We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise”
Review of Ging Oya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikkal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ging Oya Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Waikkal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed few days at this lovely lodge and we enjoyed every minute. The lodge is surrounded by a beautiful forest and a river on one side, with statues and works of art all around.
There is a small pool and all bungalows are very pleasant, spacious, comfortable and clean with a large open-air bathroom where it is a pleasure to take a shower.
Meals are home made,continental and local food alternate and they are always delicious, the lime mousse is excellent! At breakfast home made yogurt, jam/marmalade are served and always in such a nice, gentle way.
The owners are very pleasant and run this lodge in an excellent way, the lodge is really a little paradise of elegance and natural beauty

Room Tip: All bungalows are nice
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ennio36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Ging Oya Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful, tranquil place very conveniently located from the airport. Comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, lovely pool, excellent food. Hosts very pleasant and helpful - organised a car from the airport and arranged onward transport at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aliasrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a beautiful place decorated with many pieces of interesting art. There is a lovely swimming pool which we had to ourselves. It's possible to do interesting canoe trips and bike rides although the local beach is nothing special.

It is only 30 minutes from the airport but you are a world away from the city. The owners are always helpful and make you feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a long flight we were realy happy to arrive at Ging Oya Lodge. Very clean and hudge bungalows in a tropical forest, fantastic pool to relax, good food and very friendly and helpful owners. The excursion by canoe to the sea was just great and exiting. We would have liked to stay some more days but our daughters were in a hurry to start to visit the island. Thanks to Miriam and Leo and your daugther to have such a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gabi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful nature, clean well decorated rooms, huge area for the 6 (8?) bungalows they have. To bad they dont have a family bungalow... So we needed 2 bungalows for the 5 of us.

The pool was fantastic, especially for the children. Taking the canoe on the river was GREAT!

Food was good to excellent, (but be aware they only got one thing on the menu, a splendid 3 curse dinner, but if it doesnt suite you, you have to go elsewere)

That we got the place all for ourselfes one of our 4 days here, is nothing of a miracle. More people should come here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jonkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

It is one of the more expensive places we stayed in but still only 50 euros a night but it was worth every penny as it is a stunning family home filled with lots of antique treasures and art. A lovely swimming pool and a great garden set on the banks of a river. You can borrow canoes from the owners and row down to the sea. Beware not to fall in as a crocodile was spotted a year ago!
Rooms are little cottages in the garden and have AC, fridges, safes etc.
Delicious breakfast with homemade yoghurt, jams and marmalades as well as the usual fruit platters, toast and eggs etc. Thank you for our lovely stay. From a fellow hotel owner, so someone with high expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 941ChillyPowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first 3 days at Ging Oya and it was a perfect start to our holiday. The family are incredibly welcoming and friendly. The rooms - detached chalets - are large, well equipped with storage and mosi net. Everything worked - which we now realise is amazing! The communal areas are delightful. Large, clean, delightful pool. We took the canoes to the sea every day and saw fascinating wildlife. Gardens are also full of birds and wildlife. Food excellent. We can't recommend it too highly. We had a wonderful time and will hopefully return on our way home.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikkal
1.3 mi away
Ranweli Holiday Village
0.7 mi away
Club Hotel Dolphin
Club Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 3 in Waikkal
2,189 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Araliya
Villa Araliya
#16 of 43 in Negombo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
476 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#21 of 43 in Negombo
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suriya Resort
Suriya Resort
#2 of 3 in Waikkal
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ging Oya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ging Oya Lodge

Address: Davindu Mawatha | Kammala North, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waikkal
Price Range: $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Ging River, surrounded by luscious vegetation and resounding with birdsong, Ging Oya Lodge is unique in every way.The Lodge is a family-run guest house where your stay will be a relaxed, peaceful experience in an intimate environment. The rooms are spacious and luxurious bungalows tucked into the lush greenery, each equipped with all modern conveniences. Each hosts its own verandah where you can repose and take in the stunning surroundings.The beach is a short walk or kayak-trip away and is rarely visited by other tourists, allowing you to enjoy the sun and sea in a natural setting. Should the quiet become too much, a trip in a local tuk-tuk will soon have you in the bustling heart of nearby Negombo where you can experience the colourful local markets or simply absorb the atmosphere of the popular tourist beaches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing