We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranweli Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Coulsdon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful resort”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 4 night here in March and had an amazing time. To get to the resort you have to jump on the mini ferry across the lagoon, it was like arriving on treasure Island! We had room 121, a standard bungalow right at the front of the beach. It could do with a bit of a refurbish - you can upgrade to a delux but this room suited us fine. You coud not ask for a better location. To sit on your little patio and watch the giant butterflys flutter by in the sunshine and the hermit crabs scuttle past you soon start to feel like you are in paradise.
Its total relaxation. We were full board. We are not great lovers of full board, so the daily ritual of going to meals at set times and scoffing too much buffet was a slight downside for us but the food was of a high standard.
Had a magical time here and would go back tomorrow :-)

Room Tip: Book a bungalow on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    289
    101
    38
    35
See reviews for
180
393
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

After quite a hectic touring holiday we spent the last 3 days at this idyllic resort. On arrival we were upgraded to a lovely bungalow opening out on to the sea. The rooms were spotlessly clean with all usual facilities. We did not eat in the restaurant, only in the pool bar. The food was perfectly acceptable. One of the nights, a seafood barbecue was organised on the beach with live music and firewords which was great fun. I cannot fault the staff, who were attentive and polite at all times. The freshly squeezed fruit juice brought to us each day on the beach was wonderful and we wished we had longer to spend there.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a deluxe bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbkofherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great place to rest and recuperate after a long flight. It is only a short transfer between 30 and 40 minutes to the airport and avoids the frantic Columbo traffic. The approach to the hotel is by a small ferry propelled by a man pushing a pole. The bubgalows are facing the beach and are clean and comfortable. It's worth upgrading to a deluxe as they are brighter and better presented than the standard bungalows.. Service at the pool bar and in the main bar can be slow so leave plenty of time when ordering drinkd. Wake up calls are a bit hit and miss so dont rely totally on them. We didn't get the first call then the second call was an hour too early and we were wakened again 10 minutes later for an apoligy for waking us early!
The surroundings are Idyllic and are ideal for a chillout before and after your holiday, the food is good (by Sri Lankan standards).
You can hire a bike or go on a boat trip but honestly it's lovely just to rest and enjoy the peace and quiet., fantastic sunsets and a glass of wine from the sea facing porch of your own little bungalow.

Room Tip: Book an upgrade to deluxe or superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I loved our deluxe seaview bungalow Room 114 specifically - which is the nearest bunglaow to the sea. It was clean and tidy and good size. beach was nice and sun beds are prepared for you in the morning. Massages are also fantastic.
Food wasn't bad - but it wasn't great either. I had better food in Sri Lanka.
It was a large resort - perhaps I was more hoping for a personable experience.
If you are under 35 - Don't go there it's full of silver heads (sorry).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great place to stop for a couple of nights before or after exploring Sri Lanka.
Beautiful scenery, great beds and it is away from the noise of Negombo. It is 30 minutes to the airport in the early morning, but make sure you back up your wake up call because we booked one and it was forgotten!

We found the food was a bit expensive compared to many other places in Sri Lanka, but the buffets have a nice variety. We treated ourselves with the ferry dinner on our last night and it was not only delicious, but very relaxing and romantic.
Service at the pool bar seemed a little slow and unorganized at times, but everything else was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redbear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

1st trip to sri lanka so i cant compare to other places here but we were very happy with this hotel. we stayed for 2 weeks, booked a standard room but upon arrival we were upgraded to a beach front bungalow compliments of the hotel, which was lovely. the rooms were spacious, good air conditioning and a ceiling fan. the room had a small fridge hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities and a huge kingsize bed which was extremely comfortable. we stayed in room 184 which was at the end of the complex, some may be off put by this but we liked the out of the way feel of it, no noise or passers by. there is a patio area outside each bungalow with lots of shady areas, which is a bit of a release when the sun is so hot. lots of chipmunks around and bird life. the pool is a reasonable size and not once were we ever unable to get a sunbed. the beach is also very good and clean and never crowded lucky to meet 3 or 4 people. the water can be quite choppy with big surf, but everyone seemed to enjoy the challenge of this. the sea was also very warm, water isnt a classical clear blue so no good for snorkeling. the pool boys were very attentive. the food quality was very good, the buffet had approx 6 or 7 main meal choices, plus salads and various local cuisine. different choices every night rotated again after 1 week. plenty of healthy options. we found all of the staff to be friendly and approachable and any query was dealt with quickly.
when booking trips we have always gone with our holiday rep, this time after reviewing this hotel on trip advisor we decided to book with anthoney who owns the local restaurant and shop outside the ranweli. I am so pleased we did, anthoney quoted us a price that was nearly half what the rep quoted us and the trips were of a high standard, and the tour guides were lovely. anthoney and his family are wonderful, if he doesnt have it he can get it and was a genuinely nice man. we had a lovely lobster and prawn dinner (see photo) which was huge and delicious. his drink prices are also less then half of what the hotel charges. who ever you do decide to book with the trips can take up to 3 hours to get there as the driving conditions are a lot different to europe. all in all the hotel is a little gem, not over commercialised, quite and relaxing, the evening entertainment was very sparse, to me that was a plus. the hotel never felt crowded and i didnt have to queue for anything, we would definately return here and will miss our daily trip to anthoneys who really made our holiday for us

Room Tip: if you are looking for peae and quite choose the rooms furthest from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank furminger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent 10 night here in Jan/Feb after visiting in 2011. The standards were exceptionally high, and staff remembered us from previous visit. Food was brilliant, but would not do all inclusive again as it turns you into a barrel. There is only 2.5 hours am and 0.5 hours pm when food is not available. This is such a find, as you raft across the canal on arrival you leave traffic and the outside world behind. We previously had room 121 a standard chalet, we requested a similar location and were given 122. We had to move as a swarm of bees decided to live in our roof and moved to a very comfortable 136. The staff obviously have a good deal of training, and you will always be met with a smile. Friends we met there went on the safari to the park in the north and saw elephants and a leopard. We had spent time in the south so were happy to do nothing at all while we were there. Will visit again and again. Beetroot curry is to die for.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 43 in Negombo
1,425 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#9 of 43 in Negombo
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,006 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 43 in Negombo
381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Property: Ranweli Holiday Village
Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing