We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place in Sri Lanka”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Cookie Aunt

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kosgoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Guido C
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place in Sri Lanka ”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had holidays in Sri Lanka from 1st to 19th august and we spent here the first six and last three days. Villa Cookie Aunt is the best place possible in all the country! The house is big, clean, with wonderful pool and garden, but first of all the owner (Sulalitha) and all his family are really lovely! Their kindness and disposability are totally unmatched in Sri Lanka! The food is great, the bathroom is very nice ("outdoor" as in Maldives!).
You can ask passage to Sulalitha son (Isuranda) with his tuk-tuk and they can help you for everything you need! Great bbq the last night and first of all don't miss the tour that Sulalitha is able to arrange for you in all Sri Lanka! We visited wonderful places thanks to the owner of the Villa and we had the chance to know the real Sri Lanka! Thank you for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnese V
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It so good, I can't say it one sentence”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 weeks in Villa Cookie Aunt and this was amazing vacation! Sulalitha and his family treat us like kings - they were cleaning, cooking, watching our kids, playing football with them, driving us to cinnamon plantation, safari, shops, beach, market - whenever we would like to go or whatever we would like to do - they arranged it all for us.

If you are planning to have some trip through Srilanka - definitely choose Sulalitha as tour guide - he can plan perfect tour and he is so good guide - he knows so much about Srilanka nature, food, politics, economics and social life, he will show you best routes, must see points and other attractions.

Villa itself is very beautiful - really cosy, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, good equipped kitchen, nice pool and garden with beautiful nature sounds - birds, monkeys etc.

Usually we don't return to the places we have been, but it seems that we will be back soon - because Srilanka and this Srilankan family we miss already! Sulalitha wrote me in email before our trip: " You will come as guests and leave as our friends." It was true!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ver0nika1...
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place, where do you want to return”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent 5 nights on a villa. We are very fortunate that we stayed at this wonderful place. Beautiful house, tasteful interior, spacious living room, rooms is very light and clean. Convenient kitchen, it has everything that is necessary and washing machine also. Good quality food (excellent curry), and so we did not need to look for a restaurant. Beach nearby, 5 minutes by tuk-tuk, it was free, so we could use it to get to the store also. The house is located on large area with a nice garden. The beach is also very nice and a good entry into the ocean and on the beach you can find a shady place under the trees.
But I think that important thing in this villa are people and fabulous attitude to the guests. Su and his family really cared about us and also about our children, for this we thank them very much. All are very friendly and helpfull. In this place want to come back.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanda B
Nugegoda, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Private Villa to Experience Kosgoda From”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Villa Cookie Aunt in September for 3 nights. It was an amazing experience. The Villa itself is a refurbished Dutch colonial house dating back 150 years. The woodwork and furnishings are exceptional and really lend to the old Sinhala village house ambience. It has a huge garden surrounded on all sides by tall trees so you have total privacy. There is a private swimming pool. The coolest feature is a well from which you can bathe outdoors - village style.

Sulalitha and his family are amazing hosts, and were constantly at our service from early morning to late night. The food was outstanding. The best southern Sri Lankan food I have had in years. I am not a big eater as I try to keep down my weight. But at Villa Cookie we just couldn't stop eating :).

We went to the Kosgoda beach on two nights around midnight. We were lucky to see turtles on both nights. On the second night we got to see a beautiful green turtle laying eggs. It was one of the coolest experiences of my life. The next morning we went to a turtle hatchery and it was nice to see the little hatchling turtles in their tanks waiting to go out into the ocean.

Sulalitha also took us on a river boat safari of the mangroves of Madu Ganga, and we visited the Kothduwa island temple. We also dropped into the ancient Ganegodella Temple which dates centuries. Caught an amazing sunset from Kosgoda beach on one evening - the sunsets in this part of the country are truly spectacular.

It very much felt like my home in Kosgoda and I was really sad to leave. An amazing adventure in Kosgoda which I will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa, the food and the service
Liked least: It rained a bit during my visit. I wish I had gone when the weather was better.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean_Elli...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf T
Molndal, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almo86
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing