We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful honeymoon?”
Review of Reef Villa & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Villa & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I recently spent 10 nights at Reef for my honeymoon. the place is lovely, the food is delicious and the staff,extemely attentive but at times felt to me too attentive!(nice for the first few days but got a bit oppresive after a while) My husband chose reef as it sounded the perfect romantic getaway, we wanted some private quiet time (it as our honeymoon after all!) But we were constantly phoned by the staff if we had not put our dinner order in at lunch time and it felt like our every move was being monitored, the turn down service, although good, was always done whilst we were still in our room getting ready for dinner or just trying to have some private time, as was the cleaning in the morning, I couldn't quite understand why this was as we were mostly the only guests at the resort so the staff could easily have serviced the room whilst we were not in it! My husband also took exception to being charged £15 each for having breakfast in the room one morning instead of the restaurant (which was approx 50 yds from our room!) He felt that,as we had already paid for breakfast in the room rate, we should be allowed to have it in our room if we wished, after all, it was our honeymoon, a once in a lifetime occasion so we felt that perhaps
(being that we we were the only guests at the time) we would be granted this request gratis, little touches like this,go a long way to making the perfect trip for me.
I also felt very uncomfortable when the staff were apologising about us having to pay and were themselves uncomfortable that they had to ask for payment, they clearly felt it was an un-necessary added expense.
The manager was excellent at arranging trips for us, I would recommend a driver they use called Supan, nothing was too much trouble, he really was wonderful.

I loved Sri Lanka and overall,my stay at Reef was a pleasant one, I do hope I am not going to get a telling off by the owners for my review (as others on here have),it is just my personal opinion and hopefully will be taken as it is meant, as constructive not destructive.

One last thing though, the complaint by a reviewer that you cannot swim in the sea is a valid one, we were in fact told by the owner when we arrived NOT to swim in the sea due to the dangerous under current so he should be honest about this as if people are expecting to relax on the beach and swim in the sea,(like I was expecting) they will be disappointed, I think it is important for the owners to not take the crticism personally and feel they have to defend every point, it isn't their fault that the sea is not swimmable and the beach is far from perfect,these things are out of their control, perhaps what they could focus on is areas that they do have control over and not take constructive criticism as a personal slight. I wish Reef the very best for the future. Kind regards MRS Hayes

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefSriLanka, Director of Sales at Reef Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

We thank you for your superb review in our guest book and greatly appreciate your many compliments reminding us how much you loved Reef, how amazing our staff are and how you are planning on returning with your families next year to book Reef exclusively.

As you were fully aware, breakfast is included in your suite rate. If you wish to order room service, which you did several times, this is chargeable and this was clear from the menus in your suite, which you agreed to and signed for.

A honeymoon breakfast in your suite, is available as part of one of our honeymoon packages. However you did not select this concierge option.

When you stayed with us it was the Monsoon season and therefore off-season. Although the weather was sunny and without rain for the duration of your stay, the seas can be rough and we quite rightly advised against swimming in the sea. As you know have a beautiful swimming pool.

From November to April, the sea is wonderful, and superb for swimming, all of which we told you about when you booked and arrived in September.

Bernadette Barker
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Reef Villa & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 464 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We are very picky couple but when we came first time (two months ago) to REEF VILLA and walked through this wonderful property, we knew immediately, we were in a right place. We had truly wonderful stay so we decided to come again!!! :) Living in a hectic city like Dubai,we found REEF as a complette bliss and relaxation. And truth is we have been there already twice in a two month time and we are plannig our third visit soon !!!
REEF transfer its guest to colonial era with old fashion charm, you don't know where to sit first because everywhere you look your eyes are pleased by the sight of harmony thanks to Brendan's great taste and attantion to details. All people in REEF are very pleasant and are always close by if you need drink,coffee or just a little talk. Food is delicious and served in open air restaurant by the pool. We have found our favourite place in Sri Lanka for sure !!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maukyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I am reluctant to write a review in case so many holiday makers descend on the Reef Vila and Spa that we can no longer secure a reservation! However the sheer magic of the place deserves personal sacrifice. Superb villa and a world class spa. Perfect, serene setting....and wonderful staff who catered to our every need. It was was by far and away the best acommodation we stayed in during our holiday in Sri Lanka. Book while you still can!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have travelled and worked around the world for the last 23 years of my life, i have visited many hotels during this time, reef villa & spa is the most relaxing, friendly hotel i have ever visited, the staff could not do enough for to help, especially with our 11 month old son. avsolutely nothing was a problem.
if you want a holiday where you can truely relax and forget the stress of everyday life, then reef villa is definately that place.
for some people who are not well travelled the friendliness of the staff and certainly the assistance offered in arranging trips and transport, may at first seem overwhelming, believe me it is not the case, we made the mistake of using outside transport on 2 occassions thinking we would find it cheaper, ( we ended up paying over $50 more for transport )
for some the service may seem slow, it isn't, remember your holiday with a different culture, relax and enjoy the peace reef villa & spa offers, we will be back and thats gauranteed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our first trip to this part of Sri Lanka and from start to finish our stay at Reef Villa and Spa was wonderful....Brendan the co-owner met us on arrival and his charm and wit were very welcome and his passion for their property and the details was obvious...The suites are huge and have a special feel, a mix of colonial and sri lankan vibe is evident and the bathroom is as large as the bedroom with indoor and outdoor showers...we loved it! The restaurant menu covers lots of fresh options, cooked to order...the attentiveness of the staff and the great views of the ocean and the 100% zen feel just made us fall in love with this place.we are DEFINITELY coming back!

Room Tip: Free wifi with good signal....rooms are in the main house and the grounds...we stayed in the gardens...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Woww..... the Reef is a beautiful hidden oasis. Brendon and is very charming talented staff could not do enough for us throughout our stay, we were so spoilt, even being served sorbets while we played tennis! our suite was very palatial ,with outstanding colonial furniture, and a fantastic outside waterfall shower, which was perfect to cool off before walking over 3 stepping stones to the pool and garden pavillion before lunch or dinner. Everything there was perfect... food was delicious, all the reef staff were first class, and our room was spotless. what more can one want!! A huge Thank you to Brendon and your great team for making us both feel so special. And we will be back... can we have some chilled KWV on arrival next time pls? if we did not deplete your cellar while we were there! It went by way to quickly!! wishing the reefers all the best! Helen & Francis, in Guildford, England

Room Tip: All perfect and luxurious
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was our first experience of Sri lanka, and what a place to start! Not too far from the airport and the laid back luxury, great service and quiet pace of life was just what we needed after an 11 hour flight.
The hotel is extremely stylish without any stiuffiness or pretension. With only 7 suites I imagine it will never seem busy, but for 3 of our 4 days in July we had the place to ourselves!
The staff and management are lovely and can't do enough (without being obtrusive). If you plan to travel to Sri Lanka I strongly recommend Reef Villas as a first port of call to re-charge your batteries and indulge in a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
1.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
17.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,272 reviews
16.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
18.9 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 25 in Bentota
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Villa & Spa

Address: 78 Samanthara Rd, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range: $394 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Reef Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Villa & Spa, is a spectacular luxury hideaway in three acres of beach side, exotic tropical gardens, just 45 mins south of Colombo, Sri Lanka. With our 65m sandy beachfront, all weather tennis court, large swimming pool, lush tropical gardens, Reef sets a new bench mark for luxury accommodation in Sri Lanka. Romantic, private, and intimate and just seven exclusive, palatial suites; the ultimate in elegance and luxury and a soothing blend of warm effortless service and harmonious spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Reef Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Villa Hotel Wadduwa
Reef Villa And Spa
Reef Beach Hotel Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing