We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem near the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem near the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our stay at Berjaya Hotel from the moment we checked in at reception was simply wonderful! The staff is very professional, helpful and cheerful. The rooms are very pleasant and we were supplied with all of our needs. The pool was very nice and clean. The food was excellent, especially my favorite Sri Lankan dishes. The highlight was our man for all needs, Brito! He saw to it that we had everything we needed, including morning newspapers. His cheerful manner and kindnesses will never be forgotten,. We actually stayed for a few days at the end of November and returned again near the middle of December to prepare for my friend's departure. We asked if we could change rooms to the far side of the building and they very kindly agreed. I felt very safe there and it was just a short walk to the beach restaurant. The trains did not disturb me in the least; they are part of life in this beautiful country! I recommend Berjaya if you want to be near Colombo, but still want a pleasant place with beach access. Thank you to everyone at Berjaya for your wonderful hospitality! I hope to return to Sri Lanka and to Berjaya next year.

Room Tip: The view from upper floors is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatiBaz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    150
    110
    48
    58
See reviews for
130
119
47
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with mum and dad. The rooms were well kept. Separate pool area for kids and adults which made it wonderful when the whole family came over for an evening.

I especially loved the hotel's food as it met both my English and Asian needs. The restaurants by the beach were very easily reachable.

Ayantha the manager is a huge selling point for the place along with the whole staff. They are very accommodating and friendly. The complimentary dinner on our last night's stay was very much appreciated.

I didn't mind the train noise and it isn't as loud as some reviewers have stated. In some parts it was a good addition.

I shall surely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arunan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at Berjaya for two nights & enjoyed many things around the hotel.specially the beach is amazing.staff & food was OK and we love the view from balcony.But needs some work towards the service standards.we will recommend this hotel for a short visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hameed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Never ever book this hotel we stayed for 1 night and had the worst experience.food are served direct from the freezer and very expensive.Waiters are very lousy the front office is repulsive even at night you would not be able to sleep due to trains noise

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sutopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

Male'
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

It was not a satisfactory experiences though there are some good factors about the property as well. Pool was big and nice with a separate children pool. Close to beach but as most of the reviewers has mentioned the noise generated by the trains were very much disturbing
I must also mention that front office team was very good and wish guys all the best...

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharufeez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

For a Three star rating hotel this is a pretty good place, located in the south Colombo area, which is an ideal for a business tourist. their prices are very affordable and worth the price you pay for the relaxing and calm hotel environment. I was staying at a basic room still had no problems with the space or the bathroom space as well as their cleaning standards are very well maintained. The service was good compared to the other 3 star establishments near by very friendly front office crew with big smiles on their faces. Small buffet breakfast was succulent as well as spectacular view of the Indian ocean I woke up to while I was staying at Berjaya.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were there for short 2 day trip before heading to Unawutana. The hotel were nice&clean with welcoming staff, the nice part was the delicious breakfast. To reaching the beach u need to pass a railway !! Beach was cramped but there is a nice sea food restaurant there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.1 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Property: Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Address: 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Hotel Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 10km south of Colombo, the largest city of Sri Lanka, also renowned for its ancient ruins and histories. Berjaya Hotel Colombo consists of 90 rooms equipped with contemporary facilities with simple and soothing interior. For business purposes, thriving conferences and meetings are to be held idyllically at its Royal Room and 3 separate meeting rooms. On savouring the convenience Berjaya Hotel Colombo offers, guests may also utilize the amenities provided. From water-splashing in the pool to luxurious sunbath by the beach, the fun goes on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Berjaya Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Mount Royal Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Berjaya Hotel Colombo Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing