We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home... BETTER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Colombo beach hostel is the place to stay when travelling and starting to tour sri lanka. I spend a wonderful time enjoying the close by beach and having breakfast with the wonderful owners. They are very helpful and will figure out how to get anything you may need.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

The best thing about Colombo Beach Hostel is the lovely young couple who run it - they are warm, accommodating and very laid-back. The husband is a doctor who spent a lot of time backpacking through Europe and Africa; the wife studied engineering in the UK and is wonderfully fun to talk to. Dorms are spare rooms in their house - you share a kitchen and living room with the couple and their mother - so you'll literally be staying with a local family. They often asked me to join them when they were eating at home, whether it was for a big family BBQ or for pizza and beer in front of the TV. They're so easy-going that they don't have even a sign-in process or official check-out time. Unlike many hostels in the area, they don't enforce a curfew.

I enjoyed my stay so much that when I passed through Mount Lavinia two weeks later, I returned to the same hostel. Unfortunately, due to a last-minute change of plans, I had to leave abruptly, but not after taking a shower, having a nap and using their computer - the owners were so nice that they asked me not to pay them anything. I was astounded at their generosity.

The name is a bit misleading as the hostel is in Mount Lavinia, not Colombo - it's a 30 min bus ride away from Colombo. However, buses are cheap and frequent. Mount Lavinia is cheaper and less congested than the city proper: the hostel is a 5 min walk from the beach! It's a great place to stay if you aren't tight for time. The couple also run Adikaram Sea View Hostel in nearby Dehiwala (10-15 mins away on the same bus line).

The hostel is easy to miss because the number (6A) has been painted the same colour as the walls - make sure you look carefully for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normanmailerdaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank 善宣 長
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank Алексей К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
Thank Anyrubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.6 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel

Address: 6A, Samudra Mawatha, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $13 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation at the Lavinia Beach Hostel consists of 10 rooms ranging from male, female and mixed dorms to private single, double, triple rooms with en-suite bathrooms. A/C is available for an extra cost of Rs. 500 a night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo Lavinia Beach Hostel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing