We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good food”
Review of The Shore By O!

The Shore By O!
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A perfect spot on the beach, with good food and fantastic drinks!
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, Good food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Went with my family for my dad's birthday. Loved sitting on the beach with the sea breeze, moon light and music. The service was good. We enjoyed the cocktails. The crab and pork was yummy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tash f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    84
    37
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food on the beach”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Beach restaurants are amazing spots to relax and enjoy great food. This restaurant lives up to that reputation of beach front restaurants. The food was cooked to our liking and the drinks were good as well.

Helpful?
Thank Asel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill out on the beach”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Reasonable price. Overall Good food but bistakes are very hard to chew. Live band music was good.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Service”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I went there last night with a couple of friends while visiting Mount Lavinia...great atmosphere but service was poor. The person in charge first said I didn't have a reservation, then informed me the person who made the reservation in my name was already present.
Drinks were slow to arrive till we complained.
Food order was messed and we got items we didn't order. We got a dish that was supposed to be chicken but was pork. The server and kitchen insisted that it was chicken.Luckily the devilled pork was good!
Cheesetoast is very disappointing.
Portions are small.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalvillager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“maybe next time!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

we did not get to experience the restaurant/bar when we went there a couple of weeks ago, we called up well ahead of time and made a reservation, however when we went over and spoke to one of the staff and gave him our name of reservation , he did nt seem to care much but off he went supposedly to locate our table and never came back! Waited for about 15 mins and then approached another staff member, he at least smiled graciously , went off and .... you guessed it.... never came back! At this point we had stood around for about 30 mins, the rest of the staff just went about their business without even inquiring about whether we needed a table etc so we understandably got a bit annoyed and went to one of the other restaurants on the beach and had a very pleasant evening....

I see what another reviewer meant about the place feeling a bit closed in due to wooden partitions put up for privacy.... even though we were there for a short time you did feel shut off from the rest of the beach if you were at ground level, though we did see they had an upper floor which was open on all sides which was probably pleasant to sit in..... if anyone got around to seating you...!!!

the bar looked modern and trendy , extremely long with several bartenders in attendance.... I think we might give it another try at a later date cos every place does deserve a chance. and they do have some good reviews.. however , owners, if you ever read this you need to work on your staff attitude, they are seriously uninterested and this may cost you long term... our bill at the restaurant we went to after leaving yours was just under Rs 50 000 with food and wine, and that should have been money in your pocket which you lost to another restaurant....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shore By O! also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Shore By O!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing