We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel Serene”
Review of Serene Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Pavilions
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

well what a great place to stay right on the beech , service was 100%, our butler looked after all our needs , ice and lemon was brought to our suite at around 6 ever night food was also good about same prices back home , we had a sea food meal at jeni rest appox 2min from the hotel and great food and good value, we had 500 kg of king sizes prawns a whole lobster and a whole mullet all for £35 all in all great place to stay

Room Tip: we stayed in a beach front villa with a pool so much space only one draw back that the pool look rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 235 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I have just returned yesterday from this hotel. We were staying on our honeymoon for 2 weeks. WOW. What a stunning paradise this is. absolutely fantastic in every way. I can't understand the bad reviews, all I can say is these people must either be blind or just moan about everything in their lives!

Check in was easy and quick, they understood we were tired and gave us privacy but we had the butler on hand if we needed anything.

We stayed in a garden pavilion, it was lovely. Spacious, clean, own plunge pool, The rooms were cleaned everyday, even tidied round on a night time when they came to turn down the beds.

Our butler, Suminda, was fantastic. They work hard and very long hours but the service is excellent. Always on hand if you need anything but you can also have privacy, they aren't always in your face.

All service throughout is excellent, everyone is friendly and can't do enough for you. The pool boy, I forget his name, shame on me! But he was excellent, very helpful, He even took us into the sea one day as we were not keen on going in alone. There are staff stood at the entrance to the beach day and night on watch, to make sure no one wonders in. They also clean your feet every time you come back from the beach.

Hotel grounds are stunning and immaculate. There are so many maintenance staff, working all day long at preening, gardening, watering etc. Not one thing is out of place.

The main pool is amazing, we had it to our selves more or less the whole time as everyone was sunbathing in the gardens, in their pavilions etc. Fresh towels every day at the main pool and in your own pool. Sunbeds already sorted for you and moved to where you want them when you come out. You don't have to lift a finger.

Food - wow. Fantastic. We went all inclusive so didn't look at the prices too much. But the food is amazing. The chef is so creative and nothing is too much trouble. If we didn't like something on the menu, he would cook what we wanted. presentation is beautiful and plentiful.

I've gone on a bit here but I just want people to know what an amazing gem this is. It is quiet/secluded and not much to do on a night. Also, can feel as if you have the staff and hotel to yourself sometimes, which was nice but may not suit some people wanting to make friends, be lively on a night etc.

In one word, paradise. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Garden pavilions are so much more private and walled off from the hotel. Ocean pavilions have some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tr4vel_guru_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We recently spent 8 nights in an Ocean View villa at Serene Pavilions and could not recommend it more highly. If you are looking for total peacefullness and pampered luxury then this is the place for you. We paid for the all inclusive option but broadly ate and drank whatever we wanted whether or not it was supposedly included in the package and yet there was no further charge. Nothing was too much trouble for our Butler, Thrahatra?, and Mahindra the pool guy was also fantastic. The food was first class, the Sri Lankan curry breakfast was a stand out meal - we had it 4 times!

We took an overnight trip to Kandy, flying there by sea plane and returning by rail to Colombo the next day. This was a wonderful trip and enabled us to sample some of the culture of the country.

We have been to many great hotels across the world, but for a slice of peaceful pampering Serene Pavilions takes some beating.

Room Tip: Ocean View Pavilions provide a fantastic sight to wake up to. Ours was next to the bar/restaurant (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned from spending 10 days at this lovely hotel - and we enjoyed every moment. We were welcomed handsomely and treated with every attention throughout the stay. A simple thing that made us feel so good was that all the staff would greet us with a smile and that spoke volumes. The gardens are spacious and beautifully tended which adds to the experience.
For us our choice of a Garden Pavilion was absolutely correct - it was spacious, extremely well appointed, comfortable and very private. Our butler, Lahiru was attentive, discreet and very helpful. he made our stay very special indeed.
The food was both imaginative and well presented with some often quite unique combinations. The chef here is very good. I am intolerant to milk and its products and he produced some wonderful food which was totally dairy free. I was so grateful for this.
Among so many helpful staff we would especially commend the pool man, Mahindra, the barman,Tharanga and the room boy whose name escapes me.
The manager was always available and spent a lot of time ensuring that all was well for us.
Every review has to have negative and for me it was the wine. The wine list was OK and what you would expect for a place remote from wine growing areas, but they do need to stock what they list on the wine menu!
All told a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Sue & Mike Clark

Room Tip: If you want privacy choose the Garden Pavilion. If you want a sea view choose the Ocean Pavilion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with very exclusive pavilions, providing total privacy and a high quality environment. It is very quiet though and you would really be wanting a completely undisturbed time, away from the hustle and bustle of Sri Lanka, if you are going to get the most of this hotel. The design , interior furnishings and staff are all wonderful, attentive and always on hand, there are definitely more staff than guests. The menu available is a little limited and we often ordered something that when it arrived didn't quite match the description, quality was good though. The only real feedback I have is the wine list. For a high quality hotel it has a very limited selection and nothing really met our requirements, found much better choice at other hotels. There isn't a price issue as the wine was not over priced, just a lack of choice. We would come back again and enjoyed our stay although we prefer the Fortress Hotel as a total experience.

Room Tip: The Ocean Pavilions are really beautiful with amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

An excellent spot for a pampering and "chilling out" after a tour around the fascinaring island of Sri Lanka.
The beach villas are luxurious and well appointed.The service is FANTASTIC.
The grounds and gardens of this boutique hotel are spacious and beautifully set out. There are very few villas, so if you are looking for a "lively" night life, this is not for you. But if you want a quiet spot for a relaxing break , this hotel is idyllic.

Room Tip: The beach villas are all excellent. They are set back but with views of the sea. The garden villas d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

After a great trip with culture and nature through this wonderful country , we spent a few days at the Serene Pavilions.We enjoyed every moment: the beautiful location, the garden, the generous pool area, the atmosphere in the pavilions and in the restuarnt , the very kindly staff, the silence and the variety and quality of the dishes in the restaurant.

Erich and Vera from Switzerland

Room Tip: Its worthwile to book an Ocean Pavilion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.3 mi away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 10 in Wadduwa
375 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Pavilions

Address: 20 Upali Mawatha, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: $488 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serene Pavilions 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Pavilions is a spacious tropical haven, located on the Southwest coast of Sri Lanka. The boutique hotel comprises of 12 Balinese-inspired pavilions, spread over 5 acres of landscaped gardens dotted with coconut palms and lotus ponds. Each pavilion offers a sumptuous bedroom, large living and dining areas, a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi, a kitchenette. The delightful outdoor area features a private plunge pool, and a wooden sundeck with outdoor dining space. With an emphasis on personal service, Serene Pavilions can craft your dream escape. Start the day with breakfast served by your private butler by your plunge pool, or take a dip in the Indian Ocean. Unwind in your villa, where a mix of Sri Lankan and Balinese furnishings create a natural style and tranquil atmosphere. Play tennis, swim a few laps in the central pool, enjoy a spa treatment, or sit back on the beach and wait for the spellbinding sunset. For dinner, choose from the daily menu, or book a private dining session and give the chef free reign to create something new. Then enjoy a nightcap at Amritha Bar as you listen to the waves roll in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serene Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Pavilions Hotel Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing