We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel but arrival was no warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranweli Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. But the service at our arrival was a disappointment. We booked 2 rooms two months in advance but arrived at seven in the morning because of our flight. Our rooms where ready but we had to pay 80 dollars extra for getting into our rooms earlier. We complained and the 'extra' charge was lowered to 40 dollars. Because of our jetlag we paid to get in our rooms. Besides the arrival we had a very pleasant stay in Ranweli Holliday Village.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms at the end of the park. You can sit under the palm trees and it feels as if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 265Monique265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 774 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived during a refurb. Upgraded room because this was booked before the announcement was made on the booking website. All staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The ant infestation was immediately dealt with without further ado - this can't be helped in this superb setting.

Spent many a happy hour relaxing on a sunbed, by the pool, being attended to by the pool attendants and the bar staff. the pool is a pleasant haven when the temperature rises.
The all inclusive option is well worth the money. Plenty of good quality food throughout the day. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom.

Beware the competition from "tour operator" Anthony and the local tuk tuk drivers- just outside the boundary of Ranweli. A violent argument between said Anthony and tuk tuk driver lost them both any chance of me using them! - Better to organise things yourself with the taxi drivers inside the boundary!

I will definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice place to be. Only the wifi was avaible in the lobby not in the cabanas,
I was positiv surprised,
The people are very friendly, For relaxing really a good place, you are off the world.
The cabana is very complete. You are close to nature

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

i spent 5 nights in full board .our room was standard bungalow sea facing .it was clean , nice with a breathtaking view but so many lizards & ants IN ROOM LOL ... it was room number 126 , far away from everything but close to beach with privacy .no mini bar or Tv .staff were very polite & helpful .check in was easy with a nice welcome drink .we enjoyed the sound of waves of the sea was breathtaking ....food was not good ,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desert_rose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for two weeks on an all-inclusive package. Our room was very comfortable and clean, it had only been recently renovated and our room boy went the extra mile to keep it spotless. The downside for us was the attentiveness of the staff - keeping in mind that we had an all inclusive package, we struggled to get served more than 1 drink each at meal times and if we wanted more we had to leave the restaurant and get drinks from the bar ourselves. On the last day, we had to check out at 12:00 even though we did not get picked up until 16:00 - we also lost the all inclusive status at 12:00, meaning we'd now have to pay for all our drinks, and all of a sudden the waiters were falling over themselves to serve us! Another nuisance were the perpetual sales pitches we were subjected to from marketing hotel manager - the hotel tours were a lot more expensive than those offered by the tour operators or Anthony from across the river!
Whilst the location is very nice I certainly won't rush back here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fubufisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked the standard bungalow sea facing. The rooms were nice and spacious but there were some ants crawling on the wall and a lizard in the bathroom. There was not much options in dining as well. The breakfast buffet was ok. There was one small swimming pool. Having said that, the sound of waves coming from the sea was refreshing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0mad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This eco resort was a real treat. We had a deluxe room which was spacious and had an extremely comfortable King size bed and beautiful bathroom. We specifically booked here because of the birding and were not disappointed. The morning guided birding tour is spectacular - both the guide and the boat driver were incredibly knowledgeable and we saw 33 species in 3 hours which was great for out of season birding. A highlight was the pair of roosting collared scops owls which we saw very close up. If you're not a birder, the gorgeous pool, and loungers overlooking the sea will be the perfect spot to relax and unwind. The service really goes above and beyond - My husbands spectacles were left in the taxi that took us back to Colombo, and the Ranweli staff made every effort to trace them and return them to our hotel in Colombo for which we were very grateful. Highly highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was in the front row facing the sea - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,302 reviews
3.3 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 44 in Negombo
569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jetwing Sea
Jetwing Sea
#7 of 44 in Negombo
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 44 in Negombo
922 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
539 reviews
8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 44 in Negombo
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range: $99 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing