We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vendol Resort - Wadduwa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good hotel. Great design, the rooms are big, bathroom amazing with tube from which You can enjoy see view. Excelent food and very professional , friednly service. Quiet place, no disco, club etc rather for romantic relaxing stay.
We had fantastic dinner in garden .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slawek_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanjithChandrasiri, General Manager at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us and thank you for your very positive comments regarding the accommodation as well as excellent food and professional service you have received from our staff. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our beautiful resort.

Best regards

Ranjith Chandrasiri
General Manager
Haridra Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    23
    9
    19
See reviews for
66
96
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We decided to spend a two nights and three days at Haridra Hotel and Spa to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was really an excellent choice we made. The hotel is spacious and in particular the rooms are large and everything was excellent. The staff made every effort to make it s very memorable birthday. The rooms were clean.

Room Tip: We occupied the Ocean view room which gave us a good view and also a lot of space. I love space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanjithChandrasiri, General Manager at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our spacious suites and the attentive service you received from our staff. It is also gratifying to learn that you have fond memories of your husband’s birthday celebration at our hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the near future.

Kind regards

Ranjith Chandrasiri
General Manager
Haridra Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I came to Haridra excited after seeing the pictures on the Haridra website, but the pictures were quite misleading.
Yes, it is indeed a well designed resort but the first thing that strikes you is that there is no real beach. This was very unfortunate because we thought there would be a proper beach to walk on as we love beaches. The food was not great at all. The selection was poor and I know of better non-5 star hotels that served tastier food.
The lay out and design is great but it seemed not so well maintained.The room was spacious and I liked the large window facing the sea in the Mansion suite, but the "rif raf" chilling on the lawn near the beach made it not so enjoyable. The bathroom is great. My wife specially enjoyed the shower. Yet, we were extremely disappointed to know that the plunge pool was dirty.
The service was good.
All in all it is good place but not worth the money one would pay for it. Being a resort that has been open only for 10 months, it does not seem well maintained. The actual experience is far less to what was built up by the pictures online. Much improvement needs to happen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karunananda L, Owner at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We thank and appreciate the reviewer for his comments about our resort.

We sincerely do not believe that the pictures in our website are misleading since we haven't done any editing to photographs camouflage the real views. The width of the beach varies seasonally and unfortunately the reviewer visited the resort during the off season in a period where the beach width was narrowed due to inclement weather condition prevailed during those days especially, immediately prior to the "NELAM" cyclone which went across our island. However this is not the case throughout the year and during the season sea is calm and the beach is more wide than the the day referred in the review. The images shown by the travelers photos prove this fact.

The day the reviewer stayed in being a long weekend was highly occupied by the locals and meals were buffets to mainly suited to the local occupants. However if there was request for a particular food item not included in the buffet the kitchen staff would have certainly looked into it. We regret any unpleasantness occurred in the quality of the food. However our new GM had been a chef during his international career in the hospitality industry and he would certainly guide the kitchen staff to further improve the quality of the food.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to riffraff chilling on the lawn and we have already taken action has to eradicate this situation.

We take special attention to clean plunge pools daily however on this particular day after the routine cleaning is done prior to the arrival of the guest, some little parts of the coconut trees in the vicinity may have blown into the pool when the guest was in the room due to the windy weather prevailed. But this is not the case in normal weather conditions.

Our resort rooms are cladded with more glasses to maximize the visibility of the sea view from inside the rooms. We observed that certain glass panels in the rooms (not all) have developed fungus like patches initiated during the construction period. These patches became more visible when we started commercial operations. An unsuspecting guest would feel that these glass panels are not cleaned and not maintained when in fact they are cleaned from both sides. We are taking every effort to eliminate these patches prevailing in some of the glass panels and would be replaced if necessary. Nobody commented anything bad about the linen or floors or walls in the rooms.

While appreciating the comments made about the service and the design and layout of the resort we kindly request the reviewer to visit again in the next season to see the differences in the beach and the other concerns that he is not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
342 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Was at Haridra last week with my friends.....
Well designed resort , well kept also.....
Good care and service by staff...
Improvement needed on food choices and variety....
Best for those who prefer calm and leisurely holidays....
More activities to be tagged in to suit families.....
We liked the set up and atmosphere......
Jaju Babu , Kochi, Kerala , INDIA

Room Tip: Choose Room No 111 ...and the adjacent ones for your friends....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajubabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karunananda L, Owner at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Mr. Jaju and Freinds,

We appreciate your valuable comment and thank you for patronizing our hotel.We welcome you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best Regards,

Karunananda Lelwala

CEO Haridra Resort & Spa Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just got back home after a lovely long weekened at haridra resort and spa. It was a wonderfful experience. We have travelled to many luxury resorts and hotels in sri lanka and would recomend this resort to any person who would enjoy a luxury stay at a hotel in wadduwa. This resort is newly built and is very well maintained. When we got there we were greeted by mr mahesh who was very helpful and courtious during our stay. We stayed in an ocean view deluxe suite. It just took our breath away from the moment we entered. The pool was clean and very relaxing and we enjoyed it a lot. The staff were excellent and the food was scrumpcious! A very well balanced menu. The other rooms at the resort were also very spacious and very well designed. We loved our bathroom as it was a spacious area. We would defineitly visit again for sure! We wish them all the very best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dweerakoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karunananda L, Owner at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We thank and appreciate your valuable review about our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend well at our hotel and await eagerly for your next visit to Haridra Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was great waking up each morning to the sound of the waves breaking and then raising the blinds to enjoy the ocean view framed by the coconut palms. This is an ideal hotel for those wanting a relaxing break by the sea, with the added attraction of a good spa. My partner had a daily treatment and considered they were of a good standard and reasonably priced.

The hotel has been open less than a year and is finished to a high standard. The manager mentioned that it was designed by a pupil of the renowned Geoffrey Bawa. We particularly liked the bathroom with its stone floors and Italian fittings. You can relax in the bath and look out to sea.

We stayed in a spacious second floor suite, where the whole of the seaward side is effectively one glass window. Whilst there we had a look in one of the duplex suites, which have their own plunge pool.

The hotel was quiet whilst we stayed as I guess it is still building up its customer base. The staff and managers were all very good to us, and always wanting to make sure we enjoyed your stay. The Customer Services Manager is particularly worthy of mention. We enjoyed the food, and the breakfast was one of the best we have had in Sri Lanka, with fresh fruit and juices plus eggs etc done to order.

If you are looking for a lively holiday with entertainment, then this is not for you; but if you are happy to enjoy the sunshine with a good book and the occasional spa treatment, then it fits the bill.

The fine sandy beach is narrow and disappears at high tide. The pool is large and we generally had it to ourselves.

We visited the striking Buddhist temple at Kalutara with its unique hollow dome, which is worth a look. Beware though, as there appears to be a scam operating, where you are picked up by a "guide" on entry, who insists Westeners are not allowed to look around unaccompanied (after the well reported problems with the French tourists elsewhere). Although we would have preferred to look around unaccompanied, we could not shake him off. At the end of the 15 minute tour he "assessed" our donation to the temple at 3000 rupees payable payable directly to two of his colleagues. We knew the entry was free and refused, despite their somewhat menacing approach. We gave him a small amount for the guided tour, but not sure if this will get into the temple's coffers.

Wadduwa is around one and a half hours drive from central Colombo, so you could take a trip, but avoid the rush hour as traffic can be horrendous. There is also a regular train service which would be much cheaper than a taxi, if you are prepared to be a bit more adventurous. Again avoid rush hours as they do get very crowded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karunananda L, Owner at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest, We really appreciate your comment about our hotel and especially about our Spa.Our Ayurveda Doctor always advice you on authentic Sri Lankan Ayurvedic treatments and therapies.

We consider these as your genuine comments and await your next visit to us on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Manager ,
Haridra Resort & Spa.
Wadduwa,
Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

After reading the reviews I was sure I has found the perfect getaway spot, alas not as “FAB” as it sounds if anything its Average ! The menu needs a serious up grade. The service is good but the food I think is the biggest led down.
The rooms are clean spacious and airy. But the glass wall in the bathroom and the pepping top security guard trolling the gardens are a bad combination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niro curly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karunananda L, Owner at Vendol Resort - Wadduwa, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Ms Niro Curly,

We really appreciate your comment and will take action to improve the quality of the food further. As you are aware judgement of the quality of food varies from person to person. However we will ensure food will be served according the desire of the guest.

We appreciate your next visit to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Karunananda Lelwala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
2.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
455 reviews
2.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 10 in Wadduwa
366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,123 reviews
14.4 mi away
Eden Resort & Spa
Eden Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Beruwala
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vendol Resort - Wadduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendol Resort - Wadduwa

Property: Vendol Resort - Wadduwa
Address: 921 Paralle Rd | Pohodaramulla, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka (Formerly Haridra Resort & Spa)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vendol Resort - Wadduwa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vendol Resort & Spa is an all suites exclusive Boutique Hotel, situated on an extremely breathtaking beachfront along the West Cost of Sri Lanka, designed to be the smart choice for up market leisure and business travelers with a unique experience of leisure and tranquility combined with genuine Sri Lankan Ayurveda Healing Therapies. At The Vendol Resort you'll bask in the warmth of pure, unadulterated luxury, with the beach at your window and palm trees in view. Located near the town of Wadduwa, you're perfectly placed between the Bandaranaike International Airport near Colombo and the southern capital of Galle, which is one and half hours' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vendol Resort - Wadduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hardira Hotel Wadduwa
Hardira Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing