We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel, excellent service.”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really great hotel, excellent service.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have just returned from staying at 'The Blue Water' where I stayed for 14 nights.

I have split this review into 2 parts

a) The Property

The hotel is set in an 'Utopian' like setting with a very lush landscaping which features lots of green grass, tropical trees and plant life, very calm looking pool with numerous little ponds throughout the property. All of this is within a stone throw from the sea. The rooms were big enough fully functional and very clean. However the rooms are 10+ years old and are now somewhat interior-ally out dated! But a modernization plan is currently underway with refurbished rooms and a new block being built as we speak. We were only on B&B basis so cant really comment on the food apart from the breakfast which was more then adequate with a large range of food to choose from. Fruits, fresh juices, cereals, bread & pastries alongside the regular breakfast items, sausages, bacon, waffles, baked beans, scrambled/poached eggs, saute potatoes, mushrooms alongside an egg grill where you can have a fried egg/omelette custom cooked to your liking. Plus much more. . .

b) The Staff & Service

This is where the hotel in my opinion sets itself apart from any hotel I have stayed in before. We have never experience so much personal attention! (which was not exclusive to just us, everyone gets it) There were one or two inevitable minor problems that you would encounter in any hotel in the world but once highlighted they were dealt with very quickly and then for example an hour or so later somebody would follow up to make sure we were happy. One little feature that impressed my wife was the way her nightwear was folded up in the evening alongside a fresh flower on the pillow. Room service was good, I had endless fresh milk provided for in room tea and coffee. The laundry service is very good and great value. I even had a problem with my own personal DVD player would not work and the hotel engineer came to try and fix it. . . . Overall, nothing seemed to be a problem.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the 'Blue Water' again. . .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our property and specially the friendliness and the attentiveness of the staff! We have already shared your compliments with the entire team!
The-Blue-Water is the last property built by the legendary architect Jeoffery Bawa and we are very proud of it! The new wing will be in operation by next year summer and hope to see you back again at The-Blue-Water, soon!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    470
    136
    53
    27
See reviews for
356
691
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MACCheshireEngland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week following a one week tour, we had a lovely relaxing time, perhaps a bit too relaxing at night as hardly any guests stayed up much after 10:pm a party hotel this is not. There is not much going on at night, we had Bingo one night which was a bit of fun, and the one night they had a band on we were at the cricket!!

We loved the grounds and the large swimming pool, and the fact you did not have to rise at the crack of dawn to get a sunbed, the pool guys were great, the minute they saw you coming they were there with the towels and mattresses.

Our room was fine with the one exception, whose idea was it to have glass walls in the bathroom, once you put the light on in the bathroom you could see straight in from the bedroom, even with the rattan blinds, we are not prudes but I really do not want to be observed whilst sat upon the toilet!!

We were all inclusive and all meals were buffet style, of course the temperature of the food is never piping hot with buffet's which we accept, but we were disappointed that none of the curries were spicy hot, I know you have to cater for the masses who do not want a really hot curry, but maybe one hot and spicy curry per meal could be arranged, and the irony is that each morning a really delicious looking chicken curry was at the breakfast buffet (sorry as much as I like curry, I could not face it for breakfast)

This hotel does Sunday lunch for the locals, try and make sure you are there for a Sunday as the buffet was magnificent, the tables were groaning with food, and as for the desert table, I have never seen so much on offer.

The staff at this hotel were all very nice, in fact all of the people we met in Sri Lanka without exception were really very nice, this is a great country, so if you are wondering if you should go, I can tell you now you will not be disappointed.

Oh yes one last thing, people have mentioned the rail line at the back of the hotel, well we were here for a week and did not hear one single train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the feedback you have given on your holiday at The-Blue-Water and glad that you enjoyed a relaxing week. Your comments are very valuable to continue providing hospitality at its best to all future guests.
While we thank you for the compliments on our staff and food choices, we have also noted the suggestions you have mentioned for improvement.
As for entertainment we have live bands performing on Friday and Saturday nights and a solo musician the rest of the nights except for Mondays, bingo and Wednesdays, a cultural show with traditional Sri Lankan dancers.
Once again thank you and it was indeed a pleasure to have served you and hope to see you again in the very near future back at The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I suppose my review may be slightly shaded after having such a fabulous stay at the Theva Residency in Kandy but this certainly isn't the best there is.

The hotel itself is lovely, clean, modern and spacious on a beautiful stretch of beach with well ket gardens and attentive staff however once you scratch under the surface you will find a few niggles which for me are enough not to recommend it.

We were woken by workmen next door at 730am who were obviously doing a full renovation of the room according to all the hammering going on - why put us next to a room that's being renovated when the hotel is so obviously quiet <50% full! Oh and the trains passing on the close by railway have no respect for anyone's slumber ...tooting their horns continuously early in the morning.

Our room whilst in the main looked fab the curtains didn't shut properly and the light shades were obviously missing on the wall lights.

Food was ok dinner time however breakfast buffet was truely awful... Only thing that was hot was the tea..the hot buffet was in parts at best Luke warm - the majority stone cold - cold eggs Benedict...yeuk! No excuse of the place being busy either ...just a handful of tables occupied in the lovely large dining room.

Glad we only stayed 1 night...I'm sure there's definitely better places to spend your hard earned cash on!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlflyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Owner at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the constructive feedback you have given on our property! First of all let me apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced around 7.30 am! After been in the industry for over decade and half and a five star property we would not start construction work next to an occupied room unless it was an unavoidable maintenance work due to a water pipe line bursting and threatening water supply to an entire wing of the hotel.
Tooting of horns of a train is beyond the control of the hotel management and they would only toot their horns to avoid an accident because they are well aware that there are number of hotels along the railway track on this coast line.
As for selection of eggs during the breakfast buffet, it is regrettable that you did not use the fresh egg counter with made to order egg selections!
During the week in question the hotel had over 60% occupancy and unlike in a boutique hotel we cannot, while offering a large selection for breakfast including fresh fruits, juices, wide range of pastry’s, hot international and oriental dishes to make orders a la minute! All five star hotels offer breakfast buffets and I do agree with you that they are not always piping hot as made to order dishes!
Hotels new wing with all suite rooms and executive floors with an executive breakfast room will be open next summer and hope will cater to guest who would not appreciate a breakfast buffet but served to order!
Sincerely hope that you would give us a second chance and with a stay longer than just one day in the future and once again thank you for your valuable comments.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is great hotel in sri lanka and everything is fine.definitely you will love the enchanting view.at evening you can feel the sun setting at beach. very friendly staff and they will always assist you.i had that experience well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uditha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation at The-Blue-Water and for your compliments to our staff which has been passed on to the team!
We look forward to your repeat patronage in the very near future and for special offers and to keep up to date with happenings at The-Blue-Water, please visit us on Facebook.
Yours sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly staff. Overall the hotel was pleasant and designed in a way to make the most of the weather (very open). Breakfast was satisfactory but not overwhelming, while dinner (we had seafood) was good and not too expensive (for international standards). The pool area was overall pleasant. There is an easy access to a picturesque beach, but the sea was too rough for actual swimming.

Maybe the only negative is the proximity to train tracks. The train is audible but it wasn't disruptive to me at least.

Room Tip: no specific tip. we stayed on the first floor, nice view on the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your valuable, constructive feedback of our property which we know helps us immensely in making our services even better for our guest in the future. We are proud to be a creation of legendary architect, Geoffrey Bawa hence the openness, the large attractive pool and the water ponds and waterfalls around the hotel! The sea will be back to normal from early December till End of March which is the best time for sea bathing around here. Our property is expanding with additional suite rooms (40) which will be in operation, summer next year and also a specialty restaurant which will further enhance dining options to guest.
Once again thank you and hope to see you back again, in the near future at The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from a two week stay at the Blue Water. Hotel was great and really loved the grounds and pool area. So secluded and even when lots of people out and about we never felt as if others were invading our space. Restaurants and food were awesome and we loved the buffets with dishes from all over the world. Rooms were okay and the only criticism I had of the hotel was the number of things that kept going wrong in them and then the amount of times it sometimes took asking reception to get them fixed!!!

Went on two trips with Ruchi Tours and had a brilliant time. Did the one day trip to Kandy which also took in the elephant orpahange, tea plantation and a spice and herb centre and then we did a two day trip to Yala/Galle and were lucky enough to see leopards, elephants and all sorts of other wild animals! Ruchy himself is a charming and extremeely knowlegable man and I cannot recommend his services high enough. Remember though to negotiate prices and not to accept first price offered.... Great value operator!

Went for a few walks outside the hotel and in particular to Waduwwa and back again. Local people were so friendly and always felt safe wherever we were.

Would certainly go back to this hotel if we went again just for the food and outside areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending two weeks of your holiday time at The-Blue-Water! Your compliments to our Chef and the garden supervisor are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team.
Please accept my apologies for the apparent discomfort you have experienced with some maintenance and service issues and for the unsatisfactory response from the reception staff! This has been already addressed with the front office department and will also focus more on training needs as well in the future. We always strive to be the best in everything we do hence your thoughts are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as to serve you better in the future.
A specialty restaurant offering more variety to hotel guest will be in operation by December this year and our new wing with 40 suite rooms will be in operation by next summer. We are also in the process of upgrading all our guest rooms with modern furniture and extra amenities and will be completed by December this year.
Once again thank you and hope to see you back again at The-Blue-Water in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were here for 11 days and had some of the most relaxing days ever. The spa was lovely and the early morning ashtanga yoga session through the gym was fabulous.We were Bed and breakfast only and ate in the evenings with a fantastic chef at his house with family and friends.Also had a wonderful evening at another families house where we spent new year. We took two trips through Rushi and these were well tailored to our needs Sashi was our driver on one of the trips and I would highly reccomend him as a good guide and a lovely person.
Thank you to all the staff and just to let you know we loved it so much we are returning this year..

Room Tip: All the rooms are well thought out, all with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TA and for your wonderful comments of the hotels Spa and the Gym in particular. To further enhance dining options to our guest in the hotel we are adding a specialty restaurant by end of this year where we hope to feature celebrity Chefs from around the world from time to time. We are glad to know that you have decided to come back to The-Blue-Water this year as well and please feel free to contact me if I could be of any assistance with your holiday plans this year.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,256 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
460 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Property: The Blue Water
Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blue Water 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing