We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find”
Review of Garden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kosgoda
Nuwara Eliya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is a nice little hotel, right on the beach. The rooms we had were very clean and looked newly painted and decorated. The room has A/C and fan, free wi-fi, and a tv with local channels and supposedly cable channels (though we couldn't get any to work well). There is also a small refrigerator if you need it. They have a small pool that was great for our son, especially since no one else was around. There is a small garden next to the pool, with some palm trees for shade and deck chairs to relax in. The beach in front of the hotel was practically deserted (there aren't many hotels in this stretch), so it was great for taking a walk or playing in the sand. No touts or people trying to sell you trinkets and sarongs.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was decent, though a bit expensive (like what you'd pay in a bigger hotel).

All in all, this is a great place to relax at a good price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kplanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We spend 1 nigth at Kusgoda Garden beach; it is a small family hotel with 12 rooms in total. It is managed by a local person, but it is owned by a german who made an investment many years ago. Most of customer were Germans and also the food was coocked taking into consideration main tourist target. Rooms was quite (only ocean wave noise), cleaned enough, overlooking the small and narrow garden where there are a "big Jim & Barbie" pool, and beach stuff to get relaxed while watching the ocean,
To swim it was a little bit dangerius, since wave was really stronger, but we did a long walking on the beach enjoing our time.
Food, services was on average, nothing special.
Free wi-fi connection only on the pubblic area; better than nothing

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roccoandhisbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hotel was the most expensive one we stayed in, in Sri Lanka, and at the same time the "worst". The rooms really can use some renewing: bathroom, airco, windows, curtains.
I think the biggest problem is the fact the manager was never there. The staff is trying to do their best but doesn't speak English and does not know what to do.

Our airco didn't work in the beginning; we had a technician in our room about four times because it broke down all the time.
The shower and toiletseat was covered with mold. The refrigerator was so full of mold we even didn't want to put our food in. Don't blame the cleaner you just can't clean it anymore; it has to be renewed.

The food in the restaurant we ordered could be thrown away immediately. Sorry, I am normally not like that but this was just uneatable! We only ordered some french fries (how difficult can this be?) and we got a plate of french fries which were baked (and salted!) at least 4 times (left overs from the days before?). We tried to make the waiter understand that you could not eat this but he only came with the bill :$.

When we left the manager was not even there (again) when we wanted to pay our bill. Again the waiter, who doesn't speak English, had to handle this. He didn't know how because he forgot we also had to pay for the room. We had to tell him!

Anyway, there were also good things to mention ;)! The bed is really super! The place on the beach is so beautiful!! You can walk there for hours without meeting anyone. And of course you have the turtle hatcheries, about 3 of them, very close by. You can reach them via the beach or the main road. They are really worth a visit!

The people in the village around the hotel are very kind, especially the monks next to the hotel.

Conclusion: could be a lovely hotel with the right management, renewal of airco, bathroom, windows, refrigerator and curtains. Than it might be worth the price we had to pay.
Location is perfect, surroundings are beautiful, there is a nice pool and garden to relax.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank servatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

Located in tsunami-struck Kosgoda, this gem was rebuilt in 2005 and is located in a quiet area just behind a temple.

Attractive with hanging plants on the outside, there is a large reception area and airy terrace restaurant overlooking the lush garden with small pool, palm trees and and plenty of sun loungers.

The hotel has a wonderfully peaceful feel, an oasis of tranquility. Rooms are spacious spotlessly clean and all have a/c. Felt like a princess in my room with cream coloured walls, dark wooden furniture, huge bed and crisp white sheets!

Staff are absolutely lovely and very helpful, and speak English.

Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Liked — Airy, spacious, friendly, clean, good value
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank worldpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2006

Garden Beach Hotel Kosgoda Sri Lanka is a marvelous small hotel with fantastic service. This hotel was completely rebuilt after the Tsunami and offers a quiet retreat for people wanting to recharge their batteries. The rooms are of a high quality. The staff are excellent and can't do enough for you.Good value for money.
All rooms have a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean and a small, quiet swimming pool. Kosgoda is an ideal location for exploring the south of this beautiful island. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
11 Thank Welda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosgoda
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,428 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kosgoda Beach Resort
Kosgoda Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Kosgoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Beach Hotel

Property: Garden Beach Hotel
Address: 642/19 Talgahapitiya Road, Kosgoda 80570, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Kosgoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kosgoda
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing