We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a experience”
Review of Serene Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serene Pavilions
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Yes it is true, this is the place to come and just bliss out at the end of a busy tour of Sri Lanka, we couldn't of done it any better than staying here for a 2 night stay.

We had a Garden Pavilion and it was lovely. We were shown the Ocean view one as well, but we preferred that the garden one was more private. The villa had a lovely private plunge pool as well as the main swimming pool which we could have used if we wanted to with four jacuzzi beds.
The grounds are very well kept and landscaped, and the beach front area was very pretty, so you can hear the sound of the sea without even being on the beach. Our butler was called Ash and was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, and the view when eating simply wonderful. Yes it wasn't cheap, but we both felt so relaxed and de-stressed by the end of this trip it was worth every penny. Very romantic place. I bought a very pretty ring from the jeweller on the resort. I saw a stone I really liked the look of, and he made it up into a ring for that very same night, what service! No idea if a paid a good price, but I love it so much I don't care!

The only problem we had is when we paid our bill, the system seemed to be down and it took forever to sort and felt they implied my card was to blame at first. I was a bit worried that they swiped my card so many times it may debit more than once so had to check with my bank just in case, but all was fine.

Room Tip: The Garden Pavilion is lovely, after seeing the Ocean Pavilion as well, felt that the garden one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 235 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

In need of a 5 day trip away from reality, we travelled to Serene Pavillions and it exceeded all our expectations. After drooling over the pictures online being there was even better. The hotel, pavillions, location, spa and service were exceptional. We were in Santutti pavillion and spent most of the time outside in the private plunge pool so had all the privacy we could ask for. A massive thank you has to go to our butler Tusi, he really was oustanding. Thank you Serence Pavillion team and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We had the option of an ocean pavillion and after viewing it we much preferred the garden pavillion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place to relax, peppered, and enjoy great cuisine than this is the place to go to. After an exciting two weeks of touring Sri Lanka we had decided to choose a place where we could reflect on our journey, take a break and simply endure some space then I can certainly confirm that this is where you can get all that and plus. The place itself is well managed, the garden impeccably kept, the facilities adapt to your requirements and the kitchen was unbelievable. The choices and quality refined and tasty, the kitchen always exceeding expectations and providing taste for even lovelier memories.
The staff ever helpful and discreet and making our stay very delightful. We stayed for almost 12 nights and could have continued as the serenity grows on you and we will surely return to enjoy the lull we had to rejuvenate our energy.

Room Tip: Try the Ocean front farthest away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shee_anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This 5 star hotel is a real jewel in the magnificent island of Sri Lanka and located perfectly on a tranquil clean beach amid the Indian Ocean.
The hotel welcomed us at the airport with fresh cold towels and cool water as we hit the humid 32oc heat outside. This was very much appreciated. The transfer was efficient and after 1 hour of driving through colorful towns we arrived at the delightful open planned and fresh reception area. Check in was extremely efficient and we didn’t have to linger in the reception too long as all the administrative duties etc where carried out in the ocean pavilion where our butler for the duration of our stay, Jerome, welcomed us with revitalizing drinks.
The pavilion is extremely well equipped and splendidly laid out. It is composed of a large kitchen dining area, a cozy and comfortable living room, a great bedroom and a grand bathroom area with separate his/her wash basin/area, Jacuzzi bath, separate shower area and separate toilet. The bedroom led onto a large walk in wardrobe area and a working office. Wifi was simply accessible throughout the pavilion which was great. The private plunge pool was magnificently decedent and we made great us of this to cool down during the hot sunny days.
The entire resort is tremendously secluded and you will rarely see any guests throughout the day. The marvelous, private and well-spaced 25 meter swimming pool with 4 sunken Jacuzzis is ideal for a morning swim before breakfast is served. Fresh towels are always waiting for you when you emerge from the pool.
Dining at the hotel was effortless. Breakfast was served at anytime and anyplace you desired..wither in be on your private patio, by the swimming pool or along the beach…nothing was too much to ask. The hotel presented an array of Western and local food from the breakfast menu, all day dining menu, al-la-carte menu and vegetarian menu. The food was tantalizingly fresh and local sourced. The sea food and curries where exceptional. The seafood bbq offered on our arrival night was just glorious and it allowed us to sample the impressive kitchen and all it had to offer.
The spa is small but the treatments are heavenly and relaxing. The staff and their magic hands leave you feeling rejuvenated and floating.
The staff at the hotel are delightful. They are always on hand and aiming to meet your every need to the highest standard possible. Professional, private and courteous service is offered efficiently and effectively throughout.
If you want a great escape, somewhere where you can truly unwind and recharge the batteries in a totally exclusive area Serene Pavilions is the place to be. We left feeling totally chilled out and rejuvenated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's hard to fault Serene Pavillions; you arrive to a professional but personal reception, all of the staff from the management to the maintenance people are friendly and smiling and you really get the impression that this isn't just about being courteous to the customer, the Sri Lankan people seem to have a genuine serenity about them. Our pavillion had a beautiful ocean view, the bed was particularly comfortable and we slept very well. I don't know what it's like at other times of the year but in March I really enjoyed the different bird calls, the little squirrel-like creatures in the trees, the fruit bats that fly around at dusk catching the flies - and what was also charming was the little herd of goats and cows that occasionally graze on the beach. One morning at breakfast on the balcony we were delighted to witness the exercising of the local temple's elephant on the beach.
The holiday was made more special by the impeccable service of our butler, Jerome, who as other reviews have mentioned goes the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A gentle man who found the perfect balance of attentiveness and allowing us our privacy. He kindly reminded me when my spa treatment was and when the yoga master had arrived for my class, he organised a picnic breakfast for our 5.30am trip to Kandy and ran a bubble bath for me to ease my aching bones from having been in the car for much of the day. Subash who guided us in Kandy, to the elephant orphanage, the Temple of the Tooth Relic and the Tea Factory, was also excellent, he spoke excellent English (as did Jerome), and was polite and considerate - and again was a perfect representative of Serene Pavillions. The staff in the spa are also lovely, gentle and unassuming, they use natural products and some lovely treatments. Don't expect plush surroundings, in many ways this is a simple affair with only one treatment room so take care to book the day before but what the massages are excellent, they use ayervedic oils and they don't try to sell you products like many places do.
I would really recommend looking at the jewellery shop on the resort, there are some beautiful precious and semi-precious gems - I bought some Topaz ear-rings which were very reasonably priced - but even just to look at the gorgeous shades and colours of the stones is like being in a sweet shop. Lastly, the yoga master that visits the hotel is a real find, I had three one-to-one classes with him and I wish I'd had time to do more. I felt stronger and more flexible after only these few sessions and would really recommend it to anyone - from a beginner (like myself and someone who has, only just 5 months ago, had a hip replacement) to the more advanced practitioner - I felt revived and wonderfully clear headed, such a suberb addition to the whole Serene Pavillions experience. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: All excellent but ocean views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Actually this review is more like "thank you" to everyone in this great place.

Looking for romantic escape? Tired after long depressing winter? Everything is perfectly composed for your privacy and relaxation in this hotel. Just perfect....
Special thanks to our buttler Dakshina who made this stay smooth and spotless

My wife really enjoyed spa treatments too

Gemshop - I needed a present
, so the owner seems to be reasonable and helpful person

Room Tip: Ocean view from the second floor of pavillion in the morning.... )) Priceless ))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniss290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have recently returned from a five day stay at Serene Pavilions. In every respect it was a superb holiday tht will stay in our memories for a long time to come.

The welcome on arrival was totally professional but very relaxed. We were offered a refreshing drink and cold towel; there was no pressure to complete forms and hand over passports straight away; and our Pavilion was ready for us even though we had arrived a little early.

The facilities in our Ocean View Pavilion were truly world class. Plenty of space, very comfortable facilities, very large bedroom with a stunning ocean view from the bedroom and balcony.

Our butler Jerome saw to our every need in a friendly and courteous way. He always seemed to know what we might need next (for example, within moments of arriving at the pool he would be there with drinks of cold water). He was totally helpful at all times without eve being intrusive.

The meals were excellent. Highlights were the breakfast each morning on our own terrace; light lunches by our own pool; and evening meals in the restaurant looking out onto the Ocean. The Sri Lankan curries were truly superb. One small example of the great service is that when my wife mentioned that she enjoyed a particular dessert (which was not on the menu) Jerome arranged for the chef to have this available each evening.

The hotel pool (which we often had to ourselves) is surrounded by stunning gardens. The poolside staff were always friendly and cheerful. We wre encouraged to lie on the 'underwater sunbeds' and enjoy the jacuzzi facilities built into them.

The jewelry shop is excellent with a wide range of hand made jewelry. The owner is extremely helpful and is happy to make items to your own design if you wish.

Both my wife and I enjoyed excellent massages in the hotel's spa facility.

The hotel providd a driver, Subash, for a trip to Galle. He couldn't have been more helpful and speaks excellent English. He is friendly, totally professional and courteous. On the way he took us to a Tsunami photographic museum which was extremely moving. On arrival in Galle he provided a very interesting tour of his home city.

We feel that Serene Pavilions is a uperb hotel with first class facilities and excellent staff. We would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely visit it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,437 reviews
1 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
17.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.6 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Pavilions

Address: 20 Upali Mawatha, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: $490 - $909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serene Pavilions 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Pavilions is a spacious tropical haven, located on the Southwest coast of Sri Lanka. The boutique hotel comprises of 12 Balinese-inspired pavilions, spread over 5 acres of landscaped gardens dotted with coconut palms and lotus ponds. Each pavilion offers a sumptuous bedroom, large living and dining areas, a marble bathroom with Jacuzzi, a kitchenette. The delightful outdoor area features a private plunge pool, and a wooden sundeck with outdoor dining space. With an emphasis on personal service, Serene Pavilions can craft your dream escape. Start the day with breakfast served by your private butler by your plunge pool, or take a dip in the Indian Ocean. Unwind in your villa, where a mix of Sri Lankan and Balinese furnishings create a natural style and tranquil atmosphere. Play tennis, swim a few laps in the central pool, enjoy a spa treatment, or sit back on the beach and wait for the spellbinding sunset. For dinner, choose from the daily menu, or book a private dining session and give the chef free reign to create something new. Then enjoy a nightcap at Amritha Bar as you listen to the waves roll in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serene Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Pavilions Hotel Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing