We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to relax”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel with our family and the hotel was amazing. Their staff is friendly and the overall ambiance of the hotel is very relaxing. They have a private beach, which is clean and superb. Loved staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Catch the beach-facing rooms. The view is mesmerizing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yrazvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka, Wadduwa and look forward to welcome you back for a longer stay perhaps the next time your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had an amazing holiday at blue water
Good rooms
Excellent staff, keen to help and efficient
Brilliant gym and pool
Beach not ideal for swimming though
Fab tours with local company ruchi tours, Thara was a star and knew his local stuff
Thanks to all the guys, Sam, lasantha to name a couple

Room Tip: New suites are very nice but old rooms more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTL955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa and for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest to the hotel.
Your kind compliments are very much appreciated and look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed 2 night and was an truly wonderfull experience been going there many times they just keep getting more and more excellent
1. Rooms are clean ,Peacefull ,excellent sleep and well equiped
2. Staff's Deserve a start wonder full customer service smiling faces every where and not directed at your pockets.
3. Food is the biggest plus wide variety world class taste and satisfying (make sure you use the gym or else be prepared to put on loads of weight for the food which is too good to resisit)
4. easy acces to the shores and well maintained shore line
5.loved the ambiance and infrastructure does make memories happen
6. Swiming pools is big and clean but the clorine is on the heavy side make sure to use gogles


Truly fell in love with Blue waters waduwa it is hotels like this which adds value to srilanka

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool on the ground floor extra room and wonderfull view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGKumarlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa, Sri Lanka and for all the compliments extended to service staff and especially to Chefs department.
We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and kid. Since its close to Colombo (25 km) it wont waste your time in roads. The room was clean and most of the staff was very helpful. I think the special thing in this hotel is nice food with many varieties.

With regard to things to improve I think the lift needs to replaced with a new one. Also some nice grading in the parking area would bring more beauty to the hotel. Also hotel should be more accessible to pushers and wheel chairs. Also deluxe rooms should have more attention of the management, specially with regard to bathroom fittings.

Any way you can have value for money stay here...

Room Tip: superior rooms are much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeeva_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for holidaying at the blue water hotel and for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest.
While we thank you for the compliments extended we have noted the cons you have pointed out for improvement and will be looked in to immediately.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future when your travels bring you closer to Wadduwa.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Returned to The Blue Water for our 10th Anniversary. Everything was just as good as it was 10 years ago. Staff on arrival are very attentive and aware that you have probably have had a tiring journey. Our room was on the ground floor, so you can just walk out to poolside with your own balcony and garden space with sunbed looking onto the Indian Ocean. The pool attendants always are on hand to lay out a foam mat and towels on your sunbed. Our "Deluxe" room was lovely and clean, fully adjustable air con with sat TV. Cleaned every day with fresh towels when ever you wished. We had a small issue on arrival with the toilet flush not working. This was fixed within minutes. The main restaurant is excellent serving a huge variety of buffet food from many countries. The waiters are so attentive, opening doors for you, prompt drinks service, and attending to any request you may have. We also enjoyed a special meal in the Nautilus Restaurant where the quality and presentation is second to none, well worth it !!!!. The front of house manager Lakky (Laksikah) could not have been more helpful. For a young man, he always made time to speak to you, always was there for advice and always with a smile. This hotel is situated in a unspoilt area of Sri Lanka. You can walk up to the town of Wadduwa (2km) and back and never see another tourist! Fab. Yes their culture can be a little off putting when you venture out of the hotel. They are a bit full on, but you will get used to it. Sri Lanka has virtually no crime and therefore you feel safe at all times, but just as you would at home, use common sense. We hope to return in a couple of years and the Blue Water will always be our choice. Good Luck Mark & Viv

Room Tip: The Deluxe room has everything you need and wish for. Go for ground level for ease of access to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 422Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka and posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest.
Your lovely compliments extended to service staff and Chefs department is very much welcome and especially to Nautilus food and service!
We have also made special note of the appreciation mentioned of our front office executive Lakshika and he will be duly rewarded with management recognition.
Once again thank you for look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed between the 9th and 17th of April 2014. The hotel is about an hour away from Sri Lanka's international airport. As the title mentions, the food was superb! Best I've ever experienced on an all inclusive holiday. Room was fantastic and the hotel was extremely beautiful. Things I would comment on;
Restaurant staff were quite inefficient and unfriendly. After the second night we noticed a big drop in the service in the buffet restaurant, two nights we received no drinks at all after ordering with numerous waiters. Dirty plate removal was also very poor after the second night. This was the only major criticism I have. I do also feel the bath towels provided could have been larger, I'm only a 32' waist and they were small on me.
All in all however the hotel was great and I would definitely stay again without hesitation!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel and for the kind compliments extended to Chefs department.
It is with regret that we note the apparent inconvenienced you have had face with regard to restaurant service and this has been immediately forwarded to the F&B manager to action for improvement and rest assured future guest will not be inconvenienced.
We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future when your travels bring you closer to us.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Since we got married at this hotel in 2008 we have visited this hotel many times.

Simply the best beach resort in sri Lanka.

From a tastefully decorated room to an stunning view of a Sun set over the Indian ocean this is purely a place to come and forget about the rest of the world.

From the moment we checked-in to the time we had to leave we were treated like royalty by the wonderful staff..

And the selection of food was endless and definitely yummy.


Thank you

Can't wait to come back for another stay. .

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Dinesh7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination in Wadduwa and for posting a review on TripAdvisor for the benefit of future guest to the hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the great architecture and the blue water hospitality very much and look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,237 reviews
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: $136 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing