We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barry england”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Hotel Dolphin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Barry england”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay,beautiful food even better people, from the cleaners too the bar staff hard too meet more friendly people.how too make this hotel a better place serve wine on the ai ,&plz plz mr manager get rid of the cats& dogs that frequent the hotel its the only thing that stops me & my grandchildren returning, if want too see wild animals ill go on safari. It doesnt help when guests feed them &even witnessed 1guest taking a dog too her room . For trips see asda very professional we had a few beers & a family meal, plz mr manager get these minor problems sorted &get this hotel the ratings
it deserves.
Barry England

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and suggestions with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and facilities offered at the resort.
We appreciate your kind suggestions and will take our utmost effort in improving the areas mentioned by you. I would also like to confirm that our All Inclusive Gold package, which you can upgrade to upon arrival, includes wine at meal times. I hope this information would encourage you to visit us again and please do speak to our guest relations associates when you are with us next time in order for us to provide further clarification of the available services and facilities.

We have also noted your comments on the couple of stray dogs and cats visiting our hotel from the local village. We have advised the villagers about this and have even put up notices at the hotel asking our guests to refrain from feeding these animals. However, as you mentioned, our efforts are not helped when certain guests ignore our advice, and continue to feed these animals.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    632
    205
    67
    48
See reviews for
550
1,097
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a place. Set in a nature reserve, the bird life is fantastic. The bungalows are special and and the geckos sharing the shower make it even more special. The quiet pool suited us better than the large pool but WOW the Indian Ocean and sunsets are absolutly WOW. Great place to stay and can be as quiet or noisy as you want.

Got to go to Kandy for the Saphires, they really are a batgain and extra special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ColRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a glowing review about your holiday experience with us at Club Hotel Dolphin. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the natural splendors and wildlife in the resort amidst the services and facilities we provide. We try our best to provide fulfilling holiday experience for both adventure seeking guests and those who just love a quiet and relaxing time for their holiday and it is great to be recognized for the differentiation we try to create for our guests at this hotel.

Thank you again for your kind sentiments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Club Hotel Dolphin soon!

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel it self is a fairytale... after being welcomed by staff and with the juice, the long walk to 132 was covering 50% of the hotel premises.. our kids ( ages 6 and 4) loved the long walk with bends and curves... as soon as they saw the pool and the Dolphin kids club, they were more than satisfied.... the .87m pool spreading across the deluxe rooms was a fascinating feature as we were able to relax in a pool bed just outside our room while kids enjoyed the pool... the kids club too was very nicely organized and recommend to extend the open hours from 8-8 without afternoon break as kids like to peep into it whenever they pass it. The beach is very pretty and ideal for a walking as well for sand castles. The food and the variety was superb.... staff is a great asset as they are very much friendly that in other hotels. Longing for another stay when time permits.... Good Luck !

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms near the pool is ideal for families with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It brings us great pleasure to know that your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind sentiments - our associates are greatly encouraged by your feedback and this will motivate my team to try even harder. We are also happy to note that you liked the kids’ club which is a new addition to our services and we certainly will consider your suggestion in the future. Club Hotel Dolphin as you may have discovered is designed to cater to all age groups, interests and we leave it to our guests to enjoy their holidays in club style breaks or as a relaxing retreat.

We are enthusiastic in welcoming you back to Club Hotel Dolphin and hope to see you relaxing with us in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have used 'Dolphin' many times over when I used to work in the Garment Industry. It was our favorite 'haunt' for residential training programs. So, when I got the chance to revisit it after nearly a decade, I jumped at it - because I was keen to take a small 'nostalgic' tour around the place after the program.

The rooms were good after being refurbished. The entire 'public' area has been spruced up as well. The food was very good - and it has always been so. Sadly, there was little seafood overall. The breakfast specially was excellent - the curries were yum !

What lacked a little 'and costed the final star' was the service which slacked off from time to time. The door did not open - and had to wait for 'precious few minutes' for guys to come and actually get it open - some of the detail in the training room itself was left unattended. Nothing big - but it means a lot when you are conducting training - as little things sometimes becomes very 'costly' with regards to YOUR performance !

Anyway, all told, it honestly was a lovely stay ! No hesitation in recommending it - and infact, planning a trip with the kids over there as well !

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room - they are WAY better than the others !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A little late in writing this review as we visited in Nov 2013 but we certainly had a great stay at hotel dolphin. Key tip.....the gold package upgrade is a must! Eating at the a la carte (waves) and seafood market as part of this package was amazing, truly lovely food and wonderfully attentive staff at both who cannot do enough to make you feel special. Wine is included with this package too, although there did not seem to be a wide selection the wines that we did have were all very nice. Unfortunately, as we spent a long time each night enjoying the wonderful food in these places we frequently missed the evening entertainment.

We booked the sea view room which was nice with the exception of the fact that we seemed to have only a side partial sea view. However, when we spoke to reception they were extremely helpful and quickly sorted out a move us another full sea view room that day.

If booking tours we would recommend Asda tours who you will find on the beach outside the hotel. I travelled with my mum and we toured Sri Lanka prior to staying at the dolphin so only really wanted to do one trip which was to see the dolphins. Asda tours will give you the price but will tell you were it is more cost effective to go as a group, we found another two people and were able to get the dolphin trip for £30 each. This is a must as you see hundreds of dolphins (no exaggeration) and our boat seemed to stay out longer than other tour boats.

Highly recommended, great place.

Room Tip: Full sea view room, avoid third floor as the birds roost in the roof tops which means both noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have to strongly disagree with Dilly G at 6 June, the hotel and all their staff are fantastic, very smiley and welcoming. The food was fabulous with so much choice! I ate like a king while I was there and ate from a different country on most nights although I always had curry at either breakfast, lunch or dinner lol. The staff were do welcoming and helpful from the room boys up to the management. The entertainment was great for me, lovely jazz, funny theatre shows and the disco (which ivould never hear from my room). The rooms were amazing, massive bed and beautiful bathroom. I had a massage which was out of this world and went on a few trips which were the business. So cheap as well, nobody could complain about this beautiful, friendly place unless they were looking for a freebie!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisescruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Excellent beach hotel in Srilanka. It s location is near to Negombo, small drive from Bandaranayaka International airport. I spent a day out. Every thing were fantastic. First look of the hoter was attracted me so much. What a natural location. Buffet was excellent. Swimming pool was awesome. Beach view and the natural plants inside the hotel were exceptional. I am unable to comment about the rooms and hospitality. However, I can sure that aspect also will be nice. Definitely I wish to stay a weekend in this hotel again. Strongly recommended. For foreiners and locals. You need to spend atleast two nights and days out o enjoy fully. Thank you Serandip liesure.

Room Tip: No idea. It was a day trip. We did not stay in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathurageethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
3.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
1,356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 41 in Negombo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
454 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
974 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 41 in Negombo
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Property: Club Hotel Dolphin
Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing