We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel and another vote for Ruchi Tours”
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blue Water
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from a two week stay at the Blue Water. Hotel was great and really loved the grounds and pool area. So secluded and even when lots of people out and about we never felt as if others were invading our space. Restaurants and food were awesome and we loved the buffets with dishes from all over the world. Rooms were okay and the only criticism I had of the hotel was the number of things that kept going wrong in them and then the amount of times it sometimes took asking reception to get them fixed!!!

Went on two trips with Ruchi Tours and had a brilliant time. Did the one day trip to Kandy which also took in the elephant orpahange, tea plantation and a spice and herb centre and then we did a two day trip to Yala/Galle and were lucky enough to see leopards, elephants and all sorts of other wild animals! Ruchy himself is a charming and extremeely knowlegable man and I cannot recommend his services high enough. Remember though to negotiate prices and not to accept first price offered.... Great value operator!

Went for a few walks outside the hotel and in particular to Waduwwa and back again. Local people were so friendly and always felt safe wherever we were.

Would certainly go back to this hotel if we went again just for the food and outside areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending two weeks of your holiday time at The-Blue-Water! Your compliments to our Chef and the garden supervisor are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team.
Please accept my apologies for the apparent discomfort you have experienced with some maintenance and service issues and for the unsatisfactory response from the reception staff! This has been already addressed with the front office department and will also focus more on training needs as well in the future. We always strive to be the best in everything we do hence your thoughts are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as to serve you better in the future.
A specialty restaurant offering more variety to hotel guest will be in operation by December this year and our new wing with 40 suite rooms will be in operation by next summer. We are also in the process of upgrading all our guest rooms with modern furniture and extra amenities and will be completed by December this year.
Once again thank you and hope to see you back again at The-Blue-Water in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were here for 11 days and had some of the most relaxing days ever. The spa was lovely and the early morning ashtanga yoga session through the gym was fabulous.We were Bed and breakfast only and ate in the evenings with a fantastic chef at his house with family and friends.Also had a wonderful evening at another families house where we spent new year. We took two trips through Rushi and these were well tailored to our needs Sashi was our driver on one of the trips and I would highly reccomend him as a good guide and a lovely person.
Thank you to all the staff and just to let you know we loved it so much we are returning this year..

Room Tip: All the rooms are well thought out, all with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TA and for your wonderful comments of the hotels Spa and the Gym in particular. To further enhance dining options to our guest in the hotel we are adding a specialty restaurant by end of this year where we hope to feature celebrity Chefs from around the world from time to time. We are glad to know that you have decided to come back to The-Blue-Water this year as well and please feel free to contact me if I could be of any assistance with your holiday plans this year.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Comfortable 2 nights with amazing access to the beach. Perfect for those who want to stay away from the hustle bustle of Colombo. It is literally a 2 hour ride from the main city. Which works out perfect for a private and relaxed time.

Good and professional staff who make your stay comfortable. A private night club, some amazing music is played at night by the resident bands. A decent swimming pool and billiards table.

Perfect for swimming in the pool/beach. Sit back and relax in the vastness of this hotel reading a book and enjoy some fine food at the restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 2nd floor that face the ocean and u will have a grand view when u wake up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for holidaying with us and very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality to the fullest! Once the new express way from the Bandaranayke International Airport connects to the main express way in January 2013, the travel time from the airport to the hotel will be around 1 ¼ hrs only! We are just 40 minutes away from the trade capital, Colombo.
Trust you will spend more time with us on your next visit to The-Blue-Water which we hope would be in the very near future!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was definately a resort hotel with options to do an all inclusive. For this type of holiday the design and layout of the hotel made you feel welcomed without you ever feeling that you were ontop of one another. The rooms were a good decent size and all have views of the beach. The AC was very effective! All the staff were very attentive and very accomadating. Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkblau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review on The-Blue-water holiday experience. We are the only Five Star resort just out of the Island’s trade capital, Colombo.
As we always strive to be the best in everything we do, your thoughts are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as to serve you better in the future. Once again thank you for your compliments on our service and overall hospitality standards. Look forward to welcome you all back to The-Blue-Water hotel in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had a 4 night stay with my family in the hotel for Eid Break and it was a wonderful experience. We visited Kandy, Galle and Colombo with our tour guide, Pradeep De Silva who was very cooperative, friendly and always had a smile on his face. He made the trip very memorable as it was my first trip after the birth of my child.

I would recommend that Pradeep should be your tour guide if the vehicle is booked from the Hotel as he has great knowledge about Srilanka and knows a lot of interesting stuff for a family to do.

The hotel service is good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KunalRupani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TA of your experience at The-Blue-Water and your travel experience around the beautiful Island with our Travel Counter tour guide. Your compliments will be passed on and hope to see you again in the very near future back at The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a fun weekend on this resort. The food and variety in the food palate was the highlight. The spa was heavenly. I found the staff very helpful as well.

the evening by the beach was the best, and the lighting in the evening was breathtaking.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
Thank iyeraarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend your weekend at The-Blue-Water and taking time to write a review on tripadvisor. Your encouraging compliments on food, staff and the location has been passed on to the team and look forward to welcome you back again perhaps for a longer stay next time!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just came back from a 2 week trip to Sri Lanka and the Blue Water hotel. Since I was in dire need of some rest and relaxation I had booked a trip here. And I have to say my expectations were not just met but more than fulfilled. From the moment of check in every one of the staff tried his utmost best to make you feel at home. The hotel is very nice and my room was just great (had 234, one of the superior deluxe rooms). Everything was immaculately clean, there was actually always someone seen cleaning (even at night!!!!). Food in the restaurant was awesome and I had to bring up a lot of self control not to eat too much unless I wanted to use a freighter plane for the way back home. Pool and beach were nice as well.
Again to everyone at the Blue Water a big thank you for making my stay a most enjoyable one. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Go for the superior deluxe rooms! Can't wait to see the new wing completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Trust you had a great flight back to Germany and thank you for choosing The-Blue-Water as a one of your holiday destinations! It was indeed a pleasure for all of us to have served you during your stay and look forward to welcome you again in the very near future, back at The-Blue-Water!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: $74 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Water 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing