We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Hotel Dolphin AI”
Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Hotel Dolphin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Club Hotel Dolphin AI”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel - would recommend highly, great facilities, excellent and varied choice of food, great staff and beautiful location. Pools are clean and well maintained (no sea swimming during our trip however we knew this would be the case). Our 7 yo boy had a great time as well ( he even enjoyed the animation shows) - we didn't use the kids club or babysitting services so can't comment on those.

Stayed in a sea view villa closer to the quiet pool - well appointed room and great views

Room Tip: Sea View Villa was lovely - close to everything, quiet, beautiful views also
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    667
    212
    70
    49
See reviews for
593
1,140
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night in a Hotel Dolphin. First impression was good. Nice clean rooms with fantastic view of the sea side. Opted for buffet at dinner. Vast selection of authentic srilankan food. Appams was brilliant and so as the dessert selection. Buffet price is steep, regardless good quality food.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed only 5 days on our way to Maldives. Hotel has quite big territory, which was cleaned each day (mostly from leaves). We stayed in a beach villa which looks a bit ugly from outside but it's nice inside (there were some small damages like broken light in a wardrobe) but it didn't spoil our stay. We knew that we won't be able to swim in ocean (big waves) so both pools were clean and big enough - we enjoyed using them. This hotel is very good if you search for calm place, in case you want more life, activities, road shopping and restaurants, you should choose any other on a Beach road in Negombo, but when Negombo beach is full of locals, Club Dolphin beach is empty, clean and very attracting. Food in hotel restaurants was good and tasty, they have big choice of curries and fruits, cockteil choice is also good. On a territory there were a lot of cats and dogs, they are very friendly and ther is no need to be afraid of them. You can see a lot of squirels as well. The big minus is crows. A lot of crows. Like in Hitchhock movies. A sound of "cra-cra" follows you everywhere: you can hear them when you are in you bathroom or when laying next to pools. They were attacking even dogs.
Most of the visitors of the hotel are Germans, also a lot of Russian are there - everybody behaves good) On a beach you can find locals who propose excursions.
In general we were satisfied with out choice and stay there.

Room Tip: In June/July better to take not beach villas but rooms in main buiding (to loud on a beach because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Service a lot to be desired and same food offered . However clean and ok for a night . Quite a lot of wildlife both wanted and unwanted. Dogs and cats freely roaming ( although not aggressive or a pest) lots of chipmunk like squirrels and birds . Beach was limited and red flags up as sea rough when we were there. Good value if you like all inclusive . Lots of families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicknickx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are sad to hear that your experience with us was average / disappointing and we are sorry for not being able to providing you an enjoyable stay with us.

We have noted all areas highlighted in your comments and all the areas which are within our control will be worked on and improved. I would like to stress on our commitment to continuously improve our services and would like to reassure you of an improved experience with us if you wish to vacation at our resort in the future.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any assistance in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were at the hotel to spend the day at the pool and enjoy the classic international buffet. The food was so good; we have decided to spend a few days when we visit Sri Lanka next time. Great location, has a great pool to relax. Staff is courteous. A must visit !

Room Tip: They have cabanas, I am sure they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandana_silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an absolutely gorgeous hotel. I have stayed here three times and would return in a heart beat. The staff are friendly, facilities are lovely, food is brilliant, service excellent but one of the MAIN reasons I return with my family is because of the DOGS.. They are like my pets away from home! They aren't a nuisance at all, so DONT be put off by this.. They are, like I say, the main reason I return, they are so lovely!!! If you go please take the time to spend a little time with them.. I even took a few chews from England with me :)
Anyways.. This place is paradise!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Glennsuewyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place is a jewel in Sri Lanka ! Perfect beach club with all the facilities in the World ! Highly courteous and well-mannered staff. The food is just PERFECT ! One of the top restaurants in the whole Island. Think of anything and its there ! Cinema, bars, clubs, restaurants, sports, wonderful pool, kids playing area, large green field, perfect beach, health club, sports facilities and the most important adventure shows by Team Dolphin ! No doubt a wonderful place to go with family, even for corporate meetings and team building activities ! I am writing this review while i am still at the hotel with my check tomorrow, and I will miss this resort !! PERFECT ! Thumbs up Team Hotel Dolphin Club !! and yes .. your CHEF Rocks !! :D

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor beach facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saif-ur-Rehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
4.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
429 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,808 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 43 in Negombo
1,446 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Property: Club Hotel Dolphin
Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing