We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some negatives...”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We're currently enjoying 11 nights at the Blue Water... Overall I would say it's a positive experience but tinged with some negatives.

The good points: the hotel is well laid out, thanks to the good design by the renown architect, Geoffrey Bawa. The staff for the most part epitomise Sri Lankans and their cheerful disposition - it's not known as the Island of smiling people for nothing! The pool is large and never gets crowded. We're all-inclusive so benefit from free drinks (all local spirits and wine which are an acquired taste) and meals included. The food is really good, all the dishes are buffet style and prepared really well. The local spirits and wine are an acquired taste but you do get used to them after a few days! The superior deluxe room is large and well serviced. The gym is small but filled with some good equipment - there's enough cardio and weights machines with a good selection of free weights. It has never had more than 3 people in each time we've used it. The place is kept spotless by hard working staff.

The bad points: Not all the staff are as friendly and welcoming as others. Some of the service has been poor, particularly at the pool bar - this may be because we're a gay couple and some have let their prejudice cloud how they treat guests. If that's the case they shouldn't be working for a hotel attracting international guests. It would reiterate though the majority of staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly. They will remember your preferences at mealtimes and always have a smile. The food, though beautifully presented and very tasty, can be almost cold - this is a common problem with buffet style food service. The restaurant can get busy at weekends due to the number of day passes the hotel sells locally. On Sunday we estimated the restaurant had an additional 80 guests for lunch arriving about the same time. Beware also large wedding parties, mostly foreigners who also arrive en masse to mealtimes. We were also surprised, and disappointed, at the number of young children at the resort. We've holidayed in this part of the world on numerous occasions and not experienced that. A number of mealtimes have been marred by shrieking toddlers and young kids pushing through to get to the buffet. I realise most people won't have an issue with children being around. However, I've mentioned it because we do and others may feel the same way. I wouldn't say it's the most relaxing of resorts either. Whether it's the noise of the crows in the morning and evenings, the kids screaming in the pool, the loud conversations of other people while relaxing in the sun (the resort is popular with Russians who, at the risk of stereotyping, do raise their voices to have a chat with each other). The resort is in the middle of nowhere so there's little to do or see within the immediate vicinity. There are no bars or restaurants locally so bear that in mind when considering food options. We did walk into Wadduwa town centre one day. It's not geared up for tourists and is a functional centre for locals but there are banks to change cash at.

Overall, despite the impression from the negatives, I like this hotel. We've enjoyed our stay here for the most part. It's just one of those places I wouldn't come back to and would only recommend once pointing out the above reservations. One more thing, the hotel's website offers a free pick up from the airport. Be aware this only applies to those who book direct with them and not through any other means. Seems a bit mean but when I challenged it they said those paying direct to hotel were paying more for their stay than those booking with an agent. A big plus though is the Business Centre next to reception. While the wifi throughout the resort is a bit hit and miss the computers in the Business Centre are directly connected to a router and therefore high speed. I used one to check-in online for flights back to UK, after some confusion over where the printer was configured to, I was able to check in online and print off boarding passes without any problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The-Blue-Water as your holiday destination in Sri Lanka and for posting a detailed review on TA.
Your positive comments on architecture, food, service, etc. are very much appreciated and compliments will be duly passed on to the team.
With the opening of the new wing in July we will be relocating the gym to a bigger permanent location build for the purpose.
Please accept my apologies for the apparent uneasiness or indifference in service which you have come across in the pool area which is unacceptable and rest assured will be addressed appropriately with staff concern.
Maintaining desired temperatures on buffets is quite a challenge specially as and when the restaurant opens, where most of the guest comes in for meals at the same time but we do try our best with dishing out only small quantities at a time and preparing most of the dishes a la minute. Please accept my apologies if this at any time have spoiled your appetite.
The-Blue-Water has become a very popular resort with Sri Lankans over the past decade or so for food and friendly service of our staff. We have always and in the future as well, will extend the same high standards of hospitality to all our visitors irrespective whether their only to spend the day or to stay for a longer period in the hotel.
We are a resort with spacious garden areas and a large pool designed with deep and shallow ends to comfortably accommodate families and serious swimmers alike without disturbing each other. We are a resort that entertains families with children and it is regrettable that the few kids in this spacious hotel (16 acres) apparently have inconvenienced your stay. Period from September to November there are almost no or very less families with children and would be the ideal time for guest who dislike children around them when on holiday.
Complimentary airport transfers are a part of a special promotion to encourage guest to book directly through our website in the future.
Once again thank you for your constructive feedback which is very much appreciated as it gives us guidance as to serve you even better in the future and we look forward to welcome you back to The-Blue-Water on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

From our arrival to the time we left the staff at The Blue Water couldn't do enough for us and it was them that really made our stay. Our room had a lovely view over the gardens, pool and the beach and was spotlessly clean.

The food was really good and there was plenty of choice, had no problems getting sunbeds whatever the time of day either at the pool or on the beach.

A perfect location and just what we needed for a relaxing break.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank meplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for holidaying with us and for posting a wonderful review of your stay at The-Blue-Water. Your compliments have been passed on to the entire team and we look forward to welcome you back to The-Blue-Water on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Designed by a famous architect this hotel is set on the coast overlooking the Indian Ocean. Hotel is well maintained with friendly, helpful staff. Enormous pool area with plenty of deck chairs for guests to laze around. Rooms were comfortable with good amenities. Food and wine were good and reasonably priced. What was missing was a sense of the country and personality of the people - this could be a hotel anywhere in the world.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a few nights of impersonal luxury tacked onto a holiday in a far more interesting country.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for holidaying at The-Blue-Water and for taking time to write a review on TA which is very much of the interest of our future guest.
Appreciate your compliments to the maintenance of the hotel, friendly, helpful staff, food, rooms and the hotel layout!
As you correctly mentioned this hotel was the last hotel designed by the legendary architect, Geoffrey Bawa who was all about the country and the beauty of Sri Lankan hospitality! Property is designed to reflect serenity; Sri Lanka in the history was known as the Island of Serendipity, when discovered it has been a pleasant surprise!
With a large and unique pool, all rooms facing the magnificent Indian Ocean, large spaces between the hotel building and the wide beach with close to 16 acres of beachfront property we can never be just another hotel anywhere in the world but unique only to Sri Lanka!
Once again thank you for choosing The-Blue-Water as your holiday destination and look forward to welcome you again in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best architecture at your service to let you enjoy the joys of the west coast beach of Sri Lanka.
Magnificent hotel where everything has been designed in the most simplistic way and tastefu manner for your use and enjoyment by the great Sri Lankan master architec Geoffrey Waba.
Wonderful swimming pool under the most beautiful forrest of coconut palms.
The most beautiful and romantic sunsets of the island.
Rooms spacious and well desigend with everything you need.
Good breakfast and buffets meals.
Kind and efficient personnel.
Very good Bali style spa though expensive.
Highly recomendable hotel if when you want to relax in comfort and style by the beach in Sri Lanka..

Room Tip: all rooms have a wonderfull view over the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review on TA and mostly thank you for appreciating the master architect, legendary Geoffrey Bawa’s magical creation by the Ocean!
Your heartfelt compliments to our staff and Chef’s team have been duly passed on.
We eagerly look forward to welcome you again to The-Blue-Water in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our 3 days of switch off time after our busy tour of Sri Lanka...beautiful setting and wonderful architectural design by the famous Geoffrey Bawa. The beach is great to swim off and the pool is bliss. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is kept to an excellent standard. Food was good, nice selection each evening, and usually with a theme. The only criticism we had was the fact that initially when we booked in we were given rooms at the far end of the hotel, bang next door to the newly being constructed wing, over looking the building site!!!! After a long day on the road, all you wanted to do was to get to your room, unpack, shower and go to the cocktail evening. It was not evident until we went on the balcony what we were next to, so I had to then spend an hour arranging 2 new rooms, missing the free cocktails and then having to rush to dinner as we were so late. Yes we were given upgrades and these rooms were lovely, but we had booked the trip back in January and the hotels booked through a very large, well established travel company in Colombo, so I would have thought better rooms should have been allocated, as we were not last minute bookings! So check to make sure all the building work is complete and you are not looking onto the building site.
Although you are not within walking distance to any towns there are tuktuks outside the hotel which will take you to where you want to go, and wait for you whilst you do your shopping (they are all very friendly and not pushy at all). There are a couple of shops just across from the hotel and we ended up buying quite a lot of things there, really good prices as well.. well worth a look in.
After the first hic up, it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor, so you can walk out to the pool and have your sun bed outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing The-Blue-Water as one of your holiday destinations in Sri Lanka and for the time taken to write a review giving your feedback on TA.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, food and the great architecture! Your compliments have been passed on to the entire team.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have had to face with the room allocation. It was not intentional and I am glad that we could upgrade you to superior deluxe rooms, and thank you for accepting our apology.
Most of the construction work in the new wing is now complete and only the interior work is remaining. We are hoping to open the new wing in July this year and it is going to be with 40 tastefully designed rooms by an architect, a student of legendary Geoffrey Bawa.
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back to The-Blue-Water on your next holiday to Sri Lankan.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

After spending 2/3 weeks in Sri Lanka on business and for a wedding, on our penultimate day we were taken to the Blue Water resort just outside of Colombo.

There were 10 of us that went for the day- getting the lunch and use of the swimming pool package, as we didn't have enough time to stay over night. I think it was around £15 per person, which is fine for what you get.

The lunch was ok- nothing extremely exciting. I can't remember the majority of it, so nothing good and nothing bad either.

What set's this place apart is the pool and beach. The pool is enormous, and we loved spending our day in it. We probably spent approximately 5-6 hours swimming around.
The deck chairs were nice, and the design is splendid.

The beach is also beautiful, especially for the sunset.

My only sour note was in having an altercation with an individual over my swim wear. I decided to wear a swimming vest (as a male) in the pool, due to injuries and general dislike. I was made to take it off otherwise I'd be "removed from the hotel". That was unacceptable from a paying guest, and a way to really damage the integrity and future business that I could have brought to the hotel.

Fortunately, it didn't tarnish a wonderful day, and I hope to return soon.

Please note this review is in reference to a visit in August 2010.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend the day at The-Blue-Water and for taking time to post a review on TA. We are very happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our large pool which was a design of the late legendary architect, Geoffrey Bawa.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to face at the pool with regard to swimwear policy of the hotel. Swimming vest is quite acceptable but apparently the pool attendant has mistaken it for a regular vest. He has been briefed accordingly and assigned for further training on customer care.
Once again my apologies and thank you for bringing this to our notice and for your understanding. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka, perhaps for a longer stay at The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had memorable Function On our life in there. And we stayed one day in here simply i will tell you this is great. and good location. hmm that was our wedding. unforgettable wonderful experience. hope booking for our first anniversary of our life.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravinclifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure and an honor for us to have hosted your wedding at The-Blue-Water! We are very happy to hear of your unforgettable experience and while wishing you both a lifelong wedded life filled with health, wealth and happiness, look forward to welcome you back on your 1st anniversary to The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: $93 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing