was a typical package deal - cheap and good value for money. Good luck...

  • Liked — Friendly Bar Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RaveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.2 mi away
Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Grand
Flamingo Grand
#5 of 31 in Albena
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amelia
Hotel Amelia
#3 of 31 in Albena
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kaliakra
Hotel Kaliakra
#11 of 31 in Albena
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Borjana
Hotel Borjana
#6 of 31 in Albena
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#12 of 31 in Albena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub

Property: PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub
Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Hotel Ralitsa)
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Albena
#1 Spa Hotel in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub Hotel is situated in peaceful green surroundings 850 metres from the beach in Albena. In 2014 the hotel became part of the German chain 'Primasol'. It offers comfortable accommodation in 285 luxuriously modernized rooms and 15 villas, corresponding to the European standards for category 4 stars. The lobby bar, the restaurant, the foyer and the hallways are completely renovated. All guests staying at the hotel receive free entry and access to the water attractions of the adjacent aqua park Aqua Mania. The Hotel offers Ultra All-Inclusive services with beverages served 24 hours a day. The guests can enjoy 2 outdoor pools for adults and children and an indoor pool for free. At their disposal are a main buffet restaurant, Rai Beach Restaurant offering lunch, 2 a la carte restaurants, a snack bar, lobby bar, currency exchange, playgrounds, tennis courts, parking and more. Rich animation program is offered in the hotel six days per week. A fridge and a safety box can be rented at at additional charge. Free shuttle bus on every 30 minutes to Rai Beach Restaurant is available for the guests. 1 free umbrella and two sun beds per room on the beach are available for the guests. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in the hotel lobby and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ralitsa Hotel Albena
Ralitsa Albena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing