We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable price, nice staff”
Review of Tropic Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropic Inn Hotel
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable price, nice staff”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I got affordable price stay here with my friends . The staff was very friendly and helpful. They kindly answered all of our question, especially about places. They helped us by writting place where we gonna go in Srilankan letters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    110
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
32
62
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for a night in early December of 2012.
Nice quiet location within 5 mins walk to the beach / 10 mins walk to main road.
We were given a refreshing welcome drink upon our arrival.
Our room was on the top floor on the right as you come up the stairs.
Nothing fancy - quite old but decent room w/hot shower and a mini tv.
Food in restaurant was pretty good, and the petite one-man-show gentleman running it was extremely chirpy, friendly, and charming.
You can also easily find street food vendors along the alley if you like.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in all. During first 2 nights probably room 26 or 27 room had very dull and depressing lights, TV was not working properly, at times tap water in bathroom stops and you have to complain. Stayed again for 2 nights while on return journey from Sri Lanka. This time given another room at 2nd floor which had no lock in the bathroom door, very funny. Upon query was told that management knew abt it, still they offered this room. Staff was friendly and helpful, particularly the man at reception who was single-handedly doing all the jobs, like serving, trying to mantain the rooms and also dealing at reception. Overall it is an average hotel and needs lot of maintenance in rooms. Cable tv was very ordinary it definitely needs more international channels for people from India, Pakistan and other regional states. I dont know how a certificate of 4 star was issued to it from tripadvisor which was displayed at 1st floor. It is an average 2 star plus hotel and needs lot of improvement in room maintenance and where AC remotes were also not working properly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naseem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountlavinia, Owner at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We try our best to give you the best possible rooms and service. As we have always told, our rooms are basic but clean. You get a good comfortable bed to sleep. A/C room, clean bathroom and free breakfast. We have basic cable TV channels with about 35 channels. If you are looking for 100 or more channel then you are at the wrong place. Most of our repeat clients are looking for this type of hotel room with affordable price. We are not a 5 star hotel and we do not charge $100 or $150 per room. Our room charge is $35 to $60 depending on how many people stay. Once again thank you for your review. We will do our best to make everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The service was friendly, but the room and facilities were average compared to what is available elsewhere in Sri Lanka. Decent but not overly clean and basic decor. The price was not average, charged much higher than advertised.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountlavinia, Owner at Tropic Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will look into your concern. We are disappointed with your comment about "charged much higher than advertised". We never charge higher than what the hotel and the guest has agreed when booking. For that matter we don't even charge taxes for your stay. Our hotel is clean, has good beds, good linen, good A/C, good breakfast. All this from $ 35 to $ 60 depending on how many people are staying. Our goal is to satisfy our guest first.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip and 3 nights at the end. Lasitha greeted us with his warm lovely smile upon our very early morning arrivals and was just so wonderfully friendly, caring and helpful!!!! Rooms are made-up daily, lovely hot showers, aircon and room 27 has a wonderfully comfortable mattress!!! Pillows are great - many other places were lumpy. Breakfast has much variety and is buffet. All the staff are very friendly. Location is just 2 minutes from the beach and is quiet. Fridge in room was great for buying Lion beer at Keels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foximamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've stayed our first two nights on Lanka in this gem of a hotel and it really helped us get settled in our new environment.

The layout of the hotel is great - the mahagoni staircase is impressive - the rooms small but tidy. Everywhere you can see, where the owners and personnel make an effort to make your stay with them as positive as possible: the hotel-rules-sign that makes you smile almost every line, the green-painted garden outside the restaurant, the seating in the open inner area of the house.

Apropos restaurant: breakfast was awesome and a very good way to get to know many of the Lankan specialities.

With Lasitha we've had the most comforting manager, who really helped out with every need and that in a kind and comforting way.

4 Stars for the cleanliness and great service, 1 star reduction for the rather basic room and bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Kilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were instantly made to feel very welcome by the staff, all rooms are air conditioned and have fans and are serviced daily with clean bedding. We travelled around Sri Lanka and wanted to return to Colombo, after e-mailing Lasitha Rajapaksha, restaurant manager he arranged for a room with balcony that was excellent.

Breakfast is included in the price, only slight note would be to vary breakfast menu, other than that nothing was to much trouble, Tuk Tuk's and cabs ordered and arrived on time and all staff were very well mannered and polite

Excellent service throughout our stay and would highly recommend if you don't want to be in the centre of the very busy Colombo city, Tuk Tuk to the centre of Colombo costs £2.50 for 12km bargain!

Two minute walk to the beach and Sunday is family day where families arrive from midday and stay until late in the evening

Kevin and Glen London

Room Tip: Room 22 has a balcony room 24 does not both on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Inn Hotel

Property: Tropic Inn Hotel
Address: 30 College Avenue | Colombo - Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Inn has been providing clean and comfortable rooms for the traveller for past 33 years. Our hotel facilities and rooms are upgraded to present standards to keep up with the current demand. We have 16 rooms and all with A/C and private bathroom. Free WIFI, cable T.V. Free breakfast. We have a restaurant that can accommodate upto 50 people serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mount Lavinia is only a 15 minutes drive from capital Colombo. The only beach closer to capital Colombo. At tropic Inn we offer •Great customer service•Very clean rooms•Safe environment•A/C rooms & hot water shower•Free breakfast•Restaurantserving lunch & dinner•Free wireless internet•Airport pick up and drop service ( not free)•Early check- in, if rooms are available.Come and stay with us. You will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Tropic Hotel Mount Lavinia
Tropic Inn Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing