We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Tropic Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropic Inn Hotel
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2nights of our holiday, as fairly convenient for the airport. Our room was AC plus fan the room was a good size with a small balcony. We could not see the sea but it was less than 5 minutes walk away. The room was basically furnished the shower was Luke warm but this did not matter as it is so warm you don't want a hot shower. During the day you can use the pools at all the near by hotels by purchasing a day pass. This actually means you have a room of a good standard but access to 5 star luxury which we enjoyed at the end of 3 weeks backpacking!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Good budget hotel which is a good alternative to staying in Colombo City.
The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful-I took up the their offer of a taxi transfer from the airport which cost 35$.
I had a double room with breakfast for $40.
The room had a tv, mini fridge and good sized bathroom. The furnishings are basic.
Breakfast was good and the evening meals are tasty and good value although the only downside to my stay was that I had something live on my lettuce so food prep needs to be looked at.
The beach is a 5min walk away and the local train stn abot 15min away although there are plenty of tuk tuks.
The bus stop to Colombo is 10 min away and it's about 20 min to the city cost 15p

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SifnosNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My Friend and I stay in the Girls dorm room for two nights. It was comfortable and had all creature comforts of a privite hotel room.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were welcomed with a cold fruit juice while checking in.
Great buffet breakfast! Close to the beach bars and resturaunts.
Would definelty stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyleanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good location, near the beach, quite place, clean and comforatable room, good breakfast, nice hospitality, courteous and friendly staff, especially Lasita who was always helpful. The stay in the hotel for a week was pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baskaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose this accommodation from the Lonely Planet Guide, which rated it highly within the price range. Cleanliness is not good and the staff had a poor awareness of standards and how to maintain them. Room furnishings were very basic. Saving graces ... find the Wifi router near the fuse box on the top floor landing and you will achieve a strong signal, albeit with intermittent access from the Internet service provider .. extensive inclusive breakfast, and reasonably priced evening meals, but not very distinctive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A good place to kick off in Sri Lanka. Clean, comfortable room......handy for beach and restaurants.
Buffet breakfast with good selection. I ate there on one evening and the food was good quality and good value.
Owner and staff courteous and helpful - Lasita, in particular, always ready to go out of his way to help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateF954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found this hotel very basic bordering on grubby, unusual and uninviting breakfast. Over priced. We stayed in much better accommodation at lower cost. The only good thing about it, is that it had a good location near the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#8 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Inn Hotel

Address: 30 College Avenue | Colombo - Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $32 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Inn has been providing clean and comfortable rooms for the traveller for past 33 years. Our hotel facilities and rooms are upgraded to present standards to keep up with the current demand. We have 16 rooms and all with A/C and private bathroom. Free WIFI, cable T.V. Free breakfast. We have a restaurant that can accommodate upto 50 people serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mount Lavinia is only a 15 minutes drive from capital Colombo. The only beach closer to capital Colombo. At tropic Inn we offer •Great customer service•Very clean rooms•Safe environment•A/C rooms & hot water shower•Free breakfast•Restaurantserving lunch & dinner•Free wireless internet•Airport pick up and drop service ( not free)•Early check- in, if rooms are available.Come and stay with us. You will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Tropic Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Tropic Hotel Mount Lavinia
Tropic Inn Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing