We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total new look for a grand old dame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Total new look for a grand old dame”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Arrive midnight in Colombo Airport and the drive to Berjaya Colombo was great and smooth. No traffic and cooling! The last mile went through really narrow roads but finally arrived at hotel. its more of a resort by the city! Because it is located on Mt Lavinia beach but still considered a city hotel. Lobby was bright and newly renovated. Check in was a breeze, becos its past midnight...

The layout of the rooms are great. it was recently renovated, so it has all the requirements of a good room. Best of all is my room faces the sea. There were a lot of talk about the train crossing the coast. Woke up early in the morning just to experience it first hand, the commuter train packed with people going to work zipping past the hotel. Its noisy at first but you get used to it. The train run across the coastline throughout the colombo city, so you can't really avoid it though. Try standing at overhead bridge when train runs across below! interesting sensation!!!

Room looks new as it was recently renovated but a bit bare for my taste. It needs the local sri lankan touch. Hot & cold water does not work properly so taking bath was an ordeal initially but it was rectified the second day. Breakfast was adequate! nothing to shout about but the swimming pool is big with lots of deck chairs around. The Beach bar is located on Mt Lavinia Beach and a great place to sit and just "ppl watching", especially during the weekends. It has a Malaysian Restaurant located on the beach and we actually had dinner there. its not exactly Malaysian for puritans like me, but i guess it will do ...

Woke up early one morning just to walk along the beach, and it was quite interesting! Saw fishing boats coming back with their catch and locals exercising! Beach is quite clean....

It only takes about 20-30 minutes to reach the city mainly because of the traffic and narrow roads! City is worth the visit. Try the sri lankan crabs at Ministry of Crabs.. its pricey but great experience..

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms! its a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    159
    114
    51
    60
See reviews for
144
124
50
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and this was our first hotel we had booked for Sri Lanka. The staff were outstanding especially the manager who gave us a free upgrade. The only downside was the hotel wss very close to the train line, which means a poor nights sleep if you're not a heavy sleeper. Overall the hotel was ideal. Would stay here again. Ohhh, also try the Malay food at the hotels restaurant. ..very nice!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwidan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, not once was it mentioned when we booked that it was next to a railway line. When i say next, i mean i could touch them from my balcony. They are a constant all day. I was surprised to learn that the hotel had recently been refurbished, the corridors are prison like especially leading to the pool area, where danger is written on the doors leading out. We were upgraded to a deluxe room,which was very motel like, the tv had no signal, the bathroom was ok but we had to stuff a towel in the window that led to the corridor due to noise and insects. I have never stayed at a hotel where their is no table and chairs on the balcony, where these went i do not know. The breakfast is a bad experience, it is very cramped, large tables thrown together which means sharing, and very little choice.
This hotel seems to cater for weddings and tour groups who stay one night, it is not a pleasant experience.
There were a couple good points, the Malaysian restaurant on the beach is quite good and all the staff try hard but they are fighting a losing battle.

Room Tip: I don't know....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We checked in early in the morning. But front office staff was very friendly and they arrange everything very quickly. I thank for your hotel for that. we talk with Berjaya Operation manager and he is a nice person.We enjoyed in the pool and beach.

We stayed in a Deluxe room. It was clean and good maintained room. Room boy was very helpful and he responded for our requirement quickly. They give us a awesome service and Berjaya give us a Good experience. and also housekeeper talk with us. she asked our room comments for improvement. she also very friendly.

Berjaya has a good & friendly staff. Exactly it is the best value for the price.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor is good for stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had our homecoming reception at Berjaya. The menu items were quite limited, but the services and the food quality is sooo good. LOVED the food! The banquet halls are quite old, rusticated but due to the adjoining pool, it is not felt all that much.
We stayed on for the night, and we got a room whose balcony overlooked the pool area. It was a little bit noisy since we were disturbed by everything that was going on around the pool and in the other banquet halls.
The room we got was very nice (328) however was very far from the lift. Not fun when you had to walk about in heels!!! clean, lovely bathroom. But the prices for items in the mini fridge were soo high it was craaazy!We made a small order from the restaurant which was very expensive and there were very high taxes (almost 25%) applicable, so make sure u enter that into your calculation.
The breakfast was nice, not a very great variety though, and the restaurant was VERY DIRTY!! we had to go through a very low area to enter it and it was not very pleasant.
One good this about this is the access to the beach... You need to climb some stairways up and down and you're in the beach! Awesome!
The poolside is lovely and the atmosphere is good. However, although they claim free wifi in the lobby area, it does not work. And the lobby area could do better in terms of interiors. The sofas dont look too good and christmas tree looked very shabby.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay and would be happy to stay here again if we get the chance :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Ms Surandi,

Thank you very much for the positive comments made about our quality of the food & services, room and the Pool Side ambiance. We have noted the minor shortcomings that you have observed and speedy action will be taken to improve same for better guests’ satisfaction.

We assure you that you would see a remarkable change to our banquet halls when you next visit our Property.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Berjaya Hotel Colombo in the near future.

With best wishes,

General Manager
Berjaya Hotel Colombo – Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rate wise it was okey compared to almost all Hotels of the same range. However, the quality of service they have provided were not upto the mark. I went there with wife and stayed for 3 days. Our room was having a door inside which leads to the next near by room. We heard the horrible sounds from other room well than the persons made the sound!!! (Not sure about other rooms similar or not)The mosquitoes steeled our 2 days sleep. The welcoming of staffs were very cold and most sounds bossy type (not bothering the customer). We asked for one chair and got it after 3 hours after we completing our food-room service.

We advice the reception should be more pleasant and welcoming since first impression will be the best for ever. Since customers are the king, staffs should respect rather than bossy. Service providing should be with commitment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumyaPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mr Praveen,

Thank you very much for your review. We are concern to note your comments about our staff since a very majority of our guests have given very positive comments about our staff but, however, we will certainly look into this aspect and take necessary preventive action.

Regarding mosquitoes, you may have kept the balcony door opened. As a preventive measure we also have mosquito repellent machines in our bedrooms, do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

With best wishes,

General Manager
Berjaya Hotel Colombo – Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I ended up staying at this hotel for a week. My friend was going to a Sri Lankan wedding nearby, so we stayed at this hotel. The staff were fantastic, the food was incredible, and the room was very comfortable. The beach is separated from the hotel by a railway track, which runs right by the pool. There are many trains that go by...but I didn't really mind all that much, despite the noise. It is Sri Lanka, after all. I didn't spend anytime at the beach...I was content to sit in the sun by the pool and take advantage of the delicious food served right to my beach chair while sipping on ginger beer. And the massage I had was incredible. I happened to be there during the New Year's celebration, and the hotel outdid itself. It was such a fun night and my friend and I were dancing all night long to the live band. Great experience over all!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Adam,

We at Berjaya Hotel Colombo are indeed proud to note that our staff has done their duty by providing you with quality & tasty food and cordial & professional service supported by our contemporary Pool Deck together with the ambiance created for your relaxation and comfort.

We are also happy to note that like many of our other guests; the 31st Night Gala Dinner Dance has been a memorable experience to all of you.

Looking forward to welcoming you for the next 31st Night Gala Dinner Dance which will be even better.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
BERJAYA HOTEL COLOMBO – SRI LANKA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Property: Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Address: 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Hotel Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 10km south of Colombo, the largest city of Sri Lanka, also renowned for its ancient ruins and histories. Berjaya Hotel Colombo consists of 90 rooms equipped with contemporary facilities with simple and soothing interior. For business purposes, thriving conferences and meetings are to be held idyllically at its Royal Room and 3 separate meeting rooms. On savouring the convenience Berjaya Hotel Colombo offers, guests may also utilize the amenities provided. From water-splashing in the pool to luxurious sunbath by the beach, the fun goes on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berjaya Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Mount Royal Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Berjaya Hotel Colombo Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing