We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Spirit of Sri Lanka”

Ocean View Tour Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Tour Inn
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This family run hotel is about as good as it gets for the price. If you want luxury go to the Mount Lavinia Hotel. If you want clean rooms, excellent but simple food, honest staff (you see the same people year after year) then this is what visitin Sri Lanka is all about. The views from the rooms, especially the sunsets, are fantastic and it will take you about 30 seconds to cross the railway line and your on the beech.

The owner, his wife and the staff - who are treated like family - will make you welcome without hassling you. They are all genuinely friendly and between them speak several languages. I love the place and when ever I visit Sri Lanka, this is where I stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms suitable for families, couples or friends or travellers on their own. Air con or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan314, Owner at Ocean View Tour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Howard, thank you for your review! I'm glad that you liked our hotel and we look forward to welcome you again! Best regards, Rohan and the Ocean View team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

a nice and clean affordable place. Very friendly and helpful staff. We started and finished our trip there. Great view from our room and within a minute you're on the beach.
As elsewhere in mount lavinia you can hear the train cause it's close to the railway. So you just wake up early and you've got more time to enjoy the beach and the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan314, Owner at Ocean View Tour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Lyanne, thank you for writing a review about my hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. Please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited the place again for some food. Enjoyed a String Hoppers and Curry which was really good!
The red String Hoppers (also the white ones) have to be ordered early. Don't forget to tell the service personnel if youwould like the curries "hot" or "mild"!

Room Tip: If you like Curry, order it at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room simple but comfortable with A/C and hot water, fully tiled. The food tasted very good! Was great to have free WiFi access. Friendly personnel. Just by the beach and also close to the railway line, having some noise during peak hours but you get used to it.
Pricing is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C. On the top floor there is accommodation with two rooms connected suitable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hillary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan314, Owner at Ocean View Tour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank isabelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
Thank giovannihans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
Thank giovannihans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
152 reviews
0 mi away
Beverly Hills Hotel
Beverly Hills Hotel
#21 of 47 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Tour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Tour Inn

Address: 34 / 4 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $0 - $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel beside the Mount Lavinia beach, 11 km from Colombo City. 10 minutes walk to Galle road and shopping. Rooms with A/C and hot water, fully tiled. Standard rooms are also available.Please note: 10% service charge will be added to all bills. Thank you for visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean View Tour Inn Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing