We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Hotel Dolphin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed her in march and WOW what can I say, the food is the best we have ever had in the far east and all presented to a high standard! If you love curries this hotel is for you. We arrived to free cocktails and cold towels and then were shown to our room, although are room was not what we first requested this was soon changed with a free upgrade! The staff are extremely friendly with them all going above and beyond. This hotel is definitely worth the money we payed!

Room Tip: Go for a corner balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meganb5395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    667
    212
    70
    49
See reviews for
593
1,140
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

from start to finish this holiday was superb. A little apprehensive on taking the car from the airport to the hotel wondered where we were going to end up., Don't know why we worried we ended up in paradise. From management down they could not have done more for us, nothing was too much trouble. Clean , great food and a setting to die for. Lovely pool sectioned off into various depths. We had a great time with the day time animators, what a scream taking part in things we hadn't done for years, crocquet, shuffle board,golf, darts the list goes on. We will return, sunsets perfect wild life so cute (chipmunks and miner birds), entertainment for everyone and an expanded waist line - November/december 2012

Room Tip: we had a lovely room but undertstand that they were going to be refurbished, the villas were beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beatybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

When we arrived we were upgraded free of charge to a beach bungalow, due to the refurbishment. This was fabulous and made our holiday. The location of the hotel is superb, as it's adjacent to the beach. Everybody was so friendly and the staff could not do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. We did not hear any of the work that was going on and it was fully screened off. The food was very good and the desserts were it of this world.
The only criticism I would have is that not all of the facilities were available. We went to the Elephant orphanage with Asda tours which was excellent value for money. This trip is a must see.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellaruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Where do I start, we arrived at the hotel early morning and were greeted by a lovely welcome, a towel and a cold drink - just what we needed. Our room was ready shortly after we arrived, room 56 beach front villa. The villas are stunning, large, cool and clean. The seating outside is great for watching the sunsets. The villas take a little getting used to as they are very close to the sea and the noise of the waves kept me awake for a couple of nights whilst i got used to them. when it rains place a towel under the door as the rain water does go into the rooms. There are guys on the beach trying to sell you trips but I found that they leave you alone if you don't want to speak to them, just tell them politely. We chose to do our trips with Asda and mama & popa from the shop are so lovely - a really nice family (hi to Thamel if you are reading this). We did the fish market and Tuk Tuk/boat ride and then did a half day to the elephants as other holiday makers advised that the spice/pineapple gardens where not worth the time travelling. The elephants were amazing and a masssive THANK YOU to Nissan of ASDA tours who made it a special day. There are a lot of dogs around the hotel and there are a lot of Germans - I know which one i found more irritating! The dogs are lovely very soft and do not bother you unless you make the effort to stroke and feed them which we did on a daily basis.
The staff are amazing and have always got a smile for you, I must shout out to dan & David (restaurant) Wijon (bar) they were brilliant, David is always laughing no matter what time of day. The animation team are good lads Jhonny, Sunny, LaLa, Paul (mo) and the others who I didn't really speak to much. As most of the hotel is closed the animation team area is too so they are doing what they can with what they have which isn't much. I liked archery and one day asked them when it was on and they managed to include it in the days activities which was really good of them. The shows are funny, sunny dressed as a woman miming to hey big spender is a must see! Sunny also makes hats and grasshoppers out of palm tree leaves - I managed to bring my hat home as a souvenir. The food is good and really surprised me, they do have curries from 7am though and they are HOT which I couldn't eat. If you fancy something just ask the chef and he will make it that day or the day after - a nice touch. The deserts are in a separate air conditioned room again which is nice and they are small deserts so you can try a couple of them each time. Maintanence team were very fast to respond, any issues go to reception or call them and they react very fast and get the problem solved. Evening entertainment needs improving, all it needs is some music and people will make their own entertainment - we did, dancing and signing until 1am and the staff loved it!
Things to work on - entertainment, service around the pool (needs a waiter to walk around and take orders/serve drinks), less Germans - they are miserable and do not mix with anybody else so it becomes a them and us situation. The way they speak to the staff is disgusting and needs addressing. They are that bad that even Asda tours will not take any Germans on trips - we all can't be wrong!!
Overall a fantastic holiday and you would never know they were gutting the hotel as we did not hear one noise from the works.
To the Manager Daniel - please look after the staff as these make the hotel what it is, without the staff it is just a place to stay. Will be sorry to see Dan (dhanuska) leave as he is lovely. Massive shout out to all the staff I know I will have missed some people out but they are all brilliant and go out of their way for you.
Keep up the good work and I hope to return

Room Tip: Sea view villas are lovely but are noisy due to the closeness of the sea but they are stunning and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kaz3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A great place for a quiet holiday with great food and some really friendly staff. We had a beach view villa which was truly magical. The weather was quite spectacular at times with the rain coming in so fast and we enjoyed the tranquillity of the resort. Some of the staff went out their way to help us and the service in the restaurant and bars were very good.
The downsides?
Half the hotel was closed and so were the facilities. The entertainment was absolutely dire and the 'Animation' team seemed to swan about doing nothing. We were invited to play a couple of games of darts, a game of boules and one archery competition. A lot of the time they sat around drinking tea and chatting with each other-We could go on! Where were all the management?
It is a great place for honey moon couples and lovers .We didn't find out until the last day that we could have lunch at the poolside bar as part of the all inclusive and communication could have been MUC|H better. Tour guides and shop keepers were a nuisance on the beach and were very persistent.
Overall though we did have a great time even though our villa leaked water badly when it rained hard !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Beach villas are lovely but attract unwanted traders. The garden villas were the same but a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted with scented hot towels to freshen us after a long flight, and an iced cold drink. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in this hotel to assure we had everything we needed to make this one of our very special holidays. Due to the hotel still undergoing renovations we were upgraded to a beachside villa at no extra cost, as it was located at the other end of the complex you would never know any work was being carried out, I wouldn't have thought this would have affected any guests.
Food was plentiful, with a huge variety at all mealtimes, there was something to please everybody.
The animation team were fun and very friendly, and if you didn't want to join in there was no pressure.
There are some stray dogs lurking around the beach but cause no problem at all, they seem just as friendly as all the Sri Lankan people that you meet.
You'll also find local men on the beach trying to offer trips to places of interest, we went with Emanuelle to Negombo, going on his boat from outside the hotel, onto the canal into Negombo and arriving back by tuk tuk at a very reasonable price. There are others to choose from but it was a case of first come first serve. We did a tour into Kandy but with our Virgin tour guide, which is a must especially with all the things you get to see and do along the way, ie Elephant rides, Elephant orphanage, Tea factory, Spice garden, Botanical gardens and The Temple of the Tooth.
With all staff members and holiday rep Shirley, this was made to be one of our most special holidays and we would thoroughly recommend anybody coming to stay here, so much so we would someday love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim262331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club Hotel Dolphin. We are happy to hear that your holiday was enjoyable.

Your observation regarding the quiet and non-disturbing state of the ongoing renovation work is much appreciated as we feel that your review will help travelers to the hotel who are concerned over the ongoing work.

The kind sentiments in your review about the food, service and overall feel of the property is a great support to us and all our associates who take great pleasure in being able to deliver an experience that was enjoyed by you.

We are grateful for your support and patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your family to Club Hotel Dolphin in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKPORT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Flew British Airways via the Maldives to Columbo,excellent as always. Customs/ Immigration a breeze approx. 10 minutes and through to arrivals to meet our rep for transfers(resort hopper...great price and polite drivers both ways).BEWARE CON ARTISTS OUTSIDE THE AIRPORT WHO WAIT TILL YOUR DRIVERS GONE FOR HIS VEHICLE .... THEN DEMAND £10..00 FOR PICKING UP YOUR CASE AND PLACING IT IN THE BOOT...I GAVE HIM A FEW DOLLARS WHICH HE REFUSED!!
After 30/40 min drive you arrive at Club Dolphin which seems to be in the middle of nowhere but ideally placed by a beautiful river on one side(look out for the kingfishers) and the Indian Ocean on the other. Reception quick and easy with a welcome drink and a warm towel. We were accommodated in the beach villas which look a bit dated from the outside but were stunning on the inside high ceilings and airy rooms with a king size bed,flat screen tv ,tea and coffee making facilities,mini bar(extra to A I) safety deposit box,air conditioning,ceiling fan. Bathroom was large and modern with marble tops and all new sanitry ware,big shower area with choice of shower heads.
The food was of a very good standard but if you don't like curry your options do become somewhat limited although the chef cooks fresh steaks ,fish,kebabs,sausages everynight. Desserts are amazing with a wide choice as shown in previous photos. Breakfast excellent ,freshly made omelettes,eggs etc to go alongside the buffet NOTE no dress code during meal times but smart/casual is expected ie no swimwear.
At first we noted all the names of staff who seemed to go beyond the call of duty but gave up in the end,everyone was brilliant especially behind the bars and in the dining areas.Everyone has a smile and when it was time to leave ....a few tears goodbye.
Our only complaints
concerning the hotel are as follows......flies in the dining area(insectocuters needed around food areas) Mosquitoes everywhere at night (hotel was smoke fumigated on our 5th night throughout the grounds)and stray dogs near the quiet pool.. 5or 6 some days,the hotel needs a dog warden or someone to take control of this issue.
The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment to the main block but we never heard a thing but be aware the large pool and some facilities are not open although 27 rooms were due to be released(We had a quick look at the new rooms in the new block and they look amazing)...will the rates go up????
Tours.....We chose ASDA tours from the beach and tested the waters with a trip to the fish market in Negombo,£10.00 pp (tuk tuk from the beach to the local,train station ....great experience train to Negombo ,tuk tuk to the fish market and Negombo turned down the gem store and wood carving shop and back by boat down the river to the hotel ,all arranged and all inclusive of tickets etc excellent value.approx 4hrs NOTE take lots of small denomination notes with you ,everyone expects a tip especially at the fish market.
Trip to elephant orphanage....ASDA tours £42.50pp or £45.00 with drinks ie beers diet cokes water etc well worth the extra couple of quid. full day 12 hrs .beach pick up 6am ,pineapple plantation,elephant ride/shower,elephant orphanage(.WATCH OUT FOR THE PALM READERS WHO SHAKE YOUR HAND, TURNING IT OVER AND READ ING YOUR PALM IN A MATTER OF SECONDS AND DEMAND £20.00) spice plantation(BEWARE THE SALES PITCH AND HIGH PRICES IN THE SHOP ON EXIT) tea plantation and tooth temple in Candy,return to hotel approx. 6pm
ADVICE AND TIPS
Take plenty of small notes ie rupees,dollars etc tipping is everywhere in the tourist traps
TAKE OLD MOBILES,LAPTOPS ETC FOR THE VILLAGERS
BAGS AND BAGS OF SWEETS FOR THE LOCAL CHILDREN,TURN LEFT OUT OF THE HOTEL WALK DOWN THE ROAD TILL THE T JUNCTION,TURN LEFT BACK TOWARDS THE SEA AND THE SMALL CATHOLIC CHURCH,LEFT AGAIN BACK TOWARDS THE HOTEL PASSED ASDA TOURS AND SHOP. TAKE THIS TRIP EVERYNIGHT AT AROUND 5.00/530PM AND WATCH HOW THE WORD SPREADS EVEN THE ADULTS WERE COMING OUT ON THE LAST FEW NIGHTS WITH THE BIGGEST SMILES YOU HAVE EVER SEEN
AN ABSOLUTE JOY...BEST PART OF THE HOLIDAY
DONT BE AFRAID TO WALK OUT AND MEET THE LOCAL VILLAGERS AND USE THE SHOPS AT THE END OF THE BEACH ie ASDA,SAINSBURYS ETC (HIGH SALES PITCH AT FIRST MAYBE BUT THEY ALL BECAME GOOD FRIENDS ESPECIALLY AFTER A FEW SWEETS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ANDYLOUISEStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting a review on Club Hotel Dolphin sharing your experience with other travelers. We are happy to note that you had a good stay with us and pleased to find that you had a swift and easy check-in.

Your kind sentiments about the service levels of our staff is much appreciated, as the feedback you provide helps our associated to be motivated and appreciated.

I have already discussed with my team your concerns about the flies, mosquitos and the stray dogs and we will take all measures possible to improve our efforts to negate the inconveniences caused. As you may understand, having a tropical climate makes such efforts very challenging. Please note that your comment in this regard is highly appreciated and is duly noted.

We look forward to another opportunity in welcome you and your family back again to Club Hotel Dolphin.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
0.8 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
4.1 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
429 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#6 of 43 in Negombo
1,808 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 43 in Negombo
1,446 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Property: Club Hotel Dolphin
Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing