We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discriminatory Service to local guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Discriminatory Service to local guests”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We (Wife and myself) stayed a night there on FB basis. Room is clean, but central AC system cannot be regulated by ourselves.So we had to switch off the AC frequently when we got frozen. Employees are not much polite, especially the reception. You are not allowed to bring anyone inside to your room due to the hotel policies and they are impatient if you stay long time in the lobby. Food is excellent.

If you select this for your wedding, be careful to have a look at their two wedding halls called Amethyst and Emerald, since they cunningly sign the contract for emerald (the small hall) after showing you Amethyst, the main hall. My sister in law faced that unfortunate situation and they even didn't apologize on that.

It has its own military rules and policies for local guests. Better avoid if you are not willing to be discriminated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    69
    37
    60
See reviews for
89
146
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Me and my wife had wonderful time at the villa ocean hotel,very nice and friendly staff,
tropical garden with large hotel,we love sri lanka,we will definitely coming back to enjoined traditional hospitality from villa ocean hotel

Room Tip: Cabana rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter7485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel was an utmost dissapointment. we (4 girls - 2 pregnant) went there for the day / buffet and even after spending 13k for a room + buffet the service we got from them was horrible. 1st of all, the pool boys think there are the CEOs there. we were not allowed to use half of the pool saying one side is only for the residents. (basically only foreigners were allowed). then when we asked for pool towels they said 'only for the residents'. the only service that was given was only for the foreigners. then we tried to sit on layed tables at the buffet and tea, the tea boy is saying pls dont sit on layed tables, sit only on empty ones.. unbeleivable attitude from the staff. dont ever go there!! they service only the white! not the locals. u should put a tag line next to ur hotel saying only foregners are given prefernce. worst hotel ever been to.

Room Tip: basically dont go there!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Medhini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wadduwa hotels

Surrey, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Gave a report earlier in the year . We were told life would be put into this hotel.... it needed so much TLS. Unfortuntely it would seem the owners have not done anything. Shame - as it could be a great place if a little money was spent on it. The staff were delightful therefore it is the Management and owners who are at fault here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were in Sri Lanka for 10 days, out of which we stayed here for 2 days. It was by far the longest two days we had in Sri Lanka for the following reasons:-

(a) The property is located in the middle of nowhere so it was difficult to explore the area if you do not have a car or a driver on hand. This would be fine if the resort was lovely but it was far from it.

(b) The property is full of russian guests on tour packages. They will hog the beach, pool areas, and the dining area.

(c) Food was disappointing - the hotel tried to cater to russians and would have odd bits and bots of western type food as well as some sri lankan food, but it was not very authentic.

(d) rooms - very basic and i remember them being quite dirty.

(c) beach - was disappointing as well..

Go spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shumeihoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we were there for 1 night stay and it was our honeymoon. people who are working in the front office do not have any product knowledge did not even asked for purpose of visit and gave us a room with the double beds. room are very dirty and you will not feel comfortable in the room.bathroom is not clean at all. there was a dinner buffet, nothing to eat.if you are a local please do not visit this place, no security and nothing to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nishani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our holidays on Ceylon.
Summer 2013 24.08 – 4.09
We had a wonderful rest on the ocean in this hospitable hotel – Villa Ocean View
We would like to say thank you very much all staff in hotel.
Young men on the reception, who always answered on our questions.
Thanks a lot to Mr.Samith - he was a first who started to help me. He met us on arrival day and prepared room for us with champagne and flowers.
Thank you very much to good men from animation team – Rabath, Sisil and one more their colleagues (unfortunately I do not remember his name) .
This men from animation team never gave us to be bored .
In the morning we did aqua aerobic in swimming pool. After lunch we could play volleyball . Before dine we played in Ping-Pong .
Thank you very much very friendly waiters team in the main restaurant – Nuwan and Danushka - thanks a lot .
And of course Thank You Very much all staff with whom we had been talking and discussing - thank you for their smiles and friendship.
Especially I want to say thank you very much to Mr. Deepal.
He had helped me and organized very good surprise for my lovely wife.
On that holiday we celebrated our second year married . He had ordered and supplied beautiful bouquet - Orange Calla Lily - the same was on a wedding day two years ago.
It was unbelievable . Mr. Deepal showed us - the miracle are exist and he had can do it.
My wife was very happy! It was a really incredible.
Mr. Deepal are very busy man - but he had could found a time for a talking with us and it gave us possibility to know a little bit more about Ceylon and people.
Mr. Deepal really a professional in their field.
Communication with him in his rare free moments we enjoy. And if you're having any problems - he was always willing to help, despite the fact that he was very busy with his work. Deepal - professional. And just a nice person. A taste of the cake, which he presented to us for dinner on the anniversary of the wedding - we remember so far.
It was a good Holyday on a Sri-Lanka.
ONE MORE TIME THANK YOU VERY MUCH TO EVERYONE FOR ALL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
20.0 mi away
Induruwa Beach Resort
Induruwa Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Induruwa
292 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
#11 of 12 in Kalutara
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kalutara
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ocean View Hotel

Property: Villa Ocean View Hotel
Address: Molligodawatte, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Ocean View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing