We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a 4* than a 3*” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranweli Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranweli Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
croydon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More a 4* than a 3*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

More a 4* than a 3*. If you're worried about staying in a 3* hotel then don't. It's the first hotel, I've ever stayed in that had too few stars; normally it's too many. With its good food and attentative staff it made for a nice relaxing stay.
For trips and massages we booked with the much mentioned Anthony and we were very satisfied. If you're into running you must go along the local roads as I think it's the most friendliest place I have ever run. Also a walk into town is interesting, it's about 11km but there are plenty of tuk tuks if you want a lift back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroydonMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    271
    93
    38
    33
See reviews for
170
369
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. But the service at our arrival was a disappointment. We booked 2 rooms two months in advance but arrived at seven in the morning because of our flight. Our rooms where ready but we had to pay 80 dollars extra for getting into our rooms earlier. We complained and the 'extra' charge was lowered to 40 dollars. Because of our jetlag we paid to get in our rooms. Besides the arrival we had a very pleasant stay in Ranweli Holliday Village.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms at the end of the park. You can sit under the palm trees and it feels as if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 265Monique265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived during a refurb. Upgraded room because this was booked before the announcement was made on the booking website. All staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The ant infestation was immediately dealt with without further ado - this can't be helped in this superb setting.

Spent many a happy hour relaxing on a sunbed, by the pool, being attended to by the pool attendants and the bar staff. the pool is a pleasant haven when the temperature rises.
The all inclusive option is well worth the money. Plenty of good quality food throughout the day. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom.

Beware the competition from "tour operator" Anthony and the local tuk tuk drivers- just outside the boundary of Ranweli. A violent argument between said Anthony and tuk tuk driver lost them both any chance of me using them! - Better to organise things yourself with the taxi drivers inside the boundary!

I will definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baflo, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice place to be. Only the wifi was avaible in the lobby not in the cabanas,
I was positiv surprised,
The people are very friendly, For relaxing really a good place, you are off the world.
The cabana is very complete. You are close to nature

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

i spent 5 nights in full board .our room was standard bungalow sea facing .it was clean , nice with a breathtaking view but so many lizards & ants IN ROOM LOL ... it was room number 126 , far away from everything but close to beach with privacy .no mini bar or Tv .staff were very polite & helpful .check in was easy with a nice welcome drink .we enjoyed the sound of waves of the sea was breathtaking ....food was not good ,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desert_rose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for two weeks on an all-inclusive package. Our room was very comfortable and clean, it had only been recently renovated and our room boy went the extra mile to keep it spotless. The downside for us was the attentiveness of the staff - keeping in mind that we had an all inclusive package, we struggled to get served more than 1 drink each at meal times and if we wanted more we had to leave the restaurant and get drinks from the bar ourselves. On the last day, we had to check out at 12:00 even though we did not get picked up until 16:00 - we also lost the all inclusive status at 12:00, meaning we'd now have to pay for all our drinks, and all of a sudden the waiters were falling over themselves to serve us! Another nuisance were the perpetual sales pitches we were subjected to from marketing hotel manager - the hotel tours were a lot more expensive than those offered by the tour operators or Anthony from across the river!
Whilst the location is very nice I certainly won't rush back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fubufisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked the standard bungalow sea facing. The rooms were nice and spacious but there were some ants crawling on the wall and a lizard in the bathroom. There was not much options in dining as well. The breakfast buffet was ok. There was one small swimming pool. Having said that, the sound of waves coming from the sea was refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0mad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
8.0 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Property: Ranweli Holiday Village
Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing